Update Kitchen Utensils With Natural Materials

Desiring to bring rustic vibes to food photography, I started adding more kitchen utensils with natural materials. From bamboo, wood, and natural stone.


I have purchased products that are made from environmentally friendly materials, which also carry a rustic vibe.

FE087584-DDE6-4BA0-85D6-331E67B14C75.jpeg




Life is about upgrading, processing, adding things that make life better meaning, and reducing or even throwing away things that only bring a negative side to our lives.

I always want to serve the best, as a woman who is responsible for my family, cooking the daily menu as well as a content creator who shares my cooking. I don't want to be complacent.

Lots of inspiration for food photos, especially from the Pinterest application that keeps me motivated to produce better food and content. For that reason, I often upgrade Kitchen Utensils as I have shared in my previous blogs.


5A0FB45B-8EA2-4F03-8744-B89244477843.jpeg

So, this time I share some of the products that I managed to buy. With the theme, "natural materials". Starting from wooden materials, bamboo, and natural stone.


A5803564-69F9-4FC8-A9A9-C50A41A789E4.jpeg


0B6882AB-65E0-453C-A0DF-A1BDAB91624E.jpeg


599F5824-7232-43B4-A271-12C3EC5405F4.jpeg

Purchases of these environmentally friendly products are from direct purchases at a street vendor in my living city. I hope you enjoy some of the products that I will discuss, and maybe you are interested in buying almost similar products to fill your kitchen. Stay tuned!




Weekend walks are not my favorite as I often avoid crowds in public places in my city. Or, the streets become congested because working people who only have weekends off decide to go outside to places in the city center.

But exceptions always apply to anything, including me. So last week I took a walk around the shaded area. It's still an area with a causeway, so it's still crowded with vehicles, and I have to be careful.

6F2A13BE-398E-47B9-8E8D-5545D5544A79.jpeg

I see there is an interesting space. There hung a lot of kitchen utensils made of bamboo. Very eye-catching.


0E244304-28A8-40D6-86A0-A4A8B8F7111A.jpeg

We can see there are bamboo baskets hung on ropes connected by two large shaded trees. Also, a traditional tray made of bamboo is hung on a large tree. There are various sizes of bamboo trays on sale.

DBF74B45-D041-4C17-8FDF-BB801255B60C.jpeg


In the lower area, mortar and pestle made of wood and also made of natural stone are displayed. I was interested in buying a mortar and pestle right away because my previous one at home was old and cracked.

EA108FB3-8217-4197-8BFC-C7E2221722CE.jpeg


A1F8C164-77B9-4107-816C-4A22C3AA8C80.jpeg




After buying a mortar and pestle, I was also interested in buying a basket and a tray. It fits the things I need right now in the kitchen. I haven't had equipment like that before. So I am very happy and feel grateful to be able to find these natural products on the side of the road. A nice coincidence of the week.

So, let's see what I managed to get from a street vendor. And, how much money I spend on them who are really beautiful to me.




A Bamboo Tray

D4B0171D-693C-4FBD-B478-9A0B55AA4261.jpeg

A Bamboo Tray that I chose is not completely rimmed like a flat round plate. The edges are slightly curved inward like a bowl. So it can be multifunctional to carry more things.

A Bamboo Tray can also be used to carry produce from the garden to the kitchen. Also of course can be used to place vegetables and fruit. For me, it will come in handy when I am chopping vegetables.

2FFCF1A0-16C2-4828-B03F-1F9495E704A6.jpeg

To catch fresh fish in the pond, I can also use this bamboo tray because there are many holes to drain water. But the weakness, this bamboo tray will be damaged more quickly if exposed to water.

470706AD-18CA-4F94-AAF8-AD55066F1CF4.jpeg

A Bamboo Tray that I bought is the smallest size among the others sold here.

I paid $1 for this bamboo tray with edges that curve inward like a bowl.




A Big Bamboo Tray

9CF8E187-8868-4114-BEA9-3FC8F9165F67.jpeg

In addition to a tray that is slightly curved, I am also interested in buying the largest tray sold here. The largest size can be used for containers of many foods, and most importantly can be used to dry processed foods for "dried sun food".

Since long ago, in our family, a bamboo tray is used to dry the food that we will preserve naturally. For example, drying coconut flakes, drying cassava, and also drying leftover rice to make crispy rice crackers.

I paid $1.5 for this big bamboo tray.




A Bamboo Basket

7A565E68-7DAA-4F72-9B3B-100A5C4A8330.jpeg


BC4C597C-1BB9-4DEE-A575-5357976614BD.jpeg

Speaking of useful containers in the kitchen, a basket is also very useful for cooking store ingredients that have lightweight that are usually hung.

Ingredients that have lightweight are generally the spices I use for cooking, which won't rot even when stored for a long time. Among them are bay leaves, and cinnamon sticks.

I do not recommend using this bamboo basket for carrying heavy materials because the bottom of the basket will be damaged. But to bring in lightly harvested ingredients like peas, beans, chili, or green leaves, it will do just fine.

I paid $1 for this bamboo basket.




A Mortar and Pestle

47713EB1-F343-4BB5-81C0-1663B3008536.jpeg


BA24A989-B68E-4314-A8F6-93EBA98AC14E.jpeg

The last product I bought from this seller was a mortar and pestle made from natural stone. The texture looks beautiful. It is very useful for crushing and mashing spices to make traditional chili sauce, or for making peanut sauce.

When not washed, the color of the mortar will look gray, but if it has been washed it will look black like natural stone. On the front of the mortar, the pores are not visible, as if they have been smoothed using a certain tool. Meanwhile, the back of the mortar looks naturally porous.

C51EA1B2-AAC9-4FA4-9B1D-B0F15CEC2DA2.jpeg


BB61C037-8E4A-4087-B701-243413129559.jpeg

I love the shape and size of this mortar. It's not too big, but it will really help the process of making small amounts of traditional sauce for daily meals. If the size of the mortar is too large, then the ingredients will fall apart on all sides of the mortar which will slow down the crushing/mashing/flattened ingredients process.




EF74E005-5FCE-46BF-A1C8-776E0D03B3DA.jpeg


1EF9210B-264E-4C4E-B4CB-C2E8ADC6B767.jpeg

A Mortar is equipped with a pestle that has the same material as the mortar. The shape of this pestle is adjusted to the movement when the hand grips, making it comfortable to use.


The price of this mortar n pestle is the most expensive among other products that I bought. I paid $8.5 for this mortar n pestle.




That was about some Kitchen Utensils With Natural Materials that I bought through a street vendor. Really feel blessed with these products.




Thank you for reading my blog and reblog if you want my blog this time worthy of reading by others.

All pictures were taken using iPhone 11.

6BE0C6EB-983E-4127-B94B-37E0EDC05E17.jpeg


5A0FB45B-8EA2-4F03-8744-B89244477843.jpeg





Best Regards,
Anggrek Lestari


B5983B2C-4913-4AE8-8864-368654B44008.jpeg

Who is Anggrek Lestari?

Anggrek Lestari is an Indonesian fiction writer who has published two major books. Now She is a full-time content creator. She has a goal to share life, poem, and food content that makes others happy and can get inspiration.


Contact Person: [email protected]
Discord: anggreklestari#3009


Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @anggreklestari ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  

Thant's nice craft, it is a hard to find those kind of products here. There are a few producers of bamboo kitchen ware in Bandung and Bogor.

Honestly in my area is hard to find too, but if I lucky, I can find them, at street vendor :)

Wow! that's a good utensils made with wood like bamboo. My parents still have bamboo basket and bamboo tray in our house. They use bamboo baskets where they can put the spices like ginger, onions and garlic there.

I like the mortar and pestle too.

Thanks for sharing your insight with us @anggreklestari

Natural utensils are better, besides they Made my food photography beautiful.

Glad your parents still use those things. ❤️😍

Yes and aside from that they are healthier to use.

My mom still uses these in the Philippines. The bamboo tray has a flatter bottom than what you shared, but yeah, she uses it to dry some produce too. We have a stone mortar and pestle from waaaay back I can't remember. 😅

A stone mortar is really hard to find. Some products are fake Made from cement, not original stone.

Im really happy to get those product :)

and you actually got them for a good price!

Hello dear friend @anggreklestari good day
What a great idea to incorporate natural elements into your kitchen
These utensils look beautiful. enjoy it a lot
Have a nice week

Hello there

I like the bamboo material. They really beautiful

Rustic! Yeah. I love the natural utensils in a kitchen. And everywhere! When I sew cloth diapers I like using hemp, cotton or bamboo.

Rustic vibe is nice one especially for the kitchen and for food photography

great brother, indeed the kitchen utensils and kitchen ingredients are the best. The mothers who tidy it up

My mom like them too :)

ha..ha.. there's an older brother who's still young, he's tidying up he.. he..

I love your new kitchen items. It will be fun to see how you use them.

In the next blog, I Will use them for sure :)

Nice to see a handicrafts as utensils, it looks cozy

I love them to make my kitchen beautiful

Congratulations @anggreklestari! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You got more than 25500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 26000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you for the engagement, team ❤️

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @semarekha & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

oh this is lovely, creative and economical. Good investment you have there @anggreklestari, plus I adore the concept that it is nature-friendly

So proud of you that you bought it from a street vendor, and I wish many people would do the same. They deserve to be rewarded with how much energy and skills they put it in.

That would be amazing if you use those things in your foodie content ;)