How much can I build from a $4 Lego set?

in LEGO3 years ago

I was doing a Bricklink order - picking up a few things that I needed.When I finish these missions I tend to have a look at the shop I'm at and maybe add a few pieces which I think are good value.

The shop I was at had an entire set for $4 - that seems good value. Okay it was a tiny set with only 42 pieces - It is Imperial TIE figther - Star Wars which is always cool - but then again from 'Solo' movie so you know no exactly amazing.

Anyway when it arrived I quickly threw it together and I have to say I was impressed with the results - it looks like a TIE figther, complete with the cool Hexagon 'wings' and the circular cockpit.

Main.jpg

For $4 I would be happy enough with just that but then I decided to hit rebrickable and see if there were any alternative builds and thank fully someone called Plastic Ati had done a few cool ones.

First up was this Sith inceptor which kind of works, maybe it needs a little longer pointy bits out the front, but he or she one had 42 pieces to work with

Sith interceptor.jpg

The next of his or her design's I think is more successful - it's called the Sith infiltrator and given the small part count it really has a bit of a presence - it was certainly swooshable and I took it one a flight around the house

Sith infilterator.jpg

But his or her's third design is actually the best of all (this is all starting to sound a little like the three bears) It's called the Sith Jet Concept and it gets the bulk at the rear of the plane right, combined with good wings and a bright yellow cannon which was helpful when making pew pew noises on the flight.

Sith concept jet.jpg

So now we have 4 models for $4 which is a pretty darn good cost per build in my book. But there is something about the community of rebrickable - I've been able to build all these planes and I figured I should give something back so then I had to design one myself and put the instructions up on line.

But the issue was Plastic Fantastic or whatever he/her name was had pretty much exhausted the possibilities here. I gave it a shot, took the bits I liked from all the designs and ended up with The Loosened Tie

Moc1.jpg

It has the hexagonal wings (albeit it smaller) of a tie fighter but then a more tradtional body, and weird circular flight deck and a big yellow cannon, so basically this thing is like when Homer designed a car - it's a bit all over the place

Moc5.jpg

But I did use all the pieces which is always and achievement.

and if you place it on a very expensive table it looks cool.

Moc4.jpg

Sort:  

Great work...It's funny isn't it...How much enjoyment can be found from $4AUD worth of Lego.

I'm forever trying to find ways to photograph my Lego...It seems all I need is a very expensive table. I don't have one though, however, maybe I could book one at a very expensive restaurant and take my Lego along? I assume that works! :)

Only two of those shots are on the very expensive table, one's on the floor and two on what I thought was a very expensive at the time, but now seems like good value sideboard.

For some reason sidetables seem to be like chairs they are way more expensive than they should be.

How expensive? Well I could have bought that Lego set many many times over

It seems I need an education in the side table market...I have no clue. :)

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I noticed that in the web address for this post it changes the $ sign to be USD - how very presumptive -it's $4 Australian which is $2.88 USD

That's an awesome build for $4 and just a handful of pieces! Pretty fantastic. That might be a fun challenge to put my kids toward.