Experiencing Food From Around The World : First Time Having Phở 🍜

Earlier this week we wanted to either try some Southern or Korean fried chicken, but the first restaurant was closed and the second had a line waiting outside the door. Because of not knowing how long the waiting time would be to seat the amount of people in our party, we started an online search for options in the vicinity and found a Phở place nearby.


IMG_20221227_190728.jpg


We didn't know if the Phở place would be open, so two members of the group went ahead and the rest waited in line. Not long after we received their call, that there was a table free to seat our group.


image.png

source image


When reading the menu I wasn't sure what to order yet: will I go for the beef, chicken or something else? Ultimately, I ordered a dish called Phở 91 -the special named after the restaurant - because of the variety of meats: beef balls, chicken and brisket.


1672316214290.jpg


It being my first time having Phở, I kept slurping the broth and noodles after my first taste: that's how much I enjoyed the soup and understood why Vietnamese celebrities like Jeannie Mai called it the soup for those sick days.


1672316214473.jpg


The soup was surprisingly light, yet flavorful and filling. There was even a strong scent and flavor, that I remembered from my childhood. It came from a herb my great grandmother and grandmother used to massage us with when we were kids: culantro or better known as recao.


1672316214605.jpg


The smell of recao was so strong when our elders massaged us with it, that I had an aversion for the scent, but when eating the Phở I could appreciate its contribution to the depht of flavor in the soup. Its health benefits are also a plus.

IMG_20221227_190732.jpg

Another type of Phở ordered by one of our friends.


We left the restaurant pleased, warm from the inside and ready for the next adventure. Trying more types of Phở is definitely on the list. What is your Phở experience? Let me know in the comments below 🤓.



Chasse into the backstage! 💃


ASEAN Hive Community

Sort:  
 last year  

I saw a Vietnamese cafe once in Parbo, but I don't think it was this place. Pho is popular here too, and of course there is a Cambodian dish that is similar (but inferior in my opinion). I used to eat this a lot in the US before my vegan life, and I think I liked Pho so much because you get to play with your food so much. Depending on the style of serving, sometimes you get to pour the hot broth onto your thin-sliced meat and watch it cook before your eyes, then add all the herbs and other things you like.

Almost everywhere I've ever seen this dish too, the portions are comically large, one serving often more than enough for two people.

Depending on the style of serving, sometimes you get to pour the hot broth onto your thin-sliced meat and watch it cook before your eyes, then add all the herbs and other things you like.

This sounds so cool 😍. Looking out for a restaurant where I can try this out.

Almost everywhere I've ever seen this dish too, the portions are comically large, one serving often more than enough for two people.

Yeah, luckily Asians don't mind when one slurps the soups. In Western cultures it's frowned upon though, but I don't mind 😂.

I saw a Vietnamese cafe once in Parbo, but I don't think it was this place.

We actually never tried other Asian restaurants apart from Chinese in Suriname, because we weren't sure how authentic those dishes were going to be. That's why we would like to travel more.

!ENGAGE

Pho look so rich and yummi I wish I could try it one day ❤️

Oh you should. No Vietnamese restaurants in your part of the world?
I even had to wait till I got to where I am now, before I could've tried it.

!ENGAGE

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Yum! You have been curated by @anggreklestari on behalf of FoodiesUnite.net on #Hive. Thanks for using the #foodie tag. We are a tribe for the Foodie community with a unique approach to content and community and we are here on #Hive.

Join the foodie fun! We've given you a FOODIE boost. Come check it out at @foodiesunite for the latest community updates. Spread your gastronomic delights on and claim your tokens.

Whoohoo! Thanks for the support 😊.

Happy New Year FoodiesUnite!

 last year  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 137 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!LUV
2

Yes, the meat was very tender and definitely having Phở more often now.

!ENGAGE