Garden Hive Newsletter 9 August - Show Us Your Biggest Vegetable Challenge

in HiveGarden2 years ago

After the marathon feat wrapping up the August #gardenjournal challenge, there's no way that I'm doing another lengthy wrap up today - the sunshine and the garden beckon! But everyone seems to love these engagement challenges I do fortnightly (@minismallholding does most excellent highlights of the week every other week that always introduces me to awesome content I might have missed) so let's get on with this one!

image.png

@edprivat's big zucchini features in the image above, and @goldenoakfarm has had some giant beets this week (@bigsweed's favourite). All over the world, it's harvest time, and people are harvesting some whoppers.

So this challenge asks you to post a photo below of your biggest vegetable or fruit. Post it with a ruler for the length, and/or the scales for weight, and tell us what the average size for that vegetable is. It could be sitting next to another one for comparision if the scales and ruler are too tricky. No perspective tricks like Ed, though!

You're also welcome to post a photo of another year's harvest - it doesn't matter, just join in the fun and comment on others below.

Hive prize will be at my discretion, depending on what I see below!

Tagging those who I don't want to miss it - sorry if you've been pinged a million times by the me and garden related stuff this week - look, I just get excited about gardening, alright? :P

@plantstoplanks @sofs-su @nikv @owasco @buckaroobaby @farm-mom @thebigsweed @polesinns @andrastia @holisticmom @queenoftheworld @porters @amygoodrich @fanyokami @samstonehill @phoenixwren @anafae @tanjakolader @yolithy24 @andrastia @minismallholding @goldenoakfarm @nateonsteemit @sanjeevm @kennyroy @simplymike @dodovietnam @babeltrips @trangbaby @kaelci @shanibeer @proto26 @ifarmgirl @foxfireorchards @artemislives @luckylaica @blingit @traisto @skylinebuds @fotostef @tydynrain @hindavi

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  

I grew some foliage from an onion that was in the pantry.

 2 years ago  

🤪

Awwww...all of our stuff is only tiny at the moment. Must be the cold weather keeping things small😁

 2 years ago  

Old pic and unfortunately this is the only picture I have of my awesome yellow sweet potato and technically not an impressive feat of growing - it was in the soil for 2 years, then I ate it 😁
It was a little woody near where the vines emerged but otherwise excellent. The whole thing was about the size of my head and cut into cubes, it filled my largest kitchen pot

sweetpotato.jpg

 2 years ago  

That's HUGE!!!!

 2 years ago  

I was shocked when I got digging

 2 years ago  

That sounds like a clickbait title!!

'I was shocked by what I found in my garden's

'She started digging - you won't believe what happened next'

 2 years ago  

Hahahaha worthy of a tabloid

 2 years ago  

What! 2 years! Oh, man! Are you sure that it has taste? LOL

 2 years ago  

It was good

 2 years ago  

It is a huge, Big pot full 🤔

Wow!! That looks like multiple massive ones all smushed together!

 2 years ago  

Yes it's like they started to develop as separate entities but not quite

 2 years ago  

Oops, I nearly added a photo of hubby! He's looking a bit more lively today, though. 😜🤪

 2 years ago  

FB_IMG_1660130176279.jpg

 2 years ago  

Haha, that's brilliant! Almost too accurate when it comes to zucchini.

 2 years ago  

It's totally true. We had House sitters once and I explicitly asked them to please check the zucchini every day. I came home to giant marrows. Did you check them, I asked. Yes, they said. Hmm.....

That is a accurate representation of my life right now😆

 2 years ago  

Ulala... Is that real!!!!!!!!!!!!

 2 years ago  

Nice and funny one🤣

100% truth. 😂

That's very funny!

 2 years ago (edited) 

Hahahah good one.... But your poor suffering husband 😂

Don't be fooled by me not wearing my snapback in this picture. This is the real me, beeing human sized and holding these giant peppers in my human hand that are almost as big as my fully-sized human head.

 2 years ago  

Lol! I'm convinced! Just checking that's not @michealb you've snapped a sneaky shot of, though. 😜

 2 years ago  

Haha I LOVE this entry!!

We grew this cauliflower two years ago. We didn't measure it, but I've got a pretty big hand which is hidden and it goes half way up my forearm.

Haven't grown one this size since then.

IMG_6279.JPG

 2 years ago  

Wow massive!!! How did you cook it?

My apology for the late reply, we've been on the road for several days, stopping home for just a day to reorganize and then back on the road.

How did I cook it you ask, I didn't. I grew it, harvested it, and ate it.😁 When it comes to cooking, the wife is the expert. The first way she prepared the cauliflower was to roast a portion of it. It was smothered in garlic and bread crumbs, delicious. The remainder, which there was a lot of, we parboiled and vacuum sealed. From there it was used in manyyyyy stir-fry dishes.

 2 years ago  

He he yes you inspired me to do this challenge!

 2 years ago  

My daughter just reminded me of this one. It lasted us a for a few meals!

received_556502762365977.jpeg

 2 years ago  

Oh wow that's some big onion! untitled.gif

My boyfriend would be in heaven. He loves onions! That's one thing I still haven't tried growing yet...add it to the never-ending list!

 2 years ago  

My husband likes onion too! He's pretty mad on garlic as well, so perhaps it's allium love...🤔

Oh wow, that's a huge onion!

Oh, this should be fun! I remember one biggest harvest in the past but the photo is not with me today and we're away from home. I do wish everyone the best😉

 2 years ago  

Oh what was it? You can always tell us about it!!

A potato which was as big as my feet, lol. I refused to cook it until it turned green because I displayed it on our window 😂

 2 years ago  

😂😂😂

Here it was, can't find the photo where I washed it and had it displayed, lol! 😂😂

 2 years ago  

Omg that's HUGE! Rocking the stripey socks and flip flops too 🤪🌻🙏💜

It was, thank you :) Wonder when will we harvest something that big again hehe. The striped socks were a fun present from someone who knows that I always wear socks at home, lol!

 2 years ago  

A big foot.🤣🤣 looks like a teddy bear.

Haha, it is :) It had a funny shape :)
!PIZZA

 2 years ago  

🤣🤣

😂 was silly of me, lol!

 2 years ago  

FB_IMG_1660130176279.jpg

 2 years ago  

Haha and I thought that size doesn't matter :)

 2 years ago  

I am excited about the entries in this contest. Goodluck to the would be participants.

 2 years ago  

This would be interesting and I'll look forward to the entries ..sadly we're unable to plant some Now ..

 2 years ago  

Wow! Wrong timing for me! hahaha.

 2 years ago  

I have it from last year's tomato

12cm x 5 cm 546-gram I found this photo in the WhatsApp gallery it has been sent to India.
And this year

2 cm x 1 cm 2 gram yes it is a cherry tomato Isn't funny 🤣🤣🤣🤣

 2 years ago  

Hahahah good one!!

I have a massive squash still on the vine, but it's not quite ready to pluck yet. Getting excited to see how much it weighs, though I usually get disappointed that it's not more than it seems, haha!

 2 years ago  

I'm sure we'll get to see it!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ifarmgirl(1/5) tipped @hindavi (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!