When mother nature strikes. My super typhoon rai experience

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

Hi to all Hiveans! It has been far too long since my last blog and it is all thanks to Super Typhoon Odette which destroyed most of our homes and buildings last December 16, 2021. All communication and electrical lines and posts have been destroyed and thanks to that we had no mobile data so I can post this blog of mine.

December is usually the month that everyone is excited about because of Christmas Day and New Years day. It was not an exception for me also. I was excited to celebrate these two holidays because these are the times that I can share my expertise in making salads and other delicious food with my family not to mention receiving gifts from your loved ones. It's during these times that our family can gather together and spend time together since we are all busy during normal days. That is why I really didn't expect the catastrophe that will befall not only to me but to the whole Province of Cebu.

On the 16th of December I sat alone near the window. It was raining so hard that afternoon. I tried to look outside but a brisk wind hit our plants and tress. I knew that this storm is not gonna be your average storm. So I cooked food early and we ate our dinner early that day.

When the night came the wind is getting stronger. It was very dark and scary that night. The only source of light that we had are our cellphones and some flash lights. I wanted to go outside for a little bit to check my dog if he is okay but I could feel the wind pushing the door shut so I decided to just go back immediately as it was clearly not safe to go outside.

As time passed by everything was shaking like roofs, doors and windows. I could even hear the loud bang from the outside of our door as if someone is trying to get in. I could hear the sound of our roof creaking as it was about to pulled out by the strong wind. Our windows are shaking like some mad man is trying to smashed it and the water of the rain is coming in through the windows. I could hear the sound of the trees collapsing outside too. So I decided to move away from the window and move under the table. I couldn't sleep that night and was extremely scared that these is gonna be the end of our life. It was really a nightmare that I honestly don't want to experience ever again.

When I was still young there was a super typhoon that hit Cebu but it was not as strong as this one. Back then only very few houses were destroyed while most remained fully intact.

After the super typhoon has passed, me and my family went outside to see the damage and as we saw the hellish view in front of us. I just can't control my tears from flowing. I thought to myself lord why does this have to happen to us... but my brother snapped me out of it and he said that we should roam around and try to salvage every coconut fruit nearby as there were a lot of coconut trees near our house. We also searched for other fruits and vegetables that we can still salvage like bananas, eggplants, bitter gourd and beans.

I saw what happened to the towns that was destroyed by Super Typhoon Yolanda way back in 2013 on TV. I never would have expected to see it up close and personal. Although the damage was not as severe as Super Typhoon Yolanda but for me it looks very much the same.

After we finished gathering everything we can salvage, I tried to roam around to see the damage of the Super Typhoon to our town.

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)


(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

(Image not shown due to low ratings)

Images were hidden due to low ratings.
Sort:  

Congratulations @bhelatnasudepan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 14
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago (edited) 

The devastation....

It is sad seeing the aftermath of odette. I wish that you and your family able to go through all challenges well 🙏🙏

 2 years ago  

I am sorry for that! I wish you and your family stay safe and healthy.

🙏



Hey, thanks for using our tag #vyb #proofofbrain or #pob

We upvoted you using our tribe tokens POB and VYB! In case you don't know... (truth be told I just read it somewhere 🤣) By staking our tokens then delegating them to @pob-curator and @vyb-curator respectively, you can have 95% of the curation gained back to you in daily automated payments.


VYB Curation Project (VCP)

"Every man's work, whether it be literature or music or pictures or architecture or anything else, is always a portrait of himself." - Samuel Butler

Whoa! That was a pretty devastating typhoon. Glad that you and your family are okay after it. Guess it makes us realize that man is powerless against nature's wrath. We can only strive to protect ourselves the best way we can. I hope that you and your family are now rebuilding what was damaged. There's reason to celebrate being #aliveandthriving.

Happy weekend to you!

Made in Canva

!ALIVE

- @iamraincrystal - Moderator/Alive Video Master
_
This post has been curated by the Alive And Thriving Team, we curate good content in the We Are Alive Tribe that is on topic for #AliveAndThriving, and it's included in our daily curation report on @aliveandthriving.
!hivebits

@bhelatnasudepan! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @aliveandthriving. (1/30)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Hivebits blends Hive's blockchain and Bitcoin's ethos. Your effort = your reward. Mine HBIT simply with ! hivebits (no space), one-per-day. Success! You just mined .9 HBIT and the user you replied to received .1 HBIT on your behalf. You can receive 100% of the HBIT by replying to one of your own posts or comments. Or, support Hivebits by using the official HBIT mine | your wallet | market | tools | connect | <><

Wow. Typhoons are so strong out there! Fortunately there were many coconuts nearby to use for nourishment.