Testing Out Our New Family Games 👨‍🔬 "Qwixx🎲" & "Taco🌮Cat🐱Goat🐐Cheese🧀Pizza🍕"

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

11.JPG

Before I could finish this post, we were hit with a 20-hour power outage which brought an abrupt end to gameplay before a winner was declared.

First Let's Check In With Harry 🐑

77.JPG

     Apparently Harry has learned how to open the gate by himself, because I found him pushing the ball around our porch this morning. By the time I got dressed and went outside to greet him, the football spirit had already left him and he was in chill and hide from the parents mode.

Taco🌮Cat🐱Goat🐐Cheese🧀Pizza🍕

55.JPG
66.JPG

     I made it a point on this day to tear into of the games sent to us from the USA, so I explored both to see which one was going to the simplest and fastest to learn. After reading the rules of this, I decided I wasn't exactly in the mood for fast reaction, shouting out words, and slapping cards. This game does seem like it will be fun when we are well-rested and in better spirits.

22.JPG

     Before I put this game away, I pulled out the cards to take a look. They are quite colorful, and the illustrations are cute, so I'm sure when the time comes this will be a blast for the @kidsisters.

Qwixx 🎲

33.JPG

     As soon as I noticed Qwixx was a dice game, I immediately thought it was going to be faster and easier to learn. I determined one trial game would be enough to remember the rules and get used to gameplay.

44.JPG

     Ultimately each player rolls the dice, and gets a chance to add together two numbers and ❌ off numbers from their list left to right. There many more nuanced rules that determine how and when to do this, but it was simple enough that after we each rolled the dice 5 times, everybody but Monkey-B had a clear understanding.

88.JPG

     Dice don't mix well with tile floors, and the first roll sent the dice on a never-ending tumble, scattering throughout the house. With a Monopoly box lid, rolling the dice became more manageable.

99.JPG

     Srey-Yuu took an early lead, and her face shows the satisfaction she was feeling as she gave the dice some lucky wind, coating the dice in what was surely a massive dose of COVID-19 particles. Meanwhile, Monkey-B photobombs from behind with great disgust.

No Water, No Electricity, Let's Have Old-School Fun 📻

10.JPG

     It would appear Srey-Yuu's luck wasn't destined to last long, because a few minutes after I took that picture, our water ran dry and the electricity went out. Not knowing how long we would be without power, we chose to conserve our phone batteries by not using the lights to continue gameplay.

222.JPG

     We went out to the porch with the bluetooth speaker and listened to two podcast episodes of "Grimm, Grimmer, Grimmest," the girls' favorite audio program. Just as we were enjoying the peace and quiet that comes with a power outage, it began to feel like Cambodia for just a moment, then the generators begin kicking on all over the neighborhood, and listening to the podcast became almost impossible.

     We sat in total darkness and deafening generator sounds for a few hours while the neighborhood went to sleep. We sent the kids to bed when their room was cool enough to attempt sleeping, and I spent the rest of the night laying on my bed sweating, thirsty, and dreaming of our return to Cambodia.

     At 5:00am, without a minute of sleep, I got out of bed to find we still had no water and electricity . After almost a full day, the power is back on, but we are still without water, and the markets still have partially rotten vegetables, and we are nearly out of propane. More hardship is still to come before we are out of here, but when you have no choice, it's pretty easy to roll with punches.

jp.png
CLICK HERE TO JOIN HIVE AND START EARNING CRYPTO LIKE US

Dad
@JustinParke
Mom
@SreyPov
🙏 GIVE THANKS 🙏
Srey-Yuu
@KidSisters
Monkey B
@KidSisters
Sort:  

Wow you guys are just having one thing after the other. I hope you get out of there before all breaks loose. Suriname sounds like some creepy place you see in the movies where you meet weird people and strange things happen.

But at least there's Harry.

 2 years ago  

Living here has felt like a mix of Groundhog Day and Stephen King's The Stand. Ir certainly has been a weird experience, and Cambodia is a weird place too, but the kind of weird that intrigues you and grabs your curiosity, making you want to understand everything around you.

Suriname is the kind of weird that makes you want to leave after a week, never come back, and do your best to forget the experience.

 2 years ago  

coating the dice in what was surely a massive of COVID-19 particles.

I laughed at this...

Blackouts are not very pleasing but you guys made it fun with that game! I am not familiar with that though. I guess the only dice game I ever played was the snake and ladder... haha

 2 years ago  

I realized I left the word "dose" out when I wrote that 😁. I remember Snakes and Ladders, although it was interpreted in the USA as Chutes and Ladders. I guess they felt snake imagery wasn't appropriate for fragile American children.

 2 years ago  

I haven't tried that game ever since. That was a fun play game with family.
That's sad having power outage.
I remember my childhood, when there brown out we go out and had fun chitchats or games with my other kids especially when full moon. Then, when the light is back, we all shouted, yehey Light na light na! 😁😁

 2 years ago  

Things have changed a bit since we were kids. I remember using candles to try and make up ghost stories, because of course no iPads back then, and well, almost anything with a battery. When the power went out it was candles, books, and card games. The joy of experiencing the electricity return is still as joyous of an experience as it was when I was a kid.

 2 years ago  

That's how simple the happiness of being a kid. 🥰
It is good to reminisce the old days. 🥰

very happy to be able to play with children, I hope your and family are healthy

 2 years ago  

Our game is still unfinished because of the power outage, but we will pick up where we left off this weekend.

woooow that game was my childhood game...of course it takes me to reminisce about the past,it's really nice to be able to play it now with my family,I'm also planning to buy that game back...thank you for sharing.

 2 years ago  

The possibilities with dice are endless, and I am always amazed how every country has their own unique dice games. When I was young it was a game called Yahtzee that was very popular.

 2 years ago  

power outage is not a very nice situation to have. the previous month we had one and it lasted for almost 5 hours. and started at midnight. we had trouble sleeping. my husband and I needs to manually fan our children to sleep :D

 2 years ago  

Oh no, you're in the same boat as us. I once lived in a third floor apartment in Cambodia, and it was always windy. That was the only place I could sleep the night through when a power outage occurred. Our current apartment is basically an oven, and the walls slowly release the heat acquired throughout the day.

can't say i ever heard of that card game...but i did once eat a goat cheese pizza and a cat taco!

 2 years ago  

Cat taco, so you have been to Cambodia 😁. My wife will appreciate that joke, I always told her when we go to the USA (didn't work out) and we're meeting friends, that I will translate for her. But I also told her when my friends introduce their dog that I will tell them my wife says "Your dog looks delicious!" I have a bad sense of humor, we're vegan anyway, all in good fun.

haha yeah I'm vegan as well... but a good joke is a good joke...goat cheese pizza had a better ring to it than goat cheese taco!

I'm not into that type of game thing and also I have no idea what kind of game is that.

20hrs of electricity outages seems insane. Let's just hope you can leave there as soon as possible so there will be no throwing punches. lol

What about Hary? Who will take care of him?

 2 years ago  

It was new to me, I got a headache from reading the rules ten times. Cambodia is on the horizon, we are so excited. Harry is the landlord's lamb, so he will stay here with his owner, but if we had a sailboat we'd toss Harry onboard and sail the seas with him back to Cambodia. I don't think Harry will ever fit in with Suriname sheep, he's just too cultured and wants to meet sheep in other countries one day.

!PIZZA

PIZZA!
PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@lxsxl(1/10) tipped @justinparke (x1)
Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

 2 years ago  Reveal Comment