Running from Tigers πŸ… Lime Pickle πŸ‹ & Other Garden Related Things

in HiveGarden β€’ 2 years ago

After three days work this week my cortisol levels are too high, and I woke feeling like I had to run from a tiger. That's the fight or flight stress response for you. There's not much to be done except move it out, drink lots of water and try to relax.

So, the morning was spent walking along the beach, tricking my body into THINKING it was running from tigers, then finding a few saffron milk cap mushrooms in a new grove of pines I found. I also had a cheap Chinese massage and came home to do a yoga nidra meditation. Sounds all relaxing but most of the time I was feeling panicky in my physical body. I wish there was surf as that usually helps better than anything.

By mid arvo things had settled down and I spent some time in the garden. The chooks were happy to be out and pestering me for treats.

received_3235550569997540.jpeg

There were shaggy parasols growing with the comfrey - I bet these were the ones that made the news last week for some eedjits eating them from their garden and having to go to hospital.

IMG20220520121722.jpg

Next was picking limes as the tree was bursting. It was pretty cold out there so I wasn't over keen on doing much. Noticed the bugs had eaten the broccoli πŸ₯¦ seedlings again so giving up on broccoli this year. Didn't plant the natives in pots AGAIN. I'll do that on the weekend.

IMG20220520153724.jpg

It was pretty relaxing listening to meditation music and cutting limes for lime pickle. Can you see my lime tree in the photo above? There's a lemon behind it too.

IMG20220520153808.jpg

I'm doing a probiotic lacto fermented lime pickle, basically leaving limes and salt in a jar for a week or two before adding spice and oil. I adore lime pickle and it's even better that it's coming out the garden.

Eventually I stopped the DOING and decided a cuppa licorice tea was needed. It's good to lower cortisol apparently and seems to do the trick. Eventually I'll be back on track and have left the tigers behind. Lots of things to do in the garden even if it's winter now.

IMG20220521141152.jpg

For one, there's leaves everywhere - they need to be raked off the paths and layered in the compost. The beautiful maple looks beautiful from the bathroom window though.

IMG20220520134526.jpg

I managed to clean out the chook pen and sit with them for a while..sometimes garden work IS merely sitting there and enjoying all there is. It's a beautiful time of year, Autumn, and there's a bit of a change in bird behaviours too. This time of year the kookaburras move closer and they are LOUD.

IMG20220521144506.jpg

Even though the winter is upon us, there's still lovely bright Australian flowers too, like this banksia.

IMG20220521144515.jpg

Well, I'm finding a spot now by the window in the late arvo sun. I am so tired I wonder if I have an illness coming on. Still, I'm blessed. I could be in hospital like my Dad.

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort: Β 

Love that banksia. I started my lemon preserv yesterday. Evidence coming later...

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Oh fantastic... I'll look out for it or tag me!

I hope you'd feel better very soon... I love how you ran from the tiger throughout the day doing different things in and out of your house and appreciating things around youπŸ’— Hugs... xoxoxo

The maple tree leaves are so beautiful, they kinda radiate cheerfulness. And the banksia is equally gorgeous on its ownπŸ’—

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

πŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š I can feel your love from here and it's appreciated! Xx

You are very welcome. CheersπŸ’—
!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@ifarmgirl, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @riverflows and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (3/7 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I've had days like that lately but will take note of your tips on working through it (& getting away from that tiger!)
The Banksia looks stunning as do the maple leaves!
In our subtropical climate we don't see the signs of winter coming as the leaves of most trees stay green, but the maple tree is just about the only tree that's honest here and tells us that winter's on the way!
Licorice tea sounds good, I've never seen it here though.
Hope your Dad is on the mend?
Look after yourself, a long walk can help blowing the cobwebs away πŸ’ž

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Oh hon, I bet it's our hormones off kilter due to our particular age and stress. You've had covid and business worries, and the flood, etc.. and like me, depression. Licorice is great for lowering cortisol, and great for insomnia. I bet you can find it online!

I reckon anyone with European genetics appreciates the sign of actual seasons changing with a maple or the like, don't you?

Maybe its time to face the tiger..; )

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Oh I've been facing the tiger alright!

I am so tired I wonder if I have an illness coming on.

Try my energy juice - milk, dates with a little turmeric powder. You will be fine quickly.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Oh delicious! I will..

Lovely pictures, you have so much abundance around you πŸ™‚

Sorry to hear you are feeling this way. Something I can relate to a lot. I think I pushed myself too much with my flat. I kind of crashed after the photoshoot. Slowly recovering now.

That's nice to hear about licorice tea, I actually have some of that at home. Will make some tea tonight πŸ™‚

xx

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Oh yes it's the best. Anytime of day! I know you can relate. πŸ’š

I am glad someone else has trouble with pests eating their brocolli. Looks like a lovely place there!

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

It is, we are grateful. We kinda wanted to move to another state but wish we could just pick up what we have and plonk it down somewhere with a sea view and less of a police state! πŸ₯¦πŸ₯¦πŸ₯¦

Blessings dear @riverflows !

I know that feeling, of running from tiger - and am working through some homeopathic channels with primal/ early ingrained fear - really fascinating times we live in... so much healing and coming-together happening in every divine moment!

About the shaggy parasols - they are very like the ones we eat here, called Mazza di Tamburo, or Macrolepiota Procera - but they're also very like the Macrolepiota Rosseggiante - also edible but can cause stomach upsets in some - or also the 'poisonous' Chlorophyllum Molybdites - I think you have to do a spore print, and the poisonous one is green, but the edible ones are white. :-)

I have some beautiful specimens dried in a jar, of the Mazza di Tamburo and they are absolutely fantastic eating :-D

Blessings and good vibes to you xxxx

IMG_20201020_123958.jpg

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I'm sooo scared of eating any macropiota in case I get the id wrong! But learning so much.. eventually I'll be confident enough.

Cortisol overload is awful. Like Vincent, I'm hyposensitive so the world can come at me a bit large sometimes, and combine that with adrenal issues it can be pretty rough.

Have you worked with homeopathy at all? If you feel drawn, do reach out - hom. is so good for working out deepest-rooted fears and tensions πŸ™πŸŒŸβ­

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I don't get along with homeopathy much, herbals work for me a lot better, from experience. Thanks so much. That could change for sure. I'm sure there's a few things I've been doing with diet eg coffee that can and do make a difference, plus my go to herbs. Working through Dad's illness through meditation and herbal support. Thanks sooo much for beautiful kind offer. I may yet reach out!

All power to you in healing, and with your dad too, dear friend πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯πŸ”₯❀️❀️❀️❀️ And yes, homeopathy is not for everyone - but if that does change, I work with a fabulous homeopath in the US, who had helped invaluably in myoving out of primal fears and inability to function - and some severe pain symptoms. Hom. and also herbal pelvic steaming hace been ny bedrock healing modalities 🌟⭐🌟⭐🌟⭐🌟⭐🌟⭐🌟⭐

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

I have been thinking for hours about accepting your offer...! Xx let me think about it. It might be what I need it and I have been questioning why I said no so fast.

Aw, bless you, dearest friend @riverflows - yes, I get that too. I'm here, on claregalloway at protonmail dot com, if you want to unravel it - and am on Signal App too for messaging. My journey with hom. has been long and beautiful, unwinding all the tensions and armouring that this intense incarnation had manifest in me. I really know hom. to be a miraculous healing gateway into our sovereignty and alignment with all things - so am always passionate to chat informally about it. xx Blessings always xx

I can totally relate to this.

Months ago, @clareartista got me in touch with an amazing homeopath and I actually had some sessions and tried out two types of remedies but I still have a lot of doubts.

Like life, homepathy is a long journey but we can only try to find out if it works for us.

Who knows, perhaps I can take away some of your doubts, so feel free to reach out to me about this

xx

And yes: my mushroom passion has always been carefully balanced with super-patience around mastery.... no experimentation and only absolute certainty about a variety! But they always have specific identifying factors, like spore prints... always good to have multiple books to cross-reference - and I'd be very wary of any internet sources ☺️πŸ€ͺ

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Oh yes for sure, it's all cross referencing!!! I've heard mycologists say opposite.. they tend to affirm on internet AFTER looking at books as info changes all the time. The more sources used to make an educated decision imo.

Like Vincent, I'm hyposensitive so the world can come at me a bit large sometimes

You can be hypo sensitivosaurus,
I will always be known as hyper sensitivosaurus, no matter how alike we are ;>)

xx

Tending to our greens can have that effect on us: relaxing. Well, perhaps you just need to rest more or perhaps go for a check up to make sure you're all clear.

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Everything is beautiful in your garden, without a doubt it is an ideal place. Those flowers are stunningly beautiful, the banksia!

image.png
Has sido curado por @visualblock / You've been curated by @visualblock
Bienvenidas delegaciones / Delegations welcome
Encuentra nuestra comunidad aquΓ­ / Find our community here
Trail de CuraciΓ³n / Curation Trail

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

sometimes garden work IS merely sitting there and enjoying all there is.

Indeed, I just did it a few hours ago and then I went out just to stare at our rice fields waiting to be cultivated again.

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

The shot of the leaves and the fist banksia are really nice! Sorry to hear about the tigers. But you have a lot of tools and are adept at using them. It will abate...