Lego Block Theatre Presents Romeo and Juliet! (The first bit only)

in LEGO4 years ago

BlockTheatreR&J1.png

In the summer of 2012 my daughter and I hit upon the idea of going one better than our previous Lego production of Macbeth where we set up and photographed a few scenes from the play. We decided to try a video version of Minifig Romeo and Juliet… and that is how Block Theatre came into being!

We had some difficulties in making this first video. Eileen's handling of the video was a bit shaky and I needed to work on narrating and managing the minifigs…

In this video we went through the first few scenes of the play. We meet the characters in the play, hear the Prince proclaim the Prologue from the gatetower, watch the opening street brawl, and see old Capulet give Paris permission to woo Juliet. The video ends with the illiterate clown heading off to invite some guests to Capulet's feast…

In the last part of the video I did a bit of editing to create some of my first attempts at animation. For the most part, however, I simply used a plastic recorder cleaning rod to push the minifigs around. LOL!

Credits

Playwright: William Shakespeare

Narrator: David Hurley

Announcer: Eileen Lois Hurley

Minifig Casting: David Hurley

Sets: David & Eileen Lois Hurley

Artwork: Eileen Lois Hurley

Camera: Eileen Lois Hurley

Editing: David Hurley

Sort:  

You have a lot of Minifigures!

That's true! I was building up my stocks for tabletop minifig wargames!

Minifig wargames sounds like a lot of fun! Is it an organised thing or something you made up yourself?

Something I made up myself using the old "Kingdoms" series as the core and adding in any other minifigs that came my way to make up the numbers.

Sounds pretty cool to me...A lot of fun.

Hey, you may not follow my posts but I did one yesterday with a posting initiative...You might like to check it out as it's a way to showcase your work. Any of your posts would qualify as good submissions so maybe take a look and follow the entry criteria if you are interested.

Thanks for the heads-up. I've reblogged and tweeted the post.

Thank you for that. I hope you find the time to drop an entry in also. Have a great day.

Congratulations @hirohurl! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 comments. Your next target is to reach 500 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP