🐝🐝🐝🐝Fermented Garlic Honey: A Cure for Hayfever? - And Tastes Awesome Too! 🐝🐝🐝🐝

in The Herbal Hive β€’ 2 years ago

Adobe_Post_20211128_1525280.4524310707539356.png

Dear El Nina weather pattern, thankyou for bringing rain, so that I have an awesome garlic crop to make fermented garlic honey.

It's sooo good I have to write about it everytime I make it, and this one is for @sanjeevm who showed interest in this when I mentioned it. But seriously, everyone should make this - it's easy and amazing medicine for hayfever and colds, or just eat it because it tastes GOOD!

20211122_163506.jpg

Do excuse my dirty nails - but look at how amazing my garlic is this year! Yum. I never have enough for my needs, but I try to grow as much as I can. Since I've tried fermented honey garlic, I've needed more! And more honey too please, bees, if you don't mind!

IMG_20211120_160626_472.jpg

All one needs to do is stuff a jar half full of garlic and cover in honey. Turn every day, and after about day three open the lid to let the gas escape - phewwww - very pungent!!! Someone will inevitably say: 'what the HELL is that smell!'. Ignore them. You know best. Afte r about two weeks pop in the fridge and leave to mellow. By the time hayfever season comes around next year you'll be set! Oh - a side note - do try to use raw honey as it's full of the good stuff like antiinflammatories and antioxidants which add to the benefit of this lovely infusion.

The other groovy thing about this is that you're left with very sweet and mellow cloves of garlic which are FABULOUS on a stir fry or in salads. Honestly, you'll wish you made more - trust me!

20211122_165430.jpg

The other thing we find amazing is that it doesn't hurt my husband's stomach - how about that! Garlic and onions usually really hurt him and causes his stomach to bloat, but not like this. I guess the protein structure gets altered when it ferments.

I'm off to burp my garlic - and find some more honey!

Have you ever infused garlic in honey like this?

With Love,

image.png



The Herbal Hive Community

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here


Sort: Β 

And here I am wondering WHEN ARE YOU GOING TO PUT IN THAT ACV???? Then I realized....it's not another oxymel post. Am I oxymelling obsessively?

Well that is a hand full of garlic. Good harvest you have there. I have never tried this recipe, but this year I dont have enough garlic. We planted the fall one, so hopefully next year will have better harvest.
And btw you dont have dirty nails, you have the gardener's manicure as I call it πŸ˜„

Haha, love it - the gardener's manicure! I also have the gardener's pedicure too - terrible!! Feet and hands in the earth, always. good luck with the harvest - it's such a valuable crop I believe!

This is awesome! You might have some good recipes for # Prison Hooch community - sounds tenuously connected at best, but in truth this is a community put together for all things fermented!

Ha, well sadly it's not alcoholic!

Hahaha! That’s cool, I actually really love the joy of making fermented hot sauces and kombucha as well. I deliberated much over the community name. Probably should have gone with something more generic like β€œfermentation fanatics” or something lol - but I wanted to accent what I feel is the most under-appreciated of all the fermented varieties…er go, prison hooch was born! :)

I have to try this! Have a new crop of garlic and always have raw honey!

I guarantee you will love it! Lucky you for having both to hand!

they say that by crushing the garlic will help release some of the goodies that are there that might not normally come out....do you think that process could affect this concoction or it would be a process for cooking only?

I think that would be fine, as the garlic juice oozes into the honey and liquifies it anyway. Definitely!

Very interesting! I wonder if it would work for allergies in Japan. They are mostly due to the sugi trees (Japanese cedar) here. A huge percentage of the country gets them, which accounted to all the masks pre-covid that you saw in photos of Japan. I've been lucky enough to escape them so far, but it is said that all foreigners get them eventually, and I've been here nearly 20 years so my time may be coming.

Anyway, sounds really interesting. I'll have to see if I can find some raw honey to try making that.

We get pine pollen sweep over ours - terrible!! We nearly die. Given the antiinflammatory properites of honey, ACV and garlic, I would imagine it'd work! Have some on hand to give it a go!

I love garlic and honey... not only very healing but so good to use in many dishes too! Thanks for the reminder. My jar is almost empty so need to make some more very soon! Have a beautiful day ღ

Ah yes, I recall reading yours and looking at my freshly planted garlic and waiting, waiting - and savouring the last morsels from the jar! Are you still in Cambodia?

Wow, this is what I was looking for - I have even bought a rudraprayag honey from Fabindia - must try this out now. You will see a post soon.

rudraprayag

Oh that must be somereally special honey! Fantastic!

Yes, the best quality.

Oh this looks really nice. I usually prepare ginger honey in the winter season to keep myself away from cold and cough. I will try this as well.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

This is an amazing energy booster, too!
The garlic of the photo is a beauty! I never had much luck with garlics in the garden, but gardens are a never ending project full of surprises! And I will get very surprised if I manage to have such a size, haha :)

That garlic looks humongous! Incredible! Is this the prone to explosion kind of a jar? I mean it will ferment therefore, as I remember, you once told me you have to let the air out once in a while

Should we not peel off the skin of garlic cloves ? So that it will be easy to consume ?

Yes!

πŸ€›