A Lego Tank

in LEGO4 years ago

I was reading this post from @galenkp (who runs the awesome Lego HIVE community) yesterday where he mentions that Lego don't make military vehicles which is a bit of a shame so I thought I should right about a Tank I made from a Lego Set.

Tank1.jpg

Now Lego claim they don't like to glorify war to children which I guess makes some sense, although there are more than a few adult fans of Lego out there and they of course do make 'fantasy' war sets from Star Wars (with many many guns, albeit laser ones) and the old Knights set which had plenty of axes, so if you want to have a fight with Lego minifigs and weapons it really isn't that hard.

Tank2.jpg

But back to the point at hand - How I made a Tank from a Star War set. First of all massive shout out to the rebrickable site in general and rebrickable user @maxiska in particular for the design. If you want to get a heap of extra value out of your lego sets by getting some really cool alternative build design rebrickable is the place to go.

Tank4.jpg

And this design is a corker - a very cool grey tank. It comes from a Star Wars set which is called the Corporate Alliance Tank (set 75015) so it seems apt to turn it into a real world tank.

Corporate Alliance full scene.jpg
The original set it's taken from - the giant dishes are discarded, also plenty of guns in the original set.

The build is fiddly to say the least - As you can see there are a number of cogs and turrets and those tracks all of which are fragile as all get out.

The turret moves, it swings around, the hatch at the top opens and the tracks theorically move - although give this thing to a age appropriate child and they will break it in about 3 seconds, but hey for adults it's cool and challenging to build and looks very cool sitting on a shelf.

Tank3.jpg

I like the grey colour is unusual for Lego and the theme is obviously not allowed offically by Lego but there are a number of army themed vehicles on the internet that you can build, so maybe I'll do a whole military themed week - I have a Avengers themed set that can be reworked pretty easy I think.

Sort:  

Congratulations @harveyword! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

That's a bad-ass tank! It sort of reminds me of a Steampunk tank. Nice work.

Now, I challenge thee to make a bigger, better, and badass-er tank, right this moment! Or else, I'll send a tank to meet you at your doorstep. Remember, I know where you live... 😈

I may have hit the limits of military grey pieces, I could make a nice red and blue tank, maybe it could shot rainbows

Hmm, a pink, green and yellow tank...Maybe you could build it and then present the shots in black and white...We'd never know of its rainbowyness that way!

Shooting rainbows is blindingly dangerous enough, but a red and blue tank might just be the ultimate camouflage for hiding inside a dark, shag carpet!

I've already got one...Here's a vid of me driving to work on Monday morning...

Wow... And to think that your table manners need improving. At least use the indicators!

Those fuckers are lucky I didn't blow them off the road with the main gun...Monday morning and all.

You know what, it's a Monday, so I can forgive the sordid mood. At least it's pretty loud, so those bastards know to get out of the way pretty quick!

Woah, this looks pretty awesome! The little details like the tracks, gears, levers, and many pointy bits are very neat touches. This looks like the sort of tank that'll surely appear on a Mad Max set, for sure :-D