Nadi (my dog) needs a haircut badly

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY11 months ago

These are the musings of a person with a relatively boring life but you need to understand that I do not have a problem with a routine existence. I always just try to make sure that booze doesn't become too much of my overall existence and get a bit of exercise mixed in. Other than that I am completely OK with the same things happening day in and day out. I guess it is because I am older and just meeting with the same people all the time and rarely venturing out of my own neighborhood doesn't really bother me a great deal.


image.png

Anyway, back to the headlines: The groomers that I kind of trusted here in Da Nang went out of business for reasons I don't understand. They were always busy and it was sometimes damn near impossible to get an appointment. I don't know how someone that busy can go out of business but they did. I don't know about any other groomers that speak English and I don't want to have to do the transaction through a translation app. I also don't know of any other groomers around here that do this sort of thing. I always have a great fear when I drop her off somewhere new because she is my life for the most part, and it always makes me worry a bit that the groomers might be a bit mean to her or even hit her - which of course if I ever witnessed that I would fly into a rage the likes of which no groomer would ever want to see.


image.png

When this first happened I was cutting her hair myself and I guess I was doing a decent job of it. The problem is that I only have the el cheapo clippers because they were the only ones that the shops were selling. I also don't have a damn clue what I am doing and this makes the process take multiple days. At a real groomers they have a sort of table that forces the dog to stay in a certain position but at my house all I have is a floor and my own voice saying "stay!"


image.png
src
Something like this would do the trick, but i'm not spending $200 on something like that

After trying multiple times to cut Nadi's hair myself I have a newfound tremendous amount of respect for people in the dog grooming industry because I don't have any idea how they can possibly bathe, do haircuts, and clip the nails of a dog in just 90 minutes or so. It's truly a gift and I give mad props to the people that do it.


image.png

That's quite an old photo, but that is the sort of result that we could expect from the groomers and they do a very good job. It also costs peanuts over here, something like $8 for full service treatment. Obviously Nadi absolutely hates going to the groomers but this is part and parcel of having a non shedding dog. They have to get regular haircuts just like a person. I will take this inconvenience over having a shedding dog that never needs a haircut. Those shedding breeds make an absolute mess of your house and it doesn't seem to matter how much you brush them, they just keep on shedding more and more. This was the case with a labrador and a golden retriever that I have had in the past.

So i would imagine that I am just going to have to take a chance on one of the other groomers nearby if I can find one because it takes me multiple days to cut Nadi's hair and since she immediately jumps up and does the "doggy shake" when I turn off the clippers, it also makes a massive hair mess in my rather small condo.

1st world problems, I know.

Sort:  

https://leofinance.io/threads/view/thetimetravelerz/re-leothreads-nkw4hrri
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thetimetravelerz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 11 months ago  

So pretty dog. I guess this is a Shi Tzu. You know this is my favorite pet my friend. But I cannot just have this at home because of asthma but I love to play with it since this dog has a good temperament and indeed so friendly. Best regards to your amazing dog and have a great day!

 11 months ago  

If you see a dog in public can you pet them for a little while or does the asthma react badly really fast?

 11 months ago  

Yes, I can pet them for a while my friend. It only happened when I am staying for long. I really love Shi Tzu, both male and female. I also have a friend, he used to join the Dog Fashion Shows and it won.

 11 months ago  

haha, dog fashion show sounds exciting. My doggo really hates it when I put clothes on her so I only do it every now and then for a joke. It is too hot here to be putting clothes on dogs anyway. They have fur coats built in already :)

Pretty cute dog. I strong believe she will be anticipating the new hair

 11 months ago  

She hates the doggy salon, but she needs it badly so she'll just have to suffer a bit for 2 hours!

Your dog looks so cute. When the hair is too long, the person does not look good at all. When the hair is short or not so big at all, all humans and animals look beautiful.

 11 months ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Spending the money on proper clippers definitely makes a huge difference. I shave my head once a week and I have bought the cheap clippers before and they are horrible. My most recent set cost close to $100 but they are going to last a long long time. They are the Wahl professional line. We just took Jo to the vet yesterday to get her ears checked. She had an infection and that is all cleared up now. We also have a lady that comes right to our house now to trim her nails. It's $15 which I know is outrageous, but it is still less than we pay at the vet and we don't have to put her through the trauma of the car ride!

 11 months ago  

I can never bring myself to cut her nails. I have tried in the past and my ex-girlfriend who is now a dog groomer, would do it. I'm afraid I just don't have the courage to potentially hurt my dog if I cut too far!

I suspected the good trimmers would be expensive and as someone that used to cut his own hair I know what you are saying about how the chap ones are just trash.

The salon costs so little here though that it doesn't make much sense to spend a year's worth of what it would cost to have someone else do it on equipment for cutting her hair myself.

We feel the same way about her nails. Although last time the lady came she hit the quick and Jovi was bleeding all over anyway...

Where you live with the extreme heat grooming your dog is a must do. I know mine is getting her winter coat now and can only imagine how hot it must be as our winters are not exactly cold.

 11 months ago  

For sure. Our walks, unless they take place at night, have to be very short because she gets really hot really fast. I see some people are still putting outfits on their dogs even in this heat and I just feel bad for the dogs. Do people do that silly crap in SA?

Oh my, this dog looks so cute. For sure she'll be happy after her haircut. ☺️

 11 months ago  

I'll tell her you said that, she'll have no idea what I am talking about but she'll enjoy the treat I give her afterwards.

 11 months ago  

I think it's important that any Viet groomer which could potentially service Nadi at least understand English well enough to know the word "ridiculous," because that's what Nadi is. May the force be with you Nadi, and hopefully you don't turn into a mop before it's too late.