Praying For Luck In The New Year At A Japanese Shrine

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago

img_7239.heic

During the new year, Japan doesn’t celebrate with fireworks or countdown events like other countries. Most Japanese people go to the mountains to see the first light and some people go to shrines to pray for luck in the new year.

img_7129.heic

Imamiya Ebisu Shrine is a small, peaceful shrine dedicated to the god of business and prosperity, which is one of the seven Gods of good fortune. The annual Toka Ebisu Festival is held at the beginning of the new year for 3 days and 3 nights. But because of the Covid 19 situation, the time was limited this year.

First, I headed to the main shrine to pray and offer money to the god of the shrine. After that I walked to get a sacred bamboo branch and brought it home for luck. There were also beautiful girls selling charms to decorate them. I was not surprised that many people were in line to buy them, lol.

img_7244.heic

img_7241.heic

img_7242.heic

This is my sacred bamboo branch. I hope that I will succeed in business this year and the beyond. It is a belief in Japan that I am adopting.

img_7240.heic

img_0768.png

Thank you for stopping by my post. If you enjoyed reading it, please upvote & follow me for more posts and photos about life in Japan 🇯🇵 and Thailand 🇹🇭

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing a glimpse of your culture! Now I just learned how you celebrate the new year and it's really amazing how diverse the celebrations are 🤗🤗

 2 years ago  

Thank you for stopping by my post.

 2 years ago  

During the new year, Japan doesn’t celebrate with fireworks or countdown events like other countries. Most Japanese people go to the mountains to see the first light and some people go to shrines to pray for luck in the new year.

Wow, seeing the first light.... I've never thought of celebrating new year like that. Sounds much more meaningful.

This is my sacred bamboo branch. I hope that I will succeed in business this year and the beyond

All the best sis 💪🏻💪🏻 with hard work and determination, one day you will succeed

 2 years ago  

Thank you for stopping by my post.

There still a lot of people attending the festivals in spite of the pandemic.
how long do you keep the bamboo branch usually?

 2 years ago  

Before the pandemic of Covid-19, a million people came here. We keep the bamboo branches about a year and return it to the shrine next year.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 2 years ago  Reveal Comment