Memories of Old Houses

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

One of the vivid memories I had in my hometown when I was young is the structures that served as landmarks. Houses, the welcome statue that says welcome to Hindang, the unpaved highway, and the wooden-made bridges are some of those that still linger in that space of my mind, permanently stored and nostalgic as remembered.

I walked around town proper reminiscing with nostalgia, as memories played back in the corners of my mind. I saw old abandoned houses that got me thinking about how time changes everything. These once vibrant, lively, well-taken care of houses, pictures of it in my mind serves as a memento of grandiosity and richness of the past are now left to crumble.

HOUSE #1

This house on the side of the highway has a special place in my memory. I could vividly remember it since it is the first landmark that registered in my mind when my family moved into my home province which is Leyte after years of living in Cebu. As we rode on a bus, I woke up from my sleep to the sight of this house. I could remember sitting on my father's lap as he told me,

"abot na ta sa ato"

"We are home!"

These words may mean nothing to me back then but as I grow older I could understand what home means. And this house reminds me always of the word home.

It is sad to see this house being abandoned, slowly taken over by nature as grasses start to overgrow and forces of nature slowly defeat its fragile parts.

IMG_20220825_020551.jpg

IMG_20220820_154241.jpg

House #2

Built on the corner of a street this house serves as a landmark on the street leading to the church. I remember going to church every Sunday and this house was always an eye-catcher and head-turner with its size and facade. It has an arc on its facade that would take my childhood self to daydream, imagining myself dressed in fancy clothes as I came out of the door and walk through that arc. Being a child there is no limit to imagination.

This used to be vibrant the last time I saw this. There were nuns assigned to our parish who used to rent this house. When they left, this was also left unattended until new life has taken over and those are the plants and vines that have outgrown the house. On the other side of the house, it is obvious how it withstands time. It has been through the strongest typhoons and yet it is still intact. It amazes me.

IMG_20220911_010941.jpg

IMG20220729103516.jpg

IMG_20221001_034157.jpg

HOUSE #3

This old house is still used commercially. There are some business establishments on the first floor. I could still remember this house when it was still a purely residential house. I could see children peep through the window on the second floor while waving their hands to the people or vehicles passing by. This was a beautiful house when a family was living here.

Four years ago this house caught fire due to faulty wirings. Thankfully, the fire was put off fast. The house is still intact with parts evident it went through the fire. But it was left like that and no efforts by the owner to rehabilitate it.

IMG20220820154505.jpg

IMG20220820154542.jpg

IMG20220820154515.jpg

It is not easy to maintain old houses. It would cost a lot and it's impractical especially for the owners who had already built their own lives in the other part of the country or the world. I understand the owners when they chose to abandon these houses which was once their home. There are just certain decisions in life that we need to do though it is not easy. They may have abandon these houses but I know the memories of it will never be forgotten. Just like how I feel everytime I see these houses.

Sort:  

We can't forget the past, especially if we come from the village and now we live in the city, there are very far cultural differences and that is also what many of my friends who move to the city feel.

I agree. Even if we found a new home. We always look back to where we came from.

 2 years ago  

Sayang ano hindi narestore. Maganda sana pag na maintain un ganyan.

Sayang tlaga 😥

 2 years ago  

We inherited old house from the Tatay of our Lola, but it was renovated when I was young, and become concrete now. It doesn't look like the old building, which I realized this time we should have preserve it like how it was.

Sayang noh. Yung mga ancestral house lalo pag well maintained tumataas ung aesthetic value.

Old houses let us remember how those days back then. It's a little bit sad how it became but time is always like that. I wish to stop it or to be the same but it's not possible and beauty will never be found if it stops.

You caught me with the words like how I was so in love with what everything in the past. Something I can't explain what kind of happiness with the words together with photographs. What a good write, a beautiful reflection.

Thank you for appreciating @mrnightmare89...there are things that reminds of the past and makes us happy like these houses. Mao nasayangan jud ko aning mga balaya ui. 😥

Mga kusgan gyud ning mga karaang balay, bisan ig bagyohon barog gihapon. 🤣🤣

Hehe mao jud. Wa py uso korap sauna hihi

 2 years ago  

Old memories tell us a lot. I think you agree with me.

Yes i agree. Really a lot and it's fascinating

We have those houses din sito sa laguna...yung bahay ni Rizal sa Binan e nirenovate na ginawang museum... Yan yung mga bahay na inaadmire at kinatatakutan ko before... Gandang ganda kase ako sa mga bintana nila na gawa sa capiz...though it reminds me of bahay ni lola na horror movie 😅

Heheh same. Natatakot din sa ganitong bahay lalo na ung mga salamin 😱😱

Yissss with the lumang cabinets na bigla nalang nabukas

Haha feeling ko tlaga my biglang. mapapakita sa salamin 🤣

Tapos yung mga lumang bahay na may bagwa jusme ahahahha

Wow this bring back memories,made me remember a storey-building I stayed with my mom and siblings. Back then we will run around the compound chasing each other.

Sweet memories of childhood. The best part

Abe kog ako ray nakapansin 😁 bitaw ren fascinated kaajo ko aning mga old houses, mao ni usa sa akong sigehan ug tan-aw if makaadto kog lungsod, naay something nga mag take me back in time once makalabay ko ani nila, unta ma preserved pa sila sa pagdagan sa panahon ☺️

Mao jid det. Kaso murag wa na may plano ni ipreserve

Yes even me if i have my own house and it's getting old, I will never abolish it, but abandon instead, and keep it safe so when I visit it will remind me of the happy memories i had in that house.

That would be nice. I you feel like gping back to that place you know there is a house you can go back to.

!ALIVE | !LOLZ

Thank you @vocup

@bluepark! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @vocup. (10/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Why are ducks good at playing limbo?
Because they can get down.

Credit: reddit
@bluepark, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @vocup

Farm LOLZ tokens when you Delegate Hive or Hive Tokens.
Click to delegate: 10 - 20 - 50 - 100 HP
(6/6)

Old houses gives us glimpses to the past. seeing your photos made me nostalgic too. I love seeing old houses, stopping by and wondering what they were in the past.
Beautiful post @bluepark.

Same feeling. I always wonder how it was in the past when I see one. The past is so intriguing.

Nostalgic indeed. We also have ancient houses back home. Like the houses above, each has an interesting and unique story.

Thank you. Yes so many interesting stories. The reason i am fascinated woth old houses

Congratulations @bluepark! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

where is it the region of country??

Visayas region