Watusi Woman - Stunned Sailor

in ASEAN HIVE COMMUNITY2 years ago (edited)

Lanuan Bajo, Flores

received_798691081472759.jpeg

Labuan Bajo, Flores might still be a fishing village at heart, but it is also the gateway to the Komodo National Park and our reason for visiting this town. In close proximity are several islands that make up Komodo National Park and they offer some spectacular beaches and diving and snorkelling opportunities. Let's not forgot, the Komodo dragons.

Labuan Bajo town itself is pretty chilled with some great resorts, cafes and restaurants. And heaps of dive shops. Diving is a huge drawcard for this region and is the reason why most tourists make the trek here.

received_833552527671296.jpeg
harbour

received_603156184679762.jpeg
harbour area

received_1261894151245322.jpeg
these gorgeous kids stole my heart

received_806762540356863.jpeg

Hubby and I were here 4 years ago, so for us it was an opportunity to see how the town fared, what with covid travel restrictions killing off tourism. We were really surprised at the amount of tourists in town. In fact, we couldn't even hire a scooter as everyone was clean out of stock. That's a good thing for all the local businesses, bad luck for us. The town has definitely improved and grown since our last visit, especially the roads. What were once dirt roads are now asphalt with proper guttering. Very impressive. The harbour area has also been completed, work that was just starting 4 years ago. It was great to see the hustle and bustle without being overcrowded. The are many liveaboard boats here to spend anything from 2 nights to 10 nights on board to enjoy all that this spectacular region has to offer.

20220915_081829.jpg

received_3289114428044938.jpeg

GX013316_1663119202515.jpg

Once we had checked out the town, done an amazing day trip to Komodo Island and had a bit of shore time it was time to up-anchor and move on to more of the naturally beautiful islands.

Makassar Reef called us. In particular, the Makassar lagoon. Motoring into the lagoon was a little heart-in-mouth moment. There was only 1 small channel in, unmarked by beacons, and not showing on our charts very clearly. There were 3 interesting mooring buoys. One was a small white buoy, one was a plastic container and one was a 4litre oil bottle. Buoys done Indo style.
First time in a while I've had a mooring to pick up and although they are not in the calibre of Australian mooring buoys, I managed to snag it the first time and, with Hubby's help, bring up the big heavy mooring rope.

As the tide dropped it was more obvious that we were ringed by reef with turquoise waters all around us. Very cool. I swam over to the closest part of the reef and, although very pretty with lilac and yellow fields of coral, there was not much else to see. Sundowners whilst watching the sun sink behind Komodo island gave us a few more shades of colour to admire.

GOPR3356_ALTA1099718336985891843.jpg

20220915_105808.jpg
part of the reef that ringed us once in the lagoon

received_5852180068147583.jpeg
sunset behind Komodo island

The next morning involved a dinghy ride to the top end of the lagoon and boy, what a difference the location made. First there were turtles, several large ones, swimming around with me. Or me with them. Then half a dozen huge stingrays, longer than I am tall, sitting on the bottom camouflaged in the white sand. A school of big trevally, 2 very big grouper that I followed, then I hit the coral. There were so many different types of coral, mostly hard, and tons of fish. Truly spectacular. The reef was very shallow so the full colours of the fish and coral were visible. So many pretty fishes 🥰. I surprised a big turtle as I came over a coral rock and he shot off like cannonball to get away from me. While I was laughing through my snorkel the biggest grouper I've seen here in Indonesia cruised on passed me. Does it get much better than this? The only thing I didn't see was a manta ray, known to frequent these waters but elusive to me so far.
With low expectations after the previous afternoon snorkel, I didn't take my gopro. Silly me. A truly wonderful snorkel session and nothing to show anyone.

The landscape of the komodo island group is absolutely spectacular. Barren contoured mountains, in some cases volcanos, meet crystal clear, often turquoise waters that are filled with coral and fish. An incredible paradise. We spent a few days enjoying the snorkelling and sunsets before it was time to continue our journey westwards.

received_1053750555336283.jpeg

GX013275_1662636363496_2.jpg

GX013228_1662639597144.jpg

GX013363_1663376544656.jpg

This is definitely an awe-inspiring region and it won't be 4 years before we're back for more exploring.

Until next time, Watusi Woman - Awestruck sailor, out.

received_606622947616497.jpeg

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

What a beautiful island, Labuan Bajo is very popular for most Indonesian but only a few who visit there. It needs high cost to visit there from Java. Lombok island has also other amazing tourism spots you can visit.

 2 years ago  

You are right, it's very beautiful. I'm on my way to Lombok and I have been there before but I'm looking forward to exploring more of its natural beauty.

 2 years ago  

I was admiring that interesting looking boat and scrolled down to see a komodo dragon casually strolling on the beach. It looked so close to you! I would freak out 😂

 2 years ago  

We were very close to the dragons, it was an amazing experience. My previous post was about a komodo island tour we did. Plenty of dragons around us that day.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

 2 years ago  
Thanks for posting in the ASEAN Hive Community.

150.png
⋆ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴘᴏsᴛ ʀᴇᴄᴇɪᴠᴇᴅ ᴀɴ ᴜᴘᴠᴏᴛᴇ ᴀɴᴅ ʀᴇʙʟᴏɢ
⋆ ᴛʜᴇ ᴘʟᴀᴄᴇ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ ᴏɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ
sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ
ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴛʜᴇ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ
⋆ ᴅᴇʟᴇɢᴀᴛɪᴏɴ ʟɪɴᴋs   25 ʜᴘ50 ʜᴘ100 ʜᴘ500 ʜᴘ1,000 ʜᴘ

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

 2 years ago  

Komodo Island, oh my! When I see those dinosaurs I always think of a documentary I watched years ago where they bite a water buffalo and follow it for three days awaiting its slow death. Did you feel in danger that close to these monsters?

 2 years ago  

I was very happy to have the guides with us. The good thing there is the komodo dragons get plenty of food so hopefully they wouldn't be interested in humans. They are an apex predator though so......

 2 years ago  

Thanku kindly @lingkar-photo , I'm happy you enjoyed my post 😊

 2 years ago  

Thanku very much, glad you enjoyed.