Have you ever tried eating Fish Spring Roll?

u.png

Hello Asean Hivers!
Spring roll is called Lumpia in Tagalog and we have different varieties such as Lumpiang Shanghai (Meat Spring Roll), Lumpiang Togue (Mung bean Sprout Spring Roll), Lumpiang Isda (Fish Spring Roll) and Lumpiang Sariwa (Fresh Spring Rolls). These Lumpia are wrapped with Lumpia wrapper then fried until golden brown and flaky except for Lumpiang Sariwa which uses egg roll wrappers.

Before I tasted this Lumpiang Isda, my favorite Spring Roll is Lumpiang Shanghai which is always present in every Filipino gatherings and mostly paired with sweet-saucy spaghetti. Lumpiang Isda is more affordable compared to Lumpiang Shanghai, I think it cost about $7.2 per kilograms as of now.

To prepare for this, in the morning I personally go to the wet market to buy a fresh fish and I chose galunggong (blue mackerel scad).It cost $4.8 per kilograms, in choosing this kind of fish choose the round ones because they are tastier. To check if the fish is still fresh, there are three things to observe; the eyes are not reddish, the gills are still red and lastly the stomach is still firm. I bought this fish because it's meat is firmer than the others. Most of the vendors are offering free cleaning of the fish.

ah 7c.jpg
As I arrived at home I wash the fish immediately and cook it in vinegar.
Pour vinegar enough to cover the fish, any vinegar is kay but I prefer sukang takal (I don't know what it's called in English). Add slice onion, some sliced ginger, ground pepper and salt to taste. Let it simmer until the vinegar was almost gone. Let it cool, debone all the fish and mash it.

ah 7b.jpg
I used our manual vegetable chopper to mince a medium size white onion and 150 grams carrot. Add a bunch of chopped kinchay (chinese parley), 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper, 1 teaspoon iodized salt.

ah 7d.jpg
Mix all the ingredients and add an egg to add moist and flavor to the mixture. This photo was taken after I wrapped about half of the mixture because I forgot until my daughter ask me if I already taken a photo, she also wants to borrow the phone that's why. Thankfully she's there beside me.

ah 7e.jpg
I'm using the lumpiang wrapper made from the market and it is needed to separate them one by one unlike those square wrappers in the supermarket, this is freshly made. In a large size wrapper I put 1 1/2 tablespoon of the mixture. the secret to a not oily filling is to tightly wrap it, I made 26 rolls with 500 grams galunggong.

ah 7f.jpg
You can deep fried it or if you're using less oil just flip the other side until both sides are golden brown. The fire is just medium , not too high or else it will burn the wrappers and not too low it will become oily. Drain the excess oil.
We love dipping it to our homemade vinegar. For 1 1/2 cup vinegar, add 1/4 cup soy sauce, one chopped onion, pinch of ground black pepper and a tablespoon of brown sugar. You can also add some chili to spice up the vinegar.

ah 7g.jpg
I prefer dipping it to spicy vinegar, eating it with hot steamed rice. Cravings satisfied! Try it! 😋.

That's all for today, see you on my next blog!

Thank You.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I had one ate pero I used Mega Sardines as a filling instead of galunggong medyo mahal kasi if GG ang gagamitin. Taste wise, goods din naman sya, pero di sya katalo sa vinegar, more on ketchup ang kapartner nya.

I-try ko din po yan minsan yang sardines version, mukhang masarap din.

!discovery 15


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you!

Sarap! Matagal tagal na nung huli ako nakakain ng lumpiang isda. Isa to sa mga masterpiece ng motherhood ko dati eh. Makapagrequest nga. Natakam ako eh.

Request mo na po agad , tuwang-tuwa pa naman ang ating mother pag hinahanap natin luto nila.

 2 years ago  

Wow sis! Never tried and tasted fish lumpia. Gonna try it one day. 😀

I hope you can try it soon 😀

I really like your vinegar making. It looks delicious.

Yes it is delicious, specially if you add some chili.

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 2 years ago  

Philippines sure have variations of spring roll 😁😁. I haven't seen or tasted fish spring roll in Malaysia 😐😐

Thanks for dropping by! I'm looking forward to seeing what kind of foods you have there in Malaysia.