Flash flood in Shah Alam

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

It was raining non stop in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor these few days. The rain started from last Friday until Sunday. @irmeyhamidi was at SACC in Shah Alam for a three days boot-camp starting from Friday until Sunday, which will end today.

However, due to continuous heavy rain, Kuala Lumpur and Shah Alam has been struck by flash flood. This is in fact the worst flash flood that has struck Kuala Lumpur and Selangor since 2010. Because of the flash flood, she is now stranded there with the other boot-camp participants.

I got the update regarding the flood from TikTok and Facebook. Worried about her safety and well being, I tried to go to Shah Alam using my motorbike. Just trying to see if there are any road or path that is not submerged.

I rode my motorbike in heavy rain towards Shah Alam from Melawati. It was around 11pm when I arrived at the Federal Highway junction heading towards Shah Alam. The traffic was really bad, and rain was pouring heavily. I was soaked wet even though I am wearing a raincoat.

In the heavy rain, I can see a strong flow of flood has covered the lower part of the highway. Just next to the highway is Damansara river. The river water has overflow and causing the flash flood.

There were multiple vehicles such as cars, lorry and motorbike that were stuck in the flood. I'm not sure whether there are people inside the car or not. Even if there were people inside the car, I am not able to go near them to help. I can only view from far away.

I've tried to use various route that I know such as Federal Highway -> Shah Alam. Jelutong -> Shah Alam. NKVE -> Shah Alam. Glenmarie -> Shah Alam. but all of those route were submerge.

How deep is the flood water I'm really not sure. I didn't take my chance trying to cross the flood. What I can say is, even a 4x4 truck have to make a u-turn due to strong current of the flood water.

I called @irmeyhamidi, and told her that I will be heading home. I will try again to look for another route in the morning.

I woke up quite early, took a short bath, wear my cloth and heads toward Shah Alam using my motorbike. Unfortunately, the flood water level haven't decreased. All those route that I tried last night was still submerged...

To be honest, I am really worried about my wife. How is she there? Has she eaten? Where can she lie down to take a rest? All sort of thought run across my mind. If possible, I wanted to go to SACC and got her out from there. But I can't take risk that would put my life into a dangerous situation. I need to take care of my kids for time being until there is a route opened for passage.


(Picture) Federal Highway - Shah Alam

This is the main highway heading toward Shah Alam. It has been submerged for more than 12 hours now. I can't imagine how it would look like after the flood has subside.

From here, I turn back and try my luck at Glenmarie and Jelutong route. But sadly, it is also the same. The route were still submerged and inaccessible by vehicle especially a motorbike.

img_0.17820087951052183.jpg

img_0.8862983154011055.jpg

(Picture) Glenmarie -> Shah Alam

This route is not accessible due to flood. There was few motorbike and cars that tried their luck crossing the flood. But I can see most of them are stranded in the middle after trying.

Sometimes I am amazed by the stubbornness of people (or sheer determination). The flood was clearly deep, but they still try to take their chances and risk. I can even see one rider fell down with his motorbike in the flood, and how he is struggling to get his motorbike up in the waist deep water.

img_0.3589722144726998.jpg

img_0.22157819866711007.jpg

img_0.07047696228807432.jpg

img_0.8728019322524163.jpg


Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Wah... bro.. you are brave.. go drive with your motorbike... at night.. to find your wife.. =) Hope everything is good.. Yea.. some people memang stubborn, thinking their kereta is kapal. A few months ago, ada Myvi Sabah... think he is driving Hilux.. maybe see Facebook got Hilux cross river.. then he go try.. Then the car go under.

 2 years ago  

Thank god everything is ok. She is safe even though stranded there 🙏🙏

A few months ago, ada Myvi Sabah... think he is driving Hilux.. maybe see Facebook got Hilux cross river.. then he go try.. Then the car go under.

Myvi is the king's car 🤣🤣

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you abang for your effort. Im ok dont worry so much. Hopefully we can see each other today.

 2 years ago  

the flood news in malaysia was on tv in indonesia, we have more experience in flood hhha cause almost every year my house was soaked in water .... Last year , my house was soaked as high as my knee. this year hope there will be no flood,

 2 years ago  

This round of flood is bad compared to previous years.

this year hope there will be no flood,

We can only hope for the best 🙏🙏

 2 years ago  

Yup my dad told me the same also. Wear raincoat also get wet. Traffic all the way from jalan kuching. Stuck in car more than 3-4 hours. Goes by bike also stuck due to flood incoming. Thanks God you're safe bro. How's today situation?

 2 years ago  

Now most part, the flood has recede. Some places such as Taman Muda still flooded

 2 years ago  

Wow, this is pretty intense. I assume this rainfall is from Odette right?

 2 years ago  

yeah, Malaysia been hit by the tail of Odette. Philippines been hit much worse than Malaysia

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ
 2 years ago  

Thank god my family is all safe 🙏🙏