The massive amount of Hashes in Thailand

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 years ago

I talk quite a bit about how there are chapters all over the world for the Hash House Harriers and no matter where you are there is a good chance that there is a chapter near you. I hadn't realized exactly how many there were just here in Thailand until someone published a genealogy of all of the Hashes that ever existed here and how many of them are active now. It kind of blew my mind to see how many there were and no, they are not just in Chiang Mai and Phuket, they are all over the place and even in some cities in this country that I have never heard of despite being here for many years.


Screen-Shot-2012-11-10-at-14.11.541.png

I didn't count them all and some of them are listed as "no longer active" but it was still pretty impressive to see how many groups there have been and how popular the notion has been all over Thailand for so many years. This is especially great when you consider that the entire notion of Hashing has only been around for about 80 years or so.


81464455_764628730707481_2814626140767911936_n.jpg

For any of the Hashers our there that are interested in seeing this list here in the link http://thehashhouse.org/index.php?r=chapters%2Flist&country=Thailand

Apparently, these guys keep a relatively accurate genealogy for Hashes all around the world and with the the help of the Hash chapters in question they keep it as accurate as possible I would imagine.

So I guess you could say that I was pleased that it is this widespread and also a bit surprised that I hadn't heard about these things and didn't really even know what the Hash House Harriers were even all about until I moved to Chiang Mai. I think this has a lot to do with the fact that they don't really advertise. Basically if you don't know a Hasher already, you probably aren't going to hear about their events.

Well now you know me and I am inviting you to our events. We do them at least thrice weekly and the details are available on our official website


120453935_3634699396592505_1949513834489866136_n.jpg

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

According to a friend of mine, Krabi had a HHH years ago but it died out pretty fast due to lack of interest. I wish we did have one. I do hear about the Phuket one being quite active though.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @kbv.animalwelf for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

Yeah, I looked it up and it looked as though someone tried to form a Hash there in the early 2000's and it lasted about 6 months. That's a pity because you have some amazing open spaces down there.

 3 years ago  

The closest one I can find here in in Saigon, which is not very close at all. There have been a few people that have discussed starting their own here though, maybe I'll offer to help out a bit.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @gabe.radke for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 15

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

I am always awaiting the next locale filled with comedy and a little bit of exercise too.

 3 years ago  

well hopefully you will be able to get involved somewhere, someday. I realize you have much more important things on your plate at the moment though. Best of luck to you pal.