Technic Excavator Coolness

in LEGOlast year

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to enjoy the Lego that the little man and I built recently!

lego collage.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Technic Excavator Coolness

The little man has recently made a bit of an upgrade to the different types of Lego sets that he can build! For an event, my wife's family was awesome and got the little man some Lego that were a little more complicated than he built up until now but he was up for the challenge! The Lego Technic sets are certainly for older kids but I find them awesome, and they have more stuff to 'em!

Pardon my attempt at using a collage feature of the GIMP photo editing software. That was my first collage and only took me 30 minutes to figure out how to do it lol but that's okay, leveled up a little bit and will try to use it more often! I just need to figure out how to best do a 1:2 image without stretching it. 1x4 works out fine!

The technic set here was super cool! It had a lot of pieces to it and it was really cool as my first real complicated of the newer sets that are out there, this one held up to the level of detail that you could expect from these Lego brick masters. It had so many small things, it was super cool! I don't know if the little man or I had more fun doing this build lol

lego collage.jpeg

What's cool is that it's got a pretty extensive track system to it! I was surprised at how cool the tracks were, they look and feel just like real tracks for an excavator or other machine.

There are also all kinds of other strengths that it offers so that it can handle the work being done on it and have some good movement to it. This one certainly had a lot more movement pieces than I realized which was fun!

lego collage 2.jpeg

It was interesting how the designers of the instructions had done this set. I guess these were the staple pieces and thinking about it as I'm typing this, it makes sense to build the arm and boom first before you build the body. I was kind of thinking to build the body first and then eventually do the arm and boom but they did it arm and boom first then body. At any rate though, the body is coming together nicely!

lego 1.jpeg

The nearly finished product is pretty incredible to see! The thing has all of the key features of a real excavator which is awesome lol there is the swing open engine compartment doors in the back, the hatches and all of the other iconic things of an excavator. I love the ingenuity of putting this thing together! I want to get the bigger ones like the Dozer now lol but will wait for the little man to get them instead of buying them for myself hahaha.

IMG_0714.jpeg

The final product was super cool! What's awesome is there are a bunch of movement with this one, being technic that's expected but it was a lot more movement than I thought there would be. The little dial on the back is what moves the boom in and out, extending it for a nice scoop and there is another little dial on the right side there that's a little tricky to see but it controls the scoop.

9229E97B-79A5-4FA5-85BF-A7A53E52BBA9.jpeg

I was definitely excited about this build with the little man. It has been a few months since he got this and damn this is definitely the longest LEGO build that has lasted at the hands of the little man hahaha. He usually destroys the builds but this one has survived the test of time! Hopefully that doesn't mean I just jynxed it and it will get destroyed tomorrow but I have fun playing with this one with him, the details on it are super cool and the action is great. I kind of want to look for different LEGO sets that are of a construction nature to see what we can build!

D5CC063C-4CD4-40BE-9900-76C3A24ECDAB.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

-CmplXty. Real human written content, never AI.

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,720 PRE tokens, with a market value of $380.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Lego technic is next level!! They do some really amazing stuff. I got my son the 6x6 tow truck that was remote controlled. He missed one gear deep inside and it wouldn’t drive. We spent 8 hours tearing it apart and building it back together. My fingers were frikken bleeding dude!! LOL

That's awesome! I know that we would love to get more technic but they are fairly expensive lol the excavator one here was decent I think it was 50$ or something which isn't bad but the bigger ones like that remote controlled one, holy toledo they are pricey! Hahah. I know we will eventually get one though, so I'm looking forward to it.

I don't doubt that it took that long to build it up, take it back down and rebuild it. That's definitely going to be fun but is certainly a few years away for my son. He's great but he does tend to skip a step or two.. or three LOL and I have to rebuild some of his builds. Can't complain though, he builds all day every day which is a lot better than video games IMO!

They have gotten insanely expensive. That’s a huge reason why I don’t buy any for me to build. Lol. My son is 15 and thinks he is too cool for them now. I have him my old model team sets from when I was a kid. We have a few hundred pounds of legos in plastic totes in a closet. Just not sure if I want to get rid of them. Me and Legos have a 30+ year connection. LOL

That's awesome! I've got a massive tote of Lego at my parents house that my mom has been a bitch and hoarding from me despite my brother not having kids nor going to have kids. I think we've likely got some of the same Lego sets from those years ago! One of the things that we had a lot of were the Japanese style sets with flags and cool looking architecture lol. I'm hoping to get those Legos back one day.. not sure when but it better be soon! I think the tote is easily about 80 pounds or so, tens of thousands of pieces lol

I'm not looking forward to the day he outgrows them though! I know I did, as you did, as we get older but then you reach a certain age and want to get back into them.

She is denying you legos!!! That’s grounds for a sneak in while they are gone and steal them type of move. Lol.

I’m thinking about holding a guess the weight contest. I have like 3-4 totes full. I have no clue what they weigh. I’m gonna take them to the shop at work and weigh them on the big scale. Maybe dish out like 10 HBD and 10 Hive… just for fun but mostly my own curiosity. 😜😜

Lego thumb and Lego fingers is a real issue. Humanity should pool their resources and devise a workable solution.

#legobuildershandsmatter

untitled.gif

So it turns out we are out of luck with removing admin for the rant community sorry man. I thought we could recover the account if we lost the keys but we can’t sadly. Lesson learned for me for sure. I know I’ve seen it everywhere that if you lose your keys nothing can be done but I thought that was if no recovery account was set lol but if a recovery account was set then it would be okay. Sadly not the case! An inexpensive lesson was learned at least but an annoying one.

Hmm, so you can't make any changes at all. You better hope you don't log out of it completely.

Lego assortment is amazing! I bet it would be a lot to figure out and probably a bit overwhelming for a complete beginner.
I like what I see.
Machinery and toys are awesome, but who knows what your next design will be? Maybe some architecture?

Thanks! Yeah the assortment is wild with LEGO and I think they tapped into something really unique by branching out from just fantasy stuff and getting to real world things.

It's funny because as a kid, my brother and I built what we called "the university" and it was many years ago but we built this pretty cool building and it housed different floors and stuff and was pretty architectural! I think my son would like something like that but he creates all kinds of stuff on his own with his imagination. His recent one was a contraption that was a swinging hammer and he would fling it and it would pop open the LEGO square safe's lol it was pretty cool of a freestyle build.

It's even better if he doubles his creativity by doing it freestyle. That's good stuff!

This was my version of Lego as a kid.🤣

That looks really cool! I know it's not the same but the principle is the same I think! Kids having fun building things with what they've got! I love it! Thank you for sharing that, seriously!

Haha! We'd collect old box drinks boxes and corks. 😅

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @cmplxty.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

That is so awesome! That's an awesome build.

Have you ever heard of First Lego League? https://www.firstlegoleague.org/ I used to coach "lego teams" (I kid you not) before my boys outgrew it. Might be something to look into!