Blockchain confession: Lego fail - From order comes chaos

in LEGO3 years ago

If I was asked to rate myself out of ten for Lego-building I'd say I'm a solid ten out of ten. Yeah, I know that may sound a little boastful but I've built a lot of Lego over the years and have developed systems and procedures that help me get the job done with a minimum of stress and maximum of enjoyment; Strategy, and a good plan is what it takes y'all.

Sure, things don't always go right, but my systems and OCD nature always catches mistakes; I make the adjustments and abracadabra all is well...And I move right along.

20210511_195106.jpg

But there was this one time

I've been building a large Lego Technic set, a Volvo A-60H Hauler, which will eventually operate via the Lego Control+ app on my phone. It is powered by three electric motors and will go forward, back, steer, change gear and speed and the load bucket will lift and drop. Pretty cool. Of course it needs a complex set of gearboxes to work it all and this one is Lego's most complicated gearbox to date. Challenge accepted Lego.

I started building and over two sessions of about seven hours in total brought the set to almost the end of the first phase of three. That's where trouble struck. Part of the gearbox didn't work. You can read about it here in my Lego dysfunction post from a few days ago if you're super-keen.

Deconstruction

It's amazing how quickly seven hours of Lego-building can be deconstructed; I didn't time it but I'd say a total of a half hour or so, and that's with a coffee break and chatting with someone also - That's how fast order becomes chaos...But how did this travesty happen?

20210511_201821.jpg

The post I linked above explains it but essentially...I blamed the person I was in-chat with whilst building the Lego at the same time. Them distracting me was to blame for my gearbox error and its ultimate failure. How dare they! So, tonight I dismantled the section of the set I had built, all the way back to nothing and will start over, maybe this weekend.

But I have to confess

As I was deconstructing the work I'd already done I was careful to keep the defective gearbox section intact - My professional curiosity needed to see what the issue was, even though I couldn't save it without totally pulling it apart. I just had to know. When I had that section out I flipped back to the instruction manual to reverse-engineer the sub-assembly and...Realised something rather disturbing...

G-dog fucked it up

I don't know what happened but as it turns out the fault in the gearbox section was my own error - I put a part in back to front. That's all good, I admitted that above...But more alarming is the error was one made on the second build session which was not the one in which I was chatting! I was alone and building in total silence, no distractions of any kind.

Yep, I simply messed it up all on my own! I decided to own up to my Lego-building-dysfunction on the blockchain - To make it official and atone for blaming the person and our chat. Yep, Mr. ten out of ten had a Lego fail! Talk about embarrassing.

So yeah, Lego-idiot!

Me I mean.

I'll own it.

20210511_200140.jpg

When I was dismantling the work this evening I was in-chat with the same person who I'd blamed for the error and...I confessed and apologised of course! Actually there was a lot of laughter and she called me some names, all in good fun. I think so anyway. 😁

My Lego fail taught me some lessons though:

  • Don't chat and Lego
  • Don't Lego and chat

Ok, I'm just joking...I did learn that concentration goes a long way when building complicated Lego gearboxes and yeah, I guess that having really enjoyable conversations at the same time as building Lego is unadvisable. It was only a small fail of course, not life-changing, and in truth is makes the Lego-building fun last longer! I get to do it all over!

So there you have it, my fail-confession...I decided to do it after reading a post by @jaynie: Her, weekly blog inspirations #12, post which is list of suggestions [inspirations] for blog ideas for the coming week. One of the suggestions is favourite fail which inspired this post. Of course, this isn't my favourite fail, I have many others, but it's my most recent so it seemed relevant and fitting that it took centre stage.

Anyway, if you're looking for something to blog about check out the weekly blog inspirations #12, and take your pick, or maybe some of the previous weeks suggestions that are linked on the week 12 post will suit you. There's some cool ideas.

For now that's it...Enough confessing for one evening I think. Whilst writing this I was thinking about my 10/10 Lego-building status as per my first paragraph - Is it still intact considering this error? I'll make a judgement call on it and say yeah!


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Today's track: Lego house

Sort:  

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 44000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 44500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Decentralized blacklists and Mutes lists
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hahaha good for you for admitting your fault and apologizing to the accused. 😄

It seems you don’t mind with the rebuilding process. Does building these lego masterpieces serve as a therapeutic activity for you? Or you just do it for the fun of it?

This Volvo that you’re building sounds pretty cool! Love the photos ~

Hey there...Yep, even 10/10 Lego builders make mistakes, and I've always been one to admit mine so. Ownership matters.

Yes, they are fun to build but also you are right, building offers some therapeutic benefit. I have an overactive mind, one that doesn't sit still for long, and I tend to overthink a lot. This works in my job and has been invaluable at other times also, in the past, but sometimes I need to silence it and Lego helps do that. I do otyer things to help too, more active and outdoor, but Lego is a nice way to still my mind.

This is a cool set and as I build it (right this time) I'll do a post or two then a finished product.

That is really great that you found this outlet to help still your mind. It’s really good when we find things we enjoy that gives us a sort of break from the busyness of life :)

Awesome, I’ll be looking out for the finished work ;)

The search for parts, following the steps and that feeling of satisfaction when things start to come together are welcome and help greatly with a brain that doesn't like to slow down. Plus, Lego is just cool. 🤓

That's really cool. Yes, you keep that brain moving, never slow down. 😁👌🏽

Finally you did it 👊🏽👊🏽
Full concentration really matter a lot 😉

Yeah, it certainly pays to concentrate...I'll do so next time! 🤣

Ha, ha, ha. Oh, G-dog, what would I do without getting some of the goofiness that enshrines that aussie personality. I would daresay some distractions while building are necessary, but that's the opinion of this ten out of ten builder, though I haven't been around LEGOs in more than a decade (it's funny how I find funny being able to say that). The best part of the post is the acknowledgment of the mistakes. But I gotta say, that sounds like a very complex and enjoyable project.

I'm a man who values ownership, in others and myself so...Had to admit my error. It's ok though, all part of the fun of Lego. It'll get built and will work fine and I'll be able to say I built it twice! 🤣

It's certainly complicated but along with my Aussie goofiness comes Aussie persistence and resilience...I'll make it work. 🙂

Yeah, re-building is a huge part of the experience and fun with LEGOs.

Hopefully it goes better the second time. I mean, you are experienced at this part now, just be careful not to do the same thing again.

If I do the same thing again I'm going to give up, sell all my Lego and take up knitting.

I got to admit I really liked that you posted this and publicly owned your own mistake. Speaks to my German nature, you know.
Those Legos can be crazy complicated. Funny actually, because hubby got a few sets last year himself. Small ones, mind you, not like yours. And while I was painting on my iPad in front of the fireplace during winter, he would - ahem - fondle his legos - hahahaha.
But it totally makes sense I guess, he has also got this curious mind and, of course, the male need to fix everything. But it is just too cute (sorry!) seeing him play with his legos at just over 50 :). But you know what, probably part of the reason I married him - he still can be a kid at heart, hope he keeps that till the very end (in a future far far away...) 😍

Lego-fondling is a thing and no matter the age is always acceptable. I'm fifty one and haven't lost my enthusiasm for it. Good to hear your husband enjoys it too.

On the other...I've always been a guy that take responsibility for myself, ownership. Sure I have my moments of course, but I know how to accept liability and apologize. These are strengths not weaknesses as you know. 🙂

Absolutely, strengths! But how many people these days do not own up to their own mistakes smh - gets me. all.the.time. I guess it is the world we live in. It is good to meet people still having good ol' fashioned values.
I agree about the legos. I don't really understand it read I don't get it, but I don't care, I accept it. As long as it makes him happy - I'm happy 🙂

I'm a bit of an old-fashioned guy I guess...I call my self analogue in a digital world. I'm really proud of my skills, the ability to be self-sufficient, work with my hands and, of course, to understand and deploy courtesy, politeness and chivalry...Despite the latter being unwelcome mostly in society.

On the Lego...Embrace the fact you're married to a man-child...It all adds flavour. 🙂