How to speed up fruiting plants with the "circumcision" method

in HiveGarden2 years ago

Hello HiveGarden Lovers, In Indonesia this August, the weather is very hot, in my area (North Sumatra) the air temperature can reach 35 degrees Celsius, whereas on a typical day, the average air temperature is only 29 degrees Celsius. The hot air caused some types of plants to wither, so I reduced my gardening activities, I didn't plant any vegetables this summer. But because I really like being in a shady garden with a lot of tree canopy around me, I keep doing gardening activities, usually I just pull weeds and other weeds.

IMG20220815183719.jpg

I also do "circumcision" on avocado trees and rambutan trees that have not yet produced fruit. circumcision is one method to speed up fruit plants to bear fruit more quickly. I did the circumcision process on cambium and dicotyledonous fruit plants, I did circumcision on rambutan and avocado fruit plants. I learned this method from my grandmother. When I was a child and complained that the plants we planted with seeds were not bearing fruit, my grandmother carried a machete while scaring the fruit trees and said, "If you don't bear fruit, I will cut you down tomorrow," said Grandma, slashing a machete at the tree. Surprisingly a few weeks after the incident, the tree that my grandmother chopped down started to flower.

IMG20220815183910.jpg

Even though it sounds absurd, I often practice my grandmother's way to make fruit trees bear fruit quickly. I remember 3 years ago, I had a rambutan tree that had not yet produced fruit, even though another rambutan tree, which was planted at the same time, had already begun to bear fruit. I do not use factory fertilizers for all my fruit plants, I allow all my plants to bear fruit naturally, without the help of fertilization. My rationale is fruit trees in the forest that thrive and bear fruit without fertilization (I know the forest has very thick and fertile humus soil that is useful as natural fertilizer). Therefore, the old leaves that fall to the ground in the garden, I do not burn, but I collect them under the tree to become natural fertilizer.

IMG20220815183711.jpg

I started doing "circumcision" to rambutan trees and avocados that had not yet fruited. in the following I will show you how to circumcise the rambutan tree. First, I put a mark on the bottom of the rambutan tree or one inch of its roots above the ground.

IMG20220815183030.jpg

IMG20220815183109.jpg

Next, I started to peel off the entire outer skin, until the cambium was visible.

IMG20220815183148.jpg

IMG20220815183236.jpg

if in one tree there are many branches like my rambutan plant, then I do circumcision on all the branches.

IMG20220815183352.jpg

IMG20220815183636.jpg

Do the circumcision evenly and circularly around the bottom of the tree trunk, the size is about 10-15 centimeters. After I peel off the outer skin, I don't clean it, I leave it naturally.

IMG20220815183711.jpg

I will also show you how to circumcise a avocado tree, this avocado tree is 31 months old and has not yet produced fruit, maybe because I planted it from seeds, not from the grafting process. But as I said before, the plants in the forest even though they are planted with seeds because they grow by themselves, still bear fruit. The way I circumcise an avocado tree is that first I will put a mark in the form of a stab around the tree, this is to make it easier for me to do circumcision.

IMG20220815184054.jpg

IMG20220815184227.jpg

after that I started doing circumcision by peeling the outer skin to reveal the cambium. I've done this many times on fruit trees, so I don't have to worry about the plants I circumcise will die.

IMG20220815184348.jpg

IMG20220815184242.jpg

Usually after a few weeks of my circumcision, the plant begins to learn to bear fruit, starting with the emergence of new shoots and flowers. Usually the fruit plants will start to bear fruit 1 or 2 only, but after that, the fruit plants that we circumcise begin to bear fruit.

IMG20220815184410.jpg

I hope my tips are useful for plant lovers, especially fruit plants. thank you for reading my writing.

Best Regards
@umirais

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Fascinating - it looks pretty brutal but if it works! We're always trying to stop rabbits and other animals ringbarking the trees, so this method seems very different to me! I love to be challenged by ideas, so I find this fascinating - thanks for sharing. Be really interested to hear @ligayagardener's thoughts. Love, @riverflows


My Post Copy-2.png
Your post has been chosen for the next edition of 'The Garden Shed', a collection of archived posts by @gardenhive that feature gardening advice, DIY tips, homesteading tips and inspiring gardens.

yes this always works in my orchard @gardenhive, greeting @umirais

I wouldn't dare do that in my garden. Maybe it is a technique particular to some kinds of trees?

I'm sure if @umirais grandmother had success and they have success. then it works!

You've been curated by @plantpoweronhive! Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

Thanks for curation @plantpoweronhive

 2 years ago  

I have to say that looks like a lot of damage, do you strip the bark right around?

yes I peeled the skin all around, no many people know about this method, but it always works for my fruit plants @nikv

 2 years ago  

I read that it works well for peaches and nectarines

That looks pretty extreme! Do you leave any of the transport vessels in the outer layers untouched?

I peel off all the outer skins, until we can find the cambium, i've done this to fruit plants that have long fruited, it always works @ligayagardener

Does it work with deciduous plants?

 2 years ago  

This is the first time that I have seen this kind of method, we do stab young papaya trees with sticks, but yours is new to me.

yes this is a rare method @afterglow

Teknik berkebun yang menarik umirais.

Halo umirais, postinganmu telah dikurasi secara manual oleh tim Indonesianhiver. Saat ini kami sedang membangun proyek kurasi lintas komunitas utk blogger Indonesia.
Yuk bergabung agar nilai kurasi untuk kamu dan blogger indonesia lainnya semakin besar.