September Wrap Up Garden Journal: What's Been Happening in Our Hive Gardens

in HiveGarden2 years ago

It's a testamanent to how excited us gardeners get about the #gardenjournal challenge that no sooner did I announce it than a flood came in on the 1st of September! Clearly people had their posts at the ready. This certainly makes my job easier as the last minute ones sometimes miss the deadline and I can't include them. It takes a long time to put this post together so if you are in late please understand why I might not count your post.

Family featured heavily this month - seems the warm weather gets everyone involved. There's been a lot of insects due to rain and some wilted gardens due to the heat, but on the whole, we're still all enjoying it despite setbacks.

My project copy-1 (1).png

@chacald.dcymt grows in an apartment, and the paprika planted by her little one is bearing fruit! Don't you just love it when kids get involved with gardening? @kyleana shared about her kids getting involved too, crushing eggshells for the soil.

image.png

@thebigsweed also shared the joy of children in the garden, as well as bumper crop of carrots and cucumber for pickles - plus beets of course, his fave!

image.png

@minismallholding in South Australia has been battling powdery mildew and weeds - hopefully she'll be able to bring her garden into order this Spring. Sadly one of her chickens died as well. Sometimes gardening and homesteading can be rough as it is joyful.

Perhaps @fermentedphil's advice can be taken at this point:

It is all a matter of perspective. Weeds can be a problem or they can be a benefit. I choose to see weeds in my garden as (i) food for me, (ii) food for the compost, or (ii) soil amendments. That is, I let the "weeds" grow wild so that I can either use them in my cooking (see my cooking bit below!) or add them to my compost or leave them in the soil due to the many benefits they can have to replenish for example nitrogen. Philosophically, there is a problem with creation ex nihilo, i.e., creation from nothing, but isn't that really what gardening is all about? We create soil/compost from kitchen scraps and weeds, we create food from small seeds, and we create seeds from plants. All we do, as gardeners, is create from something that was not there before.

And despite the tangle, the vegetables grow amongst their native plants, turned into delicous food - and thanks for reminding me of the wonders of chard and lemon! Yum. Perfect.

Isn't @momogrow's garden salad why we do it? THIS is what can be grown on a balcony - amazing. Their peppers are also to die for - wow! Despite problems with powdery mildew too, there's certainly been a lot of healthy vegetables coming from their garden!

image.png

@artemislives shared a very different post from her Thai jungle garden - as she was in the Netherlands, she kindly showed us a garden there! She set to work watering in the heat and finding treasures there, like this beautiful rose! The family held a reunion in the garden - what a perfect place for a gathering.

image.png

@fanyokami walked us round her garden and showed off her succulents, begonias and more. Plus, a little reminder to feel the earth beneath our feet..now that winter's ending here I might just throw my boots off!

image.png

Despite saying he wasn't going to write a super long post, @edprivat still summed up harvest really well - abundant, but overwhelming! We wish him a lovely holiday in Spain.

image.png

@stephenpatrick's on the 24th 'starting' a garden post, but I think he's well and truly underway, and the bees approve!

image.png

From bees to chickens (chooks here in Australia) @blingit's urban garden is doing well, and her chooks are loving life too.

image.png

@multifacetas is struggling with intense heat and lack of water which as we know is tough on plants. Still, her fuschias are growing beautifully. @kennyroy shared the ghaf tree, which is the national tree of the United Arab Emirates. @fruityfruitz wrote a little ode to her plants, reminding herself, and us, that there is beauty even in perfection. @goisal, a new Hive Gardener, shared about their bountiful harvest of oranges. @ifarmgirl is recovering from illness so the garden has been a little neglected - still, lettuce, eggplant and other vegetables are growing despite neglect. @nightbird01 shared her garden and described her mother's love for a medicinal, nutritious garden too. I loved her letter to her garden - I think many would relate!

My beloved garden,
Can you hear the loud screams of my heart full of awe, pleasure, contentment?? I'm a silent lover of yours who does not know how to express her love and affection to you all I know is to love you silently. You stole not only my peace, worries with your charms and daintiness but also gave me uncountable celestial satiety. Just like this, you snatched away all my daydreams and moulded them into a beautiful reality. I will always be your silent lover as long as my breath will continue to accompany my soul. I know I have lots of flaws which becomes hindrance between you and me but believe me I adore you each and every second. You will always be my first and only love.

@blackberryskunk reminds us of the benefits of hemp and how she uses the harvest:

Hemp formed this beautiful buds. It's a one kind of meditation, watching them flower, after months of growing. The trichomes are slowly turning from milky white into brownish-orange color. Soon the buds will get ripe and ready to harvest. I will later use it for CBD extracts such as macerates, tinctures and creams. I will dry some of the buds for tea, spice for my recipes and also for smoking.

But she also shared oyster mushrooms growing outdoors, chillis and other vegetables besides - an a gorgeous picture for the selfie wall below.

image.png

@nikv has been working hard clearly out invasive plants, managing the land so that natives revegetate the area:

At first there will be a bumper crop of the weeds that inevitably come to colonise disturbed soil but if properly managed, the native grasses and other grassland plants will return. The difference between ordinary weeds and invasives is that the weeds colonise disturbed soil but invasives outcompete natural vegetation and ruin ecosystems.

Sometimes gardening isn't just putting in a pretty plant or a vegetable and enjoying the result but doing some really hard graft! @umirais is battling caterpillars but can't use chemicals as it may harm her chickens, so she addressed it by 'namely by burning dry banana leaves or burning dry coconut husks and directing the smoke to the part of the plant that is attacked by caterpillars'. Has anyone else tried this method? Her post is fascinating - she also talks about cooking a banana heart curry and cooking catfish over a fire. It's great to see someone living so close to the food sources that sustain them.

image.png

@buckaroobaby's garden posts are often populated with animals we don't see - giraffes, elephants and so on. But also beautiful sunbirds... Like many in the southern hemisphere, she's got dry weather on her mind and is prepping her garden accordingly.

image.png

@ludmila. shared her gorgeous Hippeastrum. @sofs-su has been contending with a LOT of rain and insects, but is positive, and has even been planting in coconut husks. Don't they look awesome?

image.png

@attn's garden seems to be doing okay - including this very bumpy squash! Love how they come in all different shapes and sizes. I know @plantstoplanks has had a decent harvest but sadly she's been too busy to join us this week.

image.png

The Selfie Wall

*The selfie wall is really a collection of pictures of Hive Gardeners, so if you have a photo of yourself in the garden, it counts!And yes, there's two of Ed - how could I resist with that face? Nice to see the faces of @thebigsweed, @blingit, @blackberryskunk, @fanyokami and @umirais.

My project-1.png

THE WINNERS

To be honest you're all winners - if you've won one recently you might not win again this week, and I do try to spread the love around. Don't be discouraged if you don't win this time - it's all about joining in the community which brings it's own rewards!

The Passion Prize @nightbird01, @umirais and @blackberryskunk win 5 Hive each
The Vegetable Garden Prize @edprivat, @momogrow and @anttn win 3 Hive each
The Selfie Prize goes to @fanyokami this week!

*I do apologise if I missed your post - I'm only human. I've also got a very busy life, so whilst I do try to get to everyone, you must forgive me if I don't get to you all. I can only do my best! If you haven't recieved an upvote at all or any attention, that's a different story - do let me know in the comments below.

With Love,

image.png

My Post.jpg

HG SMALL.png

Join The Hive Garden Community! The HIVE GARDEN COMMUNITY supports gardening, homesteading, cannabis growers, permaculture and other garden related content. Delegations to the curation account, @gardenhive, are welcome! Find our community here!

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here!


Sort:  

Yay! Congratulations to:

@nightbird01, @umirais and @blackberryskunk
@edprivat, @momogrow and @anttn
@fanyokami

and of course to everyone who participated in the #gardenjournal challenge! It's been fun visiting some of your gardens and learnt something from them and you :)

Thanks @ifarmgirl 🥰🥰🥰

I really enjoyed your words and photos you shared.
Though you were sick still you maintained your garden in a well manner.
Best wishes for you, @ifarmgirl

Thank you lots @nightbird01 for your kind remarks. We are yet to clear our garden but yes, glad that the plants are still thriving :)

Cheers :)

!LUV

I hope you are okay and enjoying a sound health now.
Take care of yourself.

I am, thank you and I wish you best of health too :)

 2 years ago  

Thank you @ifarmgirl

Thank you! It's so nice to watch beautiful gardens and get great ideas!
I'm really grateful for this challenge! 🍀🍄🤠

You're very welcome and it's true, we get ideas from other's through this community :) Cheers and have an amazing day to you :)

Congratulations to those selected, they have a great and diverse journal garden. 🥰

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 122 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
3


Hey @riverflows, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @oscarps ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Thanks so much @riverflows have selected my post, I hope that all of our harvests will be abundant, friends🥰🥰🥰🥰

Congratulations🌱
🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊🎆🎇🎉🎊🌧️💐✨🌾🌱🌹🌙🌿🍃🥀⚡🌺☘️🍀🌈🌷⭐🪴🌵🌸🌟💮🌴🌳💫☀️💮☔🌲🌳🌍🌌🌠☄️🏵️🐝🌻🌼🍄🐞🦋💙☕💜🍍🎆🎇🎉🎊

 2 years ago  

Ah, the emoji queen! xx

 2 years ago  

what an epic Wrap up @riverflows thanks for the awesome effort.

yes the critters keep multiplying at our house. getting concerned as 3 doors down found a VERY aggressive and VERY DEADLY 6ft eastern brown snake in the garden... i don't want that one in the garden!!! yikes...

happy gardening

SARAH

 2 years ago  

PHew, I always need a drink when I'm done!

Ahhhhh I've been lucky with the snakes! We dont get any....

😃Thank you @riverflows. Thanks for the selection and congrats to all others mentioned. This is such a lovely compilation and summary of the various posts. Thanks for your hard work. Have a lovely weekend. 🎶

 2 years ago  

Thanks! I do love doing it!

😃🎶You're welcome.

 2 years ago  

Many thanks for the prize and congratulations to all the other gardeners as well.
I am wishing everyone an abundant harvest -also those who are approaching autumn.

 2 years ago  

Abundant harvests for all!

It was really a great and enjoyable challenge to participate.
I'm really glad to see my name along with other winners.
Congratulations to all who won and who particles.
Thank you soo much @riverflows, it means a lot to me and will help me to grind more.

 2 years ago  

It was great to see you enter with such a good first entry!

 2 years ago  

Greetings from Venezuela. Congratulations to the winners and each one of the participants and to the administrators of this beautiful community. I am happy with the mention. Thank you very much.🌹💖

Another spectacular Garden Journal wrap-up @riverflows. I know that it takes hours of time and effort to put my journal together, I can't imagine the hours you spend summarizing all of the posts that come your way.
With your gardening season just around the corner I'm not sure how you will do both.

Congratulations to all of the winners.

 2 years ago  

I dont know how I juggle anything - like you, I hobbitise like mad - but I do have some organised technique and I can sit in front of the telly at night after tea when Jamie's watching car videos hahah. Still, it's a labour of LOVE which makes it easier!

Hobbitise, that is the only way to tackle some things. Think of it as fun and not that four letter word that I struck from my vocabulary upon retirement.
Hobbitise, catchy word, one that puts a smile on my face every time YOU use it.

If my memory serves me right, which you never know these days, aren't you the one that said Juggling was a waste of time as nothing gets accomplished, or something like that. I guess you were just talking about balls, juggling balls.

()

Multi-tasking, lately I hear those two words like it's something new. Without having many irons on the fire, life would get a little boring. Shit, over half of what I've accomplished in my years would still be on the drawing board.

Jamie has got it going on when it comes to motorized vehicles. If I were you I'd never discourage this passion. He's the man. I read your post about the camper and was totally impressed with Jamie's skills, fabricating many of the pieces. Big time money saver. As you say, upcycle, recycle, it's a money saver and very uplifting.

I bet the two of you can't wait to get that thing on some dirt roads roads!

Great post Riverflows. Fun summary and highlight of all the gardeners out there on the hive.

waaaahhh thanks so much for the prize!! It really makes me happy haha. As usual I really love to read this posts! It warms up my heart to know about everyone's daily life in their gardens! Knowing that we all go trough the same up and downs, and share the same love for plants makes me feel part of a big big family where we are all scattered around the world 🤣

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.