Building a Lego Formula 1 car for Audi.

in LEGO4 years ago

F1 modified.jpg

In writing about my race Truck yesterday which I made from the Audi Rally car, I realised I hadn't mentioned the Formula 1 inspired car which I made using pieces from the same set a few weeks ago.

F1 Side Profile.jpg

Now the journey starts at rebrickable which is an amazing site, if you have even a passing interest in Lego and you know which sets you own then rebrickable is amazing at giving you alternative builds of those sets. Or alternatively other people's creations which will come with a parts lists and instructions. It can turn a single set into about 9 or 10 sets if you built all of the alternatives from a set (in fact that gives me another good idea for a post, but that's for another day)

F1 from rear.jpg

Cars in general are very popular on rebrickable, and I must admit I build a lot of vehicles as well so I wasn't that surprised that someone had turned the Audi rally car into a Audi F1 car (it's disappointing that Audi never did a real life F1 car, although will these colours it does feel a bit Renault F1)

image.png

The designwas from a user called Kirvet (it's his photo above) and it was pretty darn good, so I quickly downloaded the instructions, put on a podcast and started building.

And it was pretty impressive, certainly the cockpit area was very realistic, it had the swoop of the body done quite well, and the engine cover sloped rear worked nicely.

F1 low front.jpg

I was a little less impressed with the front and rear wings, ( which I think are essential to a good Formula 1 design. The rear wing was a little skinny wing 2011-12 design for my liking, I prefer the wider on a pole type look that we have nowadays. The front wing was pretty close, but I wanted a flick up at the back rather than the front so I gave both of them a tweak - and of course that is exactely the magic of Lego, you get to design it however you want, so this design is 90% Kirvet, but it's still 10% me, which means it's just a little bit different to anything else in the world, and you can't say that for many mass produced toys.

F1 from above.jpg

So if you like Lego, check out rebrickable , and find out what else you can build will your Lego, or you know just start building and see where it takes you.

Sort:  

This looks awesome, mate! It's amazing to see the kind of creations and blueprints you'd find on Rebrickable. It really is a shame that Audi never brought their magic from rallying and touring car racing into F1. They could've been a dominant force, especially if they somehow put Quattro on their F1 cars :-D

Uau!!!
I'm very glad I found your Lego posts.
I've seen only 30 posts but I'm going to see them all :)
You are very good.
And i got a lot of ideas looking at posts.
Thanks

It's like a Transformer, that thing! Awesome stuff!