Wednesday Walk

It must've been at least 5 months since I lasts went to one of my favourite street side wet market. I was looking forward to seeing my favourite fruit, vegetable & meat sellers. Boy ! Was I surprised to see that none of them were operating. Instead, the streets was empty and only those with an actual shop was opened.

IMG_3657.JPG

This entire street used to be filled with local vendors selling their produce. They would've displayed all their produce on the streets and people would stop their motorbikes just outside and make their order. None of the motorcyclist need to park as these vendors would be happy to bring their orders to them. That's how convenient buying groceries are those days.

IMG_20210320_084102.jpg

This is what it used to be prior to the lock down which we had encountered 4 months ago. Everyone enjoying their day out on a weekend morning. I had always thought not much would change at least for the typical lifestyle but I was indeed very wrong. Many told me that it could be due to many of these sellers opt to go back to their hometown because it was so much more safer and less restrictive.

IMG_3656.JPG

I do hope that the normal would be back or at least for these sellers. This is indeed one of the attraction in this country. Streetside selling is a MUST everywhere and one can truly get the best deal not to mention definitely more fresh!

Anyhow, I'm moving out from my current home soon and will have to get acquainted with the new surrounding. Not sure if I can find a similar local streetwise market like these or if they are still operational. I know I can always go to the supermarket to do my groceries but what's the fun in it! Being at these streetside markets gives me a chance to polish up my Vietnamese and see many local delicacies.

Let's look out till I move and I'll explore my new home :)

Black White Women's Fashion Facebook Cover.png

Blue Dynamic Fitness Youtube Thumbnail.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

People look like enjoying shopping at the street vendors.

oh yes they do. me included
so much better than doing shopping in a supermarket

So sad to see the streets deserted like that I feel for all the vendors

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Yes, actually I do feel for these street vendors. This is their way of life and now it's all gone.
I miss seeing my favourite vendors

 2 years ago  

Sad your former sellers are no longer operating, the pandemic has been hard on people like this. Glad to see you are out about now, I was worried something had happened because you didn't respond to any of the comments on your previous ASEAN Hive post.

Good to know you're doing well, and wish you good luck at the new space.

I'm good, just been busy with work and keeping myself sane with the endless work from home.
Even now that I'm able to go out, I try to stay away from overly crowded places

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ