We are back to hanging out on our rooftops (could be worse)

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY3 years ago

One of the things that is frequently part of the features that a condo operation has is some sort of rooftop atmosphere. The more expensive places have pools on the roof, which is something I have always found to be incredibly exotic. Some of my friends live in places like that. I unfortunately do not and am not willing to pay the extra $80 a month in order to get it, especially when I just piggyback on my friends' pools like a scumbag.

Right now the city is back in a sort of lockdown and I don't really understand the rules and how they have changed, but you only need to walk around this city for a little while to realize that things have definitely changed. All the fun stuff is closed and we are just going to supermarkets at this point and then meeting people on your own rooftops for some drinks.


181998157_297769571827938_4361313011516808568_n.jpg

My rooftop isn't the best, but at least you can see the ocean (kinda) from up here. I also get to see the rooftop pool on the place next door to mine and stare at it with jealous eyes.


181140109_1281434528920374_5498206276790368368_n.jpg
If your eyes are good you can see the giant ferris wheel in the distance

Da Nang doesn't have the loveliest architecture in the world as almost everything is a cement rectangle of sorts, including my building. But hey! At least it is cheap, right? I think that all of us in the expat community here can agree on that.


182960969_149655697128777_5656580114451172025_n.jpg

The rooftop hangout areas are all a real nice addition to the building but honestly, I kind of take them for granted until we are basically forced to use them. I haven't been up here in a month and that was because someone else was having a party.

The reason we are all hanging out up here again is because it is basically the only place you can hang out legally at the moment and this is because some new virus cases were found just a few blocks away from here.


182714450_482713242784334_7777036711291866462_n.jpg

This one street corner is totally blocked off and the people inside those taped off areas are not supposed to leave - there are guards there 24hours a day to make sure they don't. We are not supposed to go in there either. I feel bad for the people that are in those buildings and I know one of them. I at the moment am restricted in the stuff I can do, but at least I can get off my block and go shopping or just go for a walk.

At the moment I do not know what is going on or how this is being handled. I just take it day by day and look forward to the evening rooftop sessions - the rest of the time I basically just stay indoors and I can't really blame that on Covid all that much. I'm just a lazy bastard and this doesn't really bother me that much.

Sort:  

Fortunately you're "a lazy bastard"... That helps in the long run for situations like this😎 Now you have the perfect excuse to do next to nothing all day long, with a smile on your face.

 3 years ago  

I've been working on this lazy attribute for over 20 years. Finally get to put it to good use!

 3 years ago  

Thanks @angryman for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Well, we are the same situation. This time, they don't strictly lockdown, I still see people having fun with cycling along the beach, still able to go and buy food to take away... I spend a lot of time on our rooftop too, great place to enjoy the sunset and planting herbs and vegetables ;)))

 3 years ago  

Yeah i have been going on walks every day and cycling a bit. I was thinking of heading up the Son Tra pass and seeing if those beach beverage places past Lady Buddha are open. I don't know if the lockdowns have extended that far.

People told me that we can come up there but not allow to the beach... let's try 😅 I cycle until Madame Hanh only, my bike is not good to ride up, will take scooter tomorrow.

 3 years ago  

I tried to go up there yesterday and there was a roadblock. We are meant to be getting news about if the lockdown is over or not on Tuesday.... fingers crossed!

 3 years ago  

Thanks @babeltrips for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

As far as I know we don't really have rooftop condo type things here in Chiang Mai, I am sure they exist but most people just hang at their houses. It is funny because before this recent lockdown, I didn't even know where most of my friends live, now we are all getting together here and there on a regular basis. It's kind of nice actually and also a great deal cheaper than the pubs are!

 3 years ago  

This is the first place that I have lived where the rooftop is a major attribute that people look for when choosing a place to live. It's pretty nice if the owner actually cares and looks after it. Ours is just ok, but nothing special and it is waaaaaay too hot to be up there in the daytime unfortunately.

 3 years ago  

Thanks @jack.russelle for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 35

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

I'm in the same situation, although I have heard if you ride just 20 minutes in any direction to another city outside of Da Nang that there is no lockdown at all. I don't know if this is true or not, it is just what i have heard.

 3 years ago  

Oh really? I thought it was nation-wide. I really don't put much emphasis on staying informed about these sorts of things though. Maybe it is time for a mini-road trip!

 3 years ago  

Thanks @gooddream for being engaged in the ASEAN Hive Community. !ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

 3 years ago  

That would suck to be restricted to a street or block, but I guess in the scheme of things Vietnam has managed the situation much better than hundreds of other countries.

 3 years ago  

That's what they keep telling us but I often wonder if they are just lying to the public. Even if that is the case I do enjoy the much higher level of freedom that we have had here over the past year, that's for sure.

 3 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.
Don't forget to check out our newest and most fun weekly challenge.

ASEAN Hive Community's 🤣 Engrish Challenge Week #2 🙌 Celebrating English Language Failures

ʟᴏᴛs ᴏғ ғᴜɴ - ᴏᴘᴇɴ ᴛᴏ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ - ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴘʀɪᴢᴇs
444.png
150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ