Creator 3 in 1 sets

in LEGO3 years ago

This are a simple set in the Lego range - they retail for about $20 in Australia - and they generally of the animal variety. My guess is that they are designed for the slightly older kids who have grown out of the 'city' range which can people a little cutesy but don't really have the funds for the full creator $150 'usually a car' range.

But I'm here to tell you these are some of the best sets in the Lego range. Right out of the box you get 3 sets so there is some good value there, but then if you are me you turn them into other things with the help of the good people on rebrickable.

Lets start with one of the older of these sets - it's from 2013 and it's called Fierce Flyer (set number 31104) originally it looks like this quite regal bald eagle. But it also makes a beaver and a scorpion in the other two official models of the 3-1 ness

Eagle down.jpg

But if you have a bit of a twisted imagination you can create a Scorpion-beaver because that's a thing, the claws of a bird, the head of a beaver and the tail of a scorpion.

image.png

Next up in the 2019 set - Deep Sea Creatures (31088) - which is originally a shark, a weird fish and a squid - actually quite a difficult set to work with as fish/sharks/squids don't have legs

The original looks a little like this

Shark1.jpg

But someone on Rebrickable saw something a little different - a Kaiju - a Kaiju being a Japanese monster.

And this one is impressive - the way that it completely changes the look of the original is just so impressive.

image.png

And the final one is a set which came out earlier this year and you could find in shops right now - it's 'Wild Lion' or set number 31112

The original is pretty amazing - fierce

Full Lion.jpg

but with a little bit of reworking you can turn that fierce lion into a cute and friendly, not at all breeching copyright Pluto dog.

image.png

And the great thing is that are about 30 alternative designs for all of these set on Rebrckable so it's literally hours and hours of building fun in there.

Sort:  

I have the Deep Sea set. I thought it was pretty interesting, and I liked all the dark blue pieces and fin bitz it included. Now I want to build it into a RoboShark with parts from an old robot set I think I have boxed away somewhere.

Yes Robo-sharks - I need to see the outcome of this.

I promise nothing

I had a couple of these sets once, but I willingly spread them apart for other purposes and made Frankenstein Lego Creatures out of them with my boys. That was fun.

I do love that bald eagle! If it were mine, I'd be tempted to leave it just like that!

Yeah I must admit I have built that bald eagle a couple of times, it unlike any other official lego set