Wednesday Walk And Make Me Smile: A Walk Around LaLaport

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

I enjoy taking walks in nature. However, as I loved window shopping, I also enjoyed walking in shopping malls. In fact, on days when it rained, I will do my daily exercise in malls instead.

The iconic Pudu Prison in Kuala Lumpur gained notoriety due to the many hangings that took place there. A few years back, this prison was torn down, and now the whole prison has been redeveloped into a mixed development area known as the Bukit Bintang City Centre. As you can guess from the name, this place is located quite near the tourist belt of Bukit Bintang. One of the developments here is the Japanese-themed mall LaLaport which is developed by the Mitsui group of Japan.


[//]:# (!pinmapple 3.127998 lat 101.682870 long Wednesday Walk And Make Me Smile: A Walk Around LaLaport d3scr)

In fact, the formal name of this place is Mitsui Shopping Park LaLaport which is quite a mouthful.


This is the first Lalaport in South East Asia.

Lalaport is strategically located and very easily accessible. You can take the LRT or monorail to this place.

Although this is a Japanese-themed mall, you can still buy Malaysian arts, handicrafts, and products at the Malaysia Grand Bazaar. This is a great idea as tourists will be able to get a wide range of Malaysian products in one place. Unfortunately, only a few shops were open when I visited.



I would describe Nitori as the Ikea of Japan. Here you can find a wide range of furniture and interior decor products.


This is Hojima first store in Malaysia. It sells a wide range of electrical home appliances and digital products. However, you can get furniture and furnishings here as well.


There is even a cat cafe. I did not enter the cafe as I do want to pay the entrance fee.

Pet lovers can come to this pet shop which carries a wide variety products for pets.

I was quite surprised to find a specialty shop that only sells masks. This is a grim reminder that the Covid pandemic is not totally over yet.

As expected there is a number of Japanese F&B outlets here.

Ippudo is a ramen restaurant chain. It has a number of branches in Malaysia including KL Pavillon, One Utama, and even another branch at Queensway Mall, Penang.

If you are not into ramen, you can try the Japanese Stemboat at Sha Bu-Yo.


For me, I opted for the Japanese Matcha ice cream. Some of the flavors are bitter and I am not used to the taste. I still prefer my ice cream to be sweet.

There is also a food court that all types of food including local delicacies.


The mall is actually quite empty. I estimated that only 40% of the stores are open while the balance of 60% is still closed.


I am happy to note that one of the stores that will be opening is one from my State of Sarawak which will be selling our famous Laksa.


Some of the decorations can be found in the mall.

I am saving the best for last. What I loved about this mall is the roof-top garden. The greenery and there is like an oasis in a concrete jungle. I manage to take my walk in nature after all.

______________________________________________

Wednesday Walk And Make Me Smile

As I am still recovering from my slipped disc, walking and swimming are my major forms of exercise. I am glad to stumble upon the Wednesday Walk community. The Wednesday Walk is a challenge started by @tattoodjay to encourage people to go for walks, take some photos and write about it. Now I can combine my two hobbies; walking and writing.

The Make Me Smile challenge is created by @elizacheng and you can post almost anything that puts a smile on others or yourself.

A big thank you to @tattoodjay and @elizacheng for this collaboration.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Follow me and stay positive.

Look me up at You Tube
Please watch my previous videos.
Wednesday Motivation: Short Quotes On Happiness To Help You Bounce Back

Monday Motivation: Short Quotes On Life Goes On To Keep You Going

Tuesday Motivation: Rising Above Our Adversities

Tuesday Motivation: Short Quotes on Living A Life Of Service

Monday Motivation: Short Quotes on Forgiveness To Help You Let Go Of The Past
Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles

Connect with me on Facebook

If you like my writing please up-vote, share and comment. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Hive by re-blogging this post.

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Gorgeous Mall for its age! LaLapot pretty much resembles mall here. So many great looking stores and restaurants. The food court has a good decoration dear, maybe you can review the DUNKIN stall one day since I’ve never seen this brand in Cambodia before.

The DUNKIN is actually a chain of donuts. It is a very beautiful place to go window shopping.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Thank you so much for your support.

There are actually a number of LaLaport malls here in Japan. Good to know they have an international branch.
I have only been to Malaysia once and this seems like not Malaysia at all. It looks like the malls we have here in Japan.
Nice rooftop garden! It's actually a thing now, no? 😅

I am glad that LaLaport opens a branch here in Malaysia. Now we in Malaysia can enjoy the same standards of shopping as in Japan. I have been to Japan twice but did not come across LaLaport there.

Actually I haven't been to LaLaport myself. 😂
It's kinda far from where I live and no opportunity of going.

So which part of Japan are you based in?

I'm live in Tokyo now. Before Tokyo, I lived in Osaka. 😅

 2 years ago  

Your trip this time, was really impressive, and made us smile when we read the contents of your post...

Thank you very much. I had a great time walking around LaLaport.

I see a very beautiful and also very nice place in your post and of course it is very relaxing to enjoy the trip and also take a walk in the afternoon or during the day hopefully one day I can go to Malaysia

I hope that you can come to Malaysia one day, Malaysia welcomes you. Although it is a bit deserted, it is a very nice place to do window shopping.

A year ago I was planning to go there and of course due to the Covid condition I didn't go there even though I also made a passport.

Now that the Covid situation has improved, many visitors have started to come to Malaysia. You can consider coming now.

Yes, of course I thought about visiting there because many people from my area migrated there to work.

There are a lot of job opportunities here.

Too huge mall you Can find anything you want. Happy you are well now

Oh yes, it is a very big mall. When more shops are open, there will be even more products available.

Nice this mall. If I understand correctly it is located in Indonesia

Sorry for the generic reply this week I have some issues limiting how much I can type

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :), I truly enjoy exploring the world virtually each Wednesday seeing walks from all around the globe and feeling I am there and experiencing it all myself, such as I did in your post just now :)

Thank you for your comments. I hope that your issues can be settled and I wish you all the best.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much.

 2 years ago  

Been there once, quite spacious. As you said, it's only like 40% occupied, and stuff are overly pricey. Not my cup of tea.