A Little Local Food Shop | Northern Philippines

We were about to head home but our bellies began to grumble. I thought it was the gray skies. Oh, well. A little snack on the way might be a good idea to ease the pain of our bellies.

Along the way, we saw this local food souvenir shop. Actually, since I was a kid, this shop is already established but never got the chance to actually see it.

SNOW_20220917_225259_141.jpg

Facade

The Sister's Pugod Baked is located on the highway before Vigan in Ilocos Sur, Philippines. Their best products are a wide range of pasalubongs (souvenirs) such as bibingka, ensaymada, and other Ilokano delicacies. Their price is actually appropriate for the products.

SNOW_20220917_225344_610.jpg

On the facade of the shop, you can see their logo on the top. It is already considered an iconic one because they have been serving the Ilokanos for decades now. They have benches for customers too which is a nice gesture.

Racks of Local Goods

SNOW_20220917_225454_013.jpg

As I entered the shop, I noticed the racks full of pasalubongs. At the top were just commercialized cup noodles. Probably for people who want to have a quick lunch or snack. They have pilipit, piyaya and biscocho. Basically are just pieces of bread and crackers. On the third level, what is special is the chichapop and chicharron. Chichapop is made of corn while chicharron is deep-fried pig skin. Best to eat when traveling. The price for the chichapop is $0.80 per pack. On the last level are condiments such as Ilokanong suka (Ilokano vinegars).

SNOW_20220917_225510_246.jpg

On the next rack are mushroom chips for $2.80, again corn snacks. All corn snacks are made locally in Vigan City.

SNOW_20220917_225525_971.jpg

On the side corner is the long table for the cashier. I saw this interesting bamboo tied up delicacy. This delicacy is called tinubong. The rice is cased in bamboo and covered on the edge with aluminum foil. Not sure but this is how they cook the delicacy using the bamboo. On the sides are yema, a sweet custard candy made with milk, sugar, and yolks of eggs. I actually ate this while on the road to not make me dizzy.

Coffee for Travelers!

SNOW_20220917_225542_261.jpg

Just $0.50 per cup is not bad to make you awake on the road. It comes with creamer and sugar already.

SNOW_20220917_225610_665.jpg

Their menu is a bit faded probably because of the physical elements. You can see the prices were on printed white paper probably prices change from time to time due to inflation and the cost of ingredients. Here you can see their famous delicacies in red boxes. Chocodufge brownies, pineapple pice, malunggay cake, and saluyot cake were not available.

Time To Check out!

SNOW_20220917_225625_659.jpg

We did not get any of the delicacies. Instead, we just got some refreshments and bucheron (chicken skin snack). The sun is freaking scorching! I got myself a calamansi juice (lime). Our total bill was around $10.

We sat outside to feel the breeze and overlook the highway. Ahh~ the calamansi juice's zesty taste just refreshed me. I love the combination of the tangy and sweetness of the drink. Usually, I drink this when I am sick and it somehow soothes me. We ate the bucheron together in delight.

SNOW_20220917_225409_596.jpg

We also got a company, a four-legged beauty! They were waiting for us to toss some food. Hehe~

We finished eating our food and said goodbye to the kitties! Ahh~ It was a nice feeling to see a shop like this. I wish that this will not be the last one.


That is it for this article. I will see you at the next one!
📸 All photos are owned and taken by me, otherwise credited. ©️jijisaurart

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Whaoh!just all of those for 10? Well, mahal nga naman ang mga gift shops sis

Yeah, we bought two bucheron for $2.80 each, and the drinks were kinda pricey since it is for tourists probably.

 2 years ago  

yeah that's how it is probably.

Ang mura naman ng cooffee dyan Ji haha

Yeah, it is cheap but confusing haha. I don't know if $0.50 is brewed or the 3in1 coffee. 😊

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @jijisaurart! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 8000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.
You got more than 1000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest
HiveFest⁷ - Participate in the Balls of Steel tournament and get a new badge
New badge - LEO Power Up Day - September 15, 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yonng Piyaya at biscocho huehue gusto ko nommmm tagalcna huling kain ko nyaan. Kakamiss huehue. Ang saya naman sana pahagis nyang mga yan here hahaha.

Kung pwede lang Ruff Ruff kanina pa ako nagpaulan ng piyaya hehe!

Jiji the explorer.

Hmm mushroom chips, that's the future business I will Venture hehe. Soon comes the time my products will travels too near your place haha.

Oh, I am not really an explore haha! We just got hungry on the road. Might as well blog it, right? Hey, let's claim it! You will have a mushroom business soon!

I want to try that bamboo thing ;;-;; I also want to try... Everything in that shop 😂 I don't see enough delicacy shops here in manilaaa

Tell me what do you want to try, hehehe! If you want delicacies, try the Binondo area. There are a lot of delicacy shops there.

Ahh the Chinese ones in China town :"( I haven't been back there in months
Maybe I'll ask my Bebe to go with me when he isn't too busy with band

How I wish all have bebe. I only have a bibe haha!

But why not be my Bebe girrrlll 😉😉🤣
Okno I'm kidding


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I got curious on the Tinubong sis, it must be delicious :)

!LUV

Love the bamboo called tinubong.. I'm curious at how it taste like

I miss you, that's all. 🥲

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment