Back at the olive grove, back home. November's #gardenjournal.

in HiveGardenlast year (edited)

IMG_0244.jpg

Some people feel they returned to their base when they open the door of their home. I feel I am back when I am amongst the trees and herbs and all plants and beings that live in the olive groves that together with @fotostef we cultivate the last few years.

IMG_0242.jpg
You can see our village at the background :)

We have been away for almost 2 months and I have to admit that it felt so good as it feels now that I am back full of energy and new ideas.
In the meantime there was lots of swimming in the sea, sunbathing, traveling, but also visiting doctors, having my hand in plaster for two weeks, having my laptop and mobile broken, and dealing with all kind of feelings. Mostly joy though :)


So, first post after a while is a #gardenjournal for November Garden Journal Challenge! Not a complete one but since the olive harvesting period has started, let's say that olives is the hottest topic amongst farmers here :)

IMG_0398.jpg
A very windy day as you can see.

The beautiful trees are in very good shape and loaded with enough olives to call it a good year. We don't water the trees during summertime, we try to follow nature's rhythm. We had done anything we could do before we go, so even if we were here we wouldn't have done something more.

IMG_0337.jpg

Although an old - and very wise - saying says that the best fertilizer is the gardener's shadow.

Speaking of shadow and gardeners, this is @fotostef under one of our trees :)

IMG_0391.jpg

Luckily not all of them are as big as this one, cause then harvesting would be a bigger adventure than it already is!

IMG_0385.jpg
Especially in corners like the one above :) Where we can, we leave things just as they are, wisely put by nature and the feeling of a small forest is so nice.


The view of the one olive grove is breathtaking. It is where we have the best picnics!

IMG_0246.jpg

IMG_0260.jpg


While taking photos of the view, some others carry woods for the winter...

Of course Marcos, our very strict dog, is supervising the whole procedure. As always. When he is not running like crazy :)

IMG_0268.jpg
A top view to prove how seriously he has taken his job!


November is the ideal month for olive harvesting (at least in our part of earth). Many olives are still green and rich in phenols and with extra bitter taste, while the majority has turned into this beautiful purple that gives to the final result a nice balance - slightly bitter and spicy.

IMG_0352.jpg


Welcoming new life :)

IMG_0269.jpg

IMG_0271.jpg

And being welcomed by beloved herbs.

IMG_0275.jpg
This is Cistus creticus a very important plant for me.

Carobs are done.
IMG_0395.jpg

And heather is nurturing the bees with its nutritious nectar!

IMG_0363.jpg
Too windy to have a better photo, it kept moving :)


The selfie couldn't be other than a cheerful-smiley-playing with the olives photo :)

IMG_0300.jpg


I guess this is also a goodbye to the long beautiful summer. Cheers to a happy autumn! Or spring or rainy or dry season, happy gardening wherever you are!

IMG_0387.jpg

IMG_0388.jpg



All the pictures and the words are mine.
If you would like to know more about me this is my introduction post.

Sort:  
 last year  

Ah, dealing with feelings - it's a full time job isn't it?

Wait what - your broken hand? What the hell happened? I'm sorry if I missed the update! And another apology for missing this post when it came out - I'm just a bit flat out! It's very hot right now so I'm sitting inside and trying to get this wrap up done before Jamie comes home and I need to get out in the garden myself. Hand and laptop and mobile - I think the universe conspired to keep you off line!

I love the selfie of you in the olive grove, it really made me smile. If I had a prize for best view I think you and @clareartista would draw even. Happy for you back amongst the plants!

PS It is looking like @fotostef does all the work, I have to say - what's your secret? Hehehe

 last year  

Oh yes, full time job and never ending :))

Luckily not broken! You should see me swimming those days though, you couldn't miss me, haha!
Don't apologize about anything, it's absolutely fine, you are doing a great job, and it is a very demanding one! Oh, it's getting colder here and I think I wish I could chaise summer around the globe at least for a year.

I think the universe conspired to keep you off line!

I think you are so right! I had already decided not to do much, but Ι needed some extra help to make it and sit quiet :))

PS. I will share my secret but I don't recommend it at all as a trick for not working :)) And I am sharing because I got the results today and it's all clear and actually I am so happy that I can share these news with you! I had a breast biopsy, so I need some time to recover although I am looking forward to getting back to some hard work. It's harvesting season and I learn to listen to my body... and doctor. Thanks for being here @riverflows and I hope this is not too overwhelming for you, you made a joke and I made a whole confession, be careful next time :)) Love!

 last year  

Oh goodness, I am so glad you got the all clear. That can be so terrifying, waiting for them. Hey, I'm always a good listener when people are struggling. The rest of the time, I'm rubbish ahahahahah.

My girlfriend just had a masectomy due to breast cancer and it wasn't fun to do the radiation etc either so you can never be too careful.

You should see me swimming those days though, you couldn't miss me, haha!

Not in circles, I hope :P

 last year  

I hope your girlfriend is going to be perfectly fine soon! Sending my best thoughts and wishes for her.

Hey, I'm always a good listener when people are struggling. The rest of the time, I'm rubbish ahahahahah.

😜😂

Not in circles, I hope :P

Ahahahaha, noooo! A bit more elegant! What an image, haha!

This post was upvoted by the Nature Lovers Community

 last year  

Thank you :)

What did I miss - why you had your hand in plaster for two weeks? 😱

I know you were away, kind of nomad lifestyle lately... it's freedom, isn't it?
Yay, that smile among the olive tree branches is sweet 😀

 last year  

Freedom, yes... as long as it's not too windy 😜
I have so many things and photos to share I don't know where to start from!
(tiny)van-life feels already so long ago!
Luckily the plaster came on the last day of the road trip. But since I work with my hands as you do, it was really important to take extra care. All good now!

The second part of the trip was scheduled to be more like... medical tourism, but after such a nice trip and by being close to the sea during these 2 months made it all look just fine :)

Thank you for your concern dear @mipiano!

What a wonderful look at your trees and land and herbs. I can feel your joy and love of the land. Can't wait to see posts of your adventure. I read @mipiano's comment and I was worried about your hand too. Glad you said it is ok. Yay for working technology. :)

 last year  

Thank you sweet Sara! Yes, my hand is in very good shape ready for some hard work at the fields :))
It is nice returning to the olive groves, noticing the differences after summer. We are going to spend a lot of time together during the next month!

Can't wait to see posts of your adventure.

I unloaded the camera card yesterday night, so almost ready to start :)

Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator hafizullah & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Next time make sure to post / cross-post your creation within the DIYHub community on HIVE and you will receive a higher upvote ;) Stay creative & HIVE ON!

 last year  

Thank you :)

 last year  

I did the research for the Olive tree because I would like to plant and have one of these trees. The problem is, it will take years to grow from its seeds!

 last year  

You are in Abu Dhabi, right? That would be so interesting to see if olive trees can grow there. Have you seen any at your place?
If you decide to plant one, I would suggest you to take a grafted one with the variety that you prefer. Apart from the time needed to grow from seed (and olive tree is not an easy one to grow from seed) it will be wild and you will anyway need to graft it.

Thank you so much for stopping by :)

Hola @traisto estoy encantada con este post, nunca había visto un árbol de aceitunas tan cerca como esas fotos, sobre todo las aceitunas encima de tu cabeza jejeje espectacular, me encantan. Las aceitunas las usamos en mi país Venezuela para preparar muchos platos pero en época de navidad la usamos como aliños para las hallacas nuestro plato navideño. Excelente publicación. Saludos y bendiciones.

 last year  

Muchas gracias @oli1965 :)
Hace mucho tiempo que no he escrito en Espanol, jeje!
Ques interesante este plato festivo!
Saludos!