Holborn to South Bank - A Day In London With A Friend.

in London2 years ago

Holborn To South Bank

A DAY IN LONDON WITH A FRIEND


london.png

I went to London proper yesterday. I took the underground to Holborn and walked through an area I used to work in, half expecting to see people that I knew, but didn't, all the way to Trafalgar Sq. I then walked down to Embankment and crossed one of the bridges to the south bank of the river.

This route was one I'd take at least four times a week back when I used to work in that area. I'd normally go for a walk during my break, when I got them, usually taking photos along the way. It was quite nostalgic for me to do and I had my camera with me so I did indulge in a little photography.

IMG_7143.jpegIMG_7154.jpeg

IMG_7144.jpeg

IMG_7160.jpeg

IMG_7146.jpegIMG_7145.jpeg
IMG_7166.jpegIMG_7163.jpeg

IMG_7168.jpeg

IMG_7173.jpeg

IMG_7176.jpeg

I wasn't just there to walk causally through London on a business day. I actually had a meeting with a friend I hadn't seen in over two years. There are many of those, as I'm sure it is for most people, - friends that we haven't seen for two years or more.

On meeting up we both said the same thing - "oh, a lot has changed since we last met eh?". It had only been just over two years, but it seemed like a lifetime of changes. It was as though we were both different people.

We were both hungry, so the first stop was to get something to eat. Borough Market was suggested, but I thought it was too far from where we were, the Royal Festival Hall, so I suggested we just grabbed something near there. Since I arrived earlier, I had already done a quick reconnaissance walk to see what was what. The area has changed from when I'd previously been there. A lot of the previously empty spaces have been repurposed into sitting areas and open air bars and restaurants. I don't know if it's only a summer thing, but a lot of food stalls have also gone up in the fashion you'd see during a festival.

IMG_7195.jpeg
IMG_7187.jpeg
IMG_7191.jpeg
IMG_7209.jpeg
IMG_7206.jpeg
IMG_7205.jpeg

The most interesting of the changes were the beach bars. There is one in Gabriel's Wharf with actual beach sand! Gabriel's Wharf has changed too. My favourite shop there, the crepe shop, seems to have closed. It's the same for many of the other shops too. I can imagine why. I don't suppose the previous proprietors would have been able to afford the rent there without being open through the pandemic. So sad.

IMG_7230.jpeg
IMG_7234.jpeg

IMG_7228.jpegIMG_7233.jpeg

There's also a giant new tower looming over the wharf now, casting a large shadow over the entire area. So, while it was a bright and sunny day in London, the wharf was deprived of the golden rays. This may be a plus or minus, depending on the person I guess.

IMG_7227.jpeg

We settled for some Polish sausages - simple and filling. We sat on one of the public benches facing the river, it was high tide, and chatted away for at least an hour before continuing down towards London Bridge. We made it all the way down to the Tower Bridge area by which time the tide had lowered significantly such that people could walk on the beach banks again.

IMG_7253.jpeg
IMG_7238.jpeg

IMG_7260.jpegIMG_7257.jpegIMG_7262.jpeg

IMG_2730.JPG
IMG_7261.jpeg
IMG_2739.JPG
IMG_2742.JPG

IMG_2740.JPG

On the way home the sun was just setting so I spent some time on a bridge just looking at the golden skyline of the City of London created by the glass and metal reflecting the sunset. Even the London skyline has changed. I noticed at least four new glass towers, one even approaching the height of the Shard. If not for the regulations protecting St. Pauls, it would have been swallowed up by now. Once the main monument, it has now been dwarfed completely by the city towers.

IMG_2751.JPG

Peace & Love,

Adé

Sort:  

Congratulations @adetorrent! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 2200 posts.
Your next target is to reach 2300 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hivebuzz supports the HiveFest⁷ Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Wohoo!

You're welcome @adetorrent. Looking forward to you reaching your new target 😅

I like walking along shores of London. I feel happy when I see nature, especially as we approach autumn.

It looked beautiful these days.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you.

I love meeting my old friends too. The most welcoming way is to eat together and talking. How does Polish sausage taste?

Quite nice. It's grilled and eaten with onions and other such condiments, usually in bread.

Nice! Two years may seem like a short period of time, but they really aren’t. I bet every human has so many lifetime events happening in a year’s timeline, and you haven’t seen in double that time.

The nostalgic feeling always brings you both good memories and longing to these past moments. I’m sure London changes really fast, but all the spirit of a place or a street just stays there.

Thank you. Yes, the spirit is till here. The truth is that London has been changing a lot for hundreds of years now. It's burned down a few times, bombed during the war, etc. Each time rebuilding and taking on a new character.

I have a few photos taken from the same spot over the years. Maybe one day I'll do a post showing the differences and how the towers have come up over the years.

That idea about posting photos of the same place changing through the years is really great! I’ll be around waiting for your post 😉

Daaaamn, so nice to see London in a bright sunny day. Sometimes I forget that I lived in this crazy city thanks to people I had never spoke to. Things this wild internet world gifts us. One day I'll have to go back and we need to arrange one of those blockchain meetings.

Yes, we became one of the Canary Islands for a month now. We've had some stunning blue skies, and this week has been near 30 degrees every day!!

As I type this, it's nearly 2am and we're one day away from a full moon. It's large and clear in the sky with no obstructions. Quite a rare sight.

Yes, we became one of the Canary Islands for a month now

\o
I'm waiting for those longer days. Meanwhile, we were having the worst of the British weather down here: rain, rain, a look more rain, and windy.

Hiya, @ybanezkim26 here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1645.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you, much appreciated 🙏