1980s Kentuckiana Time Capsule 🔮 Classic Cars, Perms, & More!

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

333.JPG

Greetings Hivers, I want to share with you all a place near my boyhood dome that is full of interesting things, and it hasn't changed since the 1980s.

It's Freezing 🥶

111.JPG

     Most of my loyal readers know that I'm now separated from the family and in Indiana, USA, and I should add freezing cold to that. Apparently yesterday was the warmest in a long time, but I didn't notice, I can't even be outdoors for more than 10 minutes before I can't feel my fingers. I toughed through it long enough to visit some old highschool friends and catch up on old times.

To The Time Capsule 🚀...

222.JPG

444.JPG

     I'm about to show you all some really cool old cars, but before we dig into that, I want to share with you a Kentuckiana legend that was posted on the wall at the time capsule. I'll smash the upvote button for anyone who can name this celebrity in the comments below. This guy used to do local car commercials before he was a big celebrity, but my Dad was a coal miner at the time, not a used car salesman like he is now, otherwise they might've worked together.

333.JPG

     Here is another site on the wall that caught my eye. The most famous people to come from close to the area where I grew up are Larry Bird, Bill Monroe, Orville Redenbacher, Colonel Sanders, and the guy above who I will not name. Larry Bird has actually visited this place, but it was many years ago. The place I am referring to as a time capsule is a pole barn that belongs to the stepdad of one of my childhood friends.

A Few More Teasers First 🎰

555.JPG

666.JPG

777.JPG

888.JPG

999.JPG

     We like to visit this barn because our my friend's stepdad stopped maintaining and updating this barn during the mid 1980s, and since then it has become a bit of a snapshot in time, from the carpet to the walls, posters, and just about anything you look at. I grew up in a house with brown carpet, brown couch, brown walls, brown everything just like this interior.

1111.JPG

1112.JPG

     This barn has living quarters, but we both contemplated, and guess that is must be at least 20 to 30 years since anyone has slept a night on the above bed, which kind of gives the place a creepy feeling for some reason. The alarm clock caught my eye too, I miss the days of analog clocks and oil lamps.

Hey 80s Ladies 👀

1113.JPG

1115.JPG

1116.JPG

1117.JPG

     The place is full of post of 80's sexy lady posters, half of them NSFW, but still tasteful, the most up-to-date one I could find was 1986. I can still remember when gigantic hair held firm with a half can of Aqua Net hairspray was very alluring. Sadly, most of these ladies were walking fire hazards.

1118.JPG

     The above shot caught my eye, the fish, the bikini poster, the framed Ferrari print. This was the epitome of Kentuckiana redneck rich in the 1980s. I can remember coming to this place in highschool and thinking there were probably only a handful of people in the USA richer than my friend's stepdad. Obviously I didn't see many things outside my farmtown until after highschool.

Redneck Treasures 🦕

2222.JPG

2223.JPG

     The glass cases full of plastic dinosaurs and vintage sports posters had me feeling very nostalgic. Part of me wanted to watch a Betamax movie on the old TV, but the couch was probably so full of dust it would've been hardly fun.

3333.JPG

     When I was a kid I always my own slot-track racing set, little did I know my friend's stepdad was hiding an unopened box all these years.

4444.JPG

     There is a pool table at the place too, hardly level but still fun to waste an hour on. The pool table and cues haven't had any TLC since the 1980s, so you can imagine the condition of both.

Vroom Vroom 🏎️

5555.JPG

     Here are the shots that will be the highlight for most people, the car collection. I'm not big into muscle cars or super cars, so I can't comment a whole lot on the collection, I used to be more into weird obscure cars like Lada Nivas and Land Rovers. I can say these cars are hardly ever driven, and many have likely fallen into disrepair.

6666.JPG

     And by now I should mention I am a white guy posting about American stuff from the USA without my Khmer family, so there is absolutely no Southeast Asian element to this post, but the ASEAN Community is my home on Hive, so I hope you all will allow me to break my own rules from time to time.

7777.JPG

     I am most attracted to the old boats, cars whose length seems to defy physics. My stepdad once had a yellow car very similar to the one in the above photo.

8888.JPG

     This newer-ish car was some kind of special "Hot Wheels" edition, and I guess that was the reason for buying it and adding it to the collection.

9999.JPG

     This car is an Oldsmobile 440, a fast car for its time, but this is not the original paint. It is an impressive restoration though.

111111.JPG

     Not even sure what this car is in the above, looks a bit like an old Pontiac, but not 100% sure. Perhaps a muscle car enthusiast will correct me in the comments.

22222.JPG

     The GTO was a classic sportscar that existed on and off til' Pontiac shuttered in 2010. I really love the chrome on older cars, it's seemingly been replaced by plastic on most modern cars.

33333.JPG

     Most people have at least heard the name "Ferrari," and I can't say I can identify different models, I just know they are expensive and fast, and break down a lot. I didn't let that stop me from sitting inside though.

99999.JPG

1.JPG

5.JPG

IMG_0755.JPG

IMG_0757.JPG

     I made sure my friend took a few shots with his camera to prove I was actually there. I was beginning to think there was no good Hive content to share with you all, guess I was wrong.

3.JPG

IMG_4763.JPG

     The above shot shows some scale, the guy's car collection is pretty impressive, but the lighting is horrible and everything is crowded, so I didn't try to get artsy with my photos, and instead focused on trying to avoid glare.

IMG_4764.JPG

     Well, that's it for now folks. In other news, I just recently paid a successful bribe for a visa sponsorship to Cambodia, so I'm waiting to hear the results at the moment. Once I have it, I'll email it to the Cambodian Embassy in Washington DC and hope for the best. To be continued...

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters
Sort:  

ernest p worrell!

 2 years ago  

Ding, Ding, Ding!!!! You got it! Well, actually I was looking for Jim Varney, his real name, but I'll accept an Ernest P. Worrell for sure. His local commercials are hard to find on YouTube, but he used to Audobon Chrysler more than anything, and I remember some food, drink, and fast-food commercials too. I think these commercials is where he perfected the "Ernest" character.

yes, jim varney of course! he even played the dad in beverly hillbillies the movie

 2 years ago (edited) 

I forgot about that one, I guess that might've been his most mainstream role ever.

so...i read his wiki entry and i now know his life story.

he actually had a more mainstream role than that one. .. he's the slinky dog in the first two toy story movies!

also, apparently those old Ernest commercials were"franchises" and he did dozens all over the country through an ad agency!

also, add "Ernest goes to Africa" to your watch list. ..i know it's on mine!

 2 years ago  

His life was pretty incredible. I read somewhere he smoked a minimum of 2 packs of cigarettes a day. I guess that's where the iconic voice came from.

Now you mention analog clock; I was supposed to buy batteries for mine and forgot 🤦‍♀😅. I appreciate the analog clocks also, especially in a space.

My parents also used to have wooden cabinets in their kitchen; it really darkened the space. I love hard wooden furniture, but not sure for cabinets now.

I almost want to comment on everything you've seen hahahahaa... The dinosaur collection, the hairspray of the eighties, etc. haha

Oh well, what are the plans with the car collection by the way? Are they planning to make it a museum? Tine stood still indeed...

 2 years ago  

I think the car collection is just a sight of satisfaction for someone with money to burn. For me, I'd have a garage full of Piaggio Apes, and I'd invite all my friends to go on cross-country tuk-tuk adventures.

...and I'd invite all my friends to go on cross-country tuk-tuk adventures.

That sounds like fun. Hope you'll earn enough (crypto) so you could invest in those and make a business out of it 💪.

I think the car collection is just a sight of satisfaction for someone with money to burn.

I get the hobby of it and "investing" into accumulating a collection, but I would also make it into something that would bring in money 😅.

 2 years ago  

Wow .. such a lovely place. The collection of muscle cars is really impressive. All in its original condition. How cold is it at the moment? It is raining a lot in Sarawak at the moment. So the weather is slightly colder than normal.

A lot of famous people live in this area... Woo especially the legend himself, Colonel Sanders.. those delicious fried chicken. So what do everyone do during these cold times?

Great to hear that you finally somehow got the visa.. I enjoyed looking at all the pictures... High quality. A glimpse of what life is in the USA.

 2 years ago  

I don't know the temps, not anywhere close to freezing, but it sure feels like it to me. I think most people eat a lot of fattening foods and hibernate like bears this time of the year. I have got the visa invitation letter on its way now, won't guarantee me a visa, but gonna send it off to the Cambodian Embassy as soon as I get it, with high hopes of course.

Redneck-rich in Kentuckiana is like California poor 😁.

 2 years ago  

OOO.. Cold is something hard for me to handle but it's great to experience once in a while. I guess, everyone gets quite hungry when temperatures start to drop.

Hope is pretty important. It means that the goal is nearer..

California is a really rich state from what I am interpreting... Is it easy for Kentuckiana's to migrate to California and is there a culture difference.

 2 years ago  

It would take so many thousands of dollars to move to a place like that, and we'd have to thousands more to survive until we found work. Also, even those who are redneck rich and get university degrees find that those degrees aren't as valued as one from the coasts. I think you'd need at least $10,000 to move to California from Kentucky, and you could survive three months without work before you'd be broke. I can save $500 a year working in Kentuckiana, so it's not a realistic opportunity. However, I did work three years, bought a $1,000 one-way ticket to Cambodian and arrived with $500 in my pocket, a much smarter roll of life's dice.

@mehmetfix might see that you said "delicious chicken" here! 😏 He will definitely comment here about the chicken! 😆😅

Here's a !PIZZA on behalf of @savvyplayer for the PIZZA lover! 😁

 2 years ago  

Just look at all these vintage collection could takes me more than hour. Some more you can get close to it, the more I'll spend my time with them. Gosh look at it, by the market value today all those could sell for more than ever. Especially America muscle 😏 man those n/a sounds from Ferrari sure is a good song to hear 🚗

 2 years ago  

It is very impressive, and even though the owner has let everything else deteriorate with time, he has kept all the cars dust-free and in working order, well most of them I think. I am sure most of them are worth more now than when they were purchased new, especially the really old ones.

 2 years ago  

Yes sir it is indeed really impressive. Just look at the amount of it, the time and efforts taking care and maintaining it. I must says is not an easy job. His passion towards them, really 👍🏻👍🏻

 2 years ago  

The passion is still there, but I think this guy doesn't love cars as much as he used to.

 2 years ago  

Doesn't love anymore? That's kinda sad to see that 🥲

I knew I'd find you again... I'd lost you for a while. My daughters joined. @bitsofwisdom and @bigbrainproblems Now that I found your account again, I'll ask my girls to go check out your kids' accounts. I used them as inspiration to get on to Hive in the first place.

 2 years ago  

I'll be sure to check them out and let my daughters know. They are in Cambodia now, me in the USA, but we're trying to reunite as soon as possible. I am honored to think I've given anyone on this platform inspiration, thanks my friend.

Hoping you get united as soon as possible!

 2 years ago  

Give thanks 🙏.

 2 years ago  

First I don't know whose that guy your talking off. I'm a 90's baby that's why I don't have any idea who he is. And for the oldies cars for me it's cool. And lastly think positive about the result your waiting for. Have a good day and keep safe always.

Ernest was still at it in the 90s. this movie was watched by pretty much every kid in the 90s, "Ernest Scared Stupid"

 2 years ago  

Ernest was more of what we call a "B" celebrity, meaning he wasn't in high-budget Hollywood movies, so many Americans don't even know who he is/was. I don't think he ever reached an international market, other than maybe Canada I guess.

 2 years ago  

Ahhh, I see. It's indeed I dont know who he was.

 2 years ago  

This guy used to do local car commercials before he was a big celebrity,

Ernest!! I watch one of his movie in VCR but can't remember which one.

I can still remember when gigantic hair held firm with a half can of Aqua Net hairspray was very alluring

Hahaha, yes, the bigger the hair, the sexier they are.

The above shot shows some scale, the guy's car collection is pretty impressive

That is a lot of cars collection. I do not know much about car. But if there is a motorbike collection, please do share here 😁

 2 years ago  

There were so many good Ernest flicks, but I think "Ernest Goes to Jail" was my favorite. I'm also more into motorcycles, so I took that one picture of me on the only bike there. If I had an auto collection, it would be all Vespas, Lambrettas, and Piaggio Apes.

 2 years ago  

I just recently paid a successful bribe for a visa sponsorship to Cambodia.

After I was amazed by the old car stories, I was stuck the end of your paragraph. "Bribe" that is the Asean stereotype to finish unsolved problems. Before you go to Cambodia, Please I want to know more America not like in Holywood movie.

 2 years ago  

I promise to show you some more real "Merica content soon. I went to a school basketball game the other day, something that I think is very stereotypical.

When I was a kid I always my own slot-track racing set, little did I know my friend's stepdad was hiding an unopened box all these years.

I used to own a racing set like that, in the late 80s / early 90s. I spent so many hours having fun with it. Boas memorias!

Glad to hear about the visa bribe. I am crossing my fingers for you.

 2 years ago  

My brother got a slot track racing set, but it was long after they were cool and I was more into Nintendo games. I am now in visa pre-screening, if I win, I'll be granted permission to send mail to the Cambodian Embassy in D.C.. It is a strange new world, and it feels more closed than ever, but people are talking about anything but this.

 2 years ago  

I'm trying to catch up after missing for a week. Allow me to jump the gun, but the Ferrari open hood has always makes me wanna shout, who stole the god damn engine 🤣

 2 years ago  

No worries my friend, I know you are a busy man and father. I can't imagine how loud the interior of a Ferrari must be with a massive engine sitting right next to your ears. I am only imagining, I've never personally experienced it.

That looks like a proper time capsule!

Someone is definitely maintaining all the cars, because the tires look good, and the cars are spotless.

 2 years ago  

I think because my friend's stepdad is getting older, he's spent less and less time at this barn, no longer than man cave it once was. He does at least seem to keep the cars dust-free and the batteries on a trickle-charge, and I assume he starts the engines once in a while.

 2 years ago  

I can't comment on anything my friend, because my idol is no longer present in your post, I can only wish you a happy day buddy,

 2 years ago  

Harry is not completely gone, I have one more post coming of our last day together. I just haven't had time to edit the video yet.

 2 years ago  

this is what i've been waiting for,

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1405.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

 2 years ago  

Thank, well I am honored to be honorably mentioned.

Este si es una buena coleccion de autos me encanto saludos amigo !ESPIZZA !BEER

Conecta

Comercio


¡@justinparke! Te he enviado un trozo de $PIZZA de parte de @zonadigital21.

Más información sobre la ficha de $PIZZA at hive.pizza (4/8)

 2 years ago  

I could spend hours just looking at that collection, almost like a museum.

 2 years ago  

The cars you mentioned are very nice and very cool

 2 years ago  

It is not my style, but I think these things are an investment just like crypto.

So cool! Is that a ford mustang? I love the ferrari though

 2 years ago  

I think one Ford Mustang, the newer car. Two Ferraris, both remind me of the TV show "Miami Vice."

Man that Ferrari suits you!! Miami Vice Style :)

 2 years ago  

I need to go back and do more pictures while wearing white pants.

Wow vintage car beautiful

 2 years ago  

They are all amazing, but I can't believe he doesn't have at least one German or Japanese car.

ME gusto el auto rojo esta cool

@, ¡lo siento! Necesitas más $PIZZA para usar este comando.

El requisito mínimo es 20.0 PIZZA líquido, y 20.0 PIZZA estacado.

Más $PIZZA está disponible en Hive-Engine o Tribaldex

Sorry, you don't have enough staked BEER in your account. You need 24 BEER in your virtual fridge to give some of your BEER to others. To view or trade BEER go to hive-engine.com

 2 years ago  

The Ferraris are so iconic aren't they.

Wow... that's nice.

 2 years ago  

🤙

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@savvytester(5/8) tipped @luueetang (x1)
zonadigital21 tipped justinparke (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @justinparke! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 12000 comments.
Your next target is to reach 13000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

The Hive Gamification Proposal for 2022
Saint-Nicholas challenge for well-behaved girls and boys
Feedback from the December 1st Hive Power Up Day
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

So cool aren't they.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment
 2 years ago  

🙏