LEGO Lambo Construction Part 1 of 6

in LEGO3 years ago (edited)

I teased this project in my last post, so after I got my real car's engine properly reinstalled on the left and right mounting brackets, I started construction on the LEGO Lambo to wind down for the night.

BoxArt.jpg

Inside the box, there is another absolutely brilliant layer of packaging. Two green boxes and four carbon fiber print boxes contain the different stages of construction in a very thematic presentation.

Instructions.jpg

The booklets are more than just standard instructions. There's some history of Lamborghini stuff, some design background details, and other filler. The real instructions don't turn up until page 28, but at least they conveniently show which box to open first.

page28.jpg

And so began about two and a half hours of casual construction. I'm not trying to speed-build. This is for casual podcast-in-the-background construction while I relax.

Suspension start.jpg

Suspension continued.jpg

Transmission start.jpg

The transmission is essentially two layers of geartrains connected by a couple larger gears.

Transmission attached.jpg

Transmission front.jpg

Once I finished box 1, the whole project was larger than the LEGO McLaren Senna I built earlier, although not as densely packed and heavy.

Part 1 done.jpg

I love the detailed differential system, and the old-school universal joints were fun to see. I may have built the transmission, but I still don't have the shifter installed to see how it all works. The suspension system is also interesting. The four shocks are stiff, so it should ride well when constructed. Keep an eye out for Part 2 of 6!

Sort:  

You almost make me want to do this! Almost. But I am permanently traumatized from stepping on all those Lego pieces of my kids'. I'll let you carry on instead.

That set looks amazing - very complicated - looking forward to seeing parts 2-6

That escalated quickly from the very first part with a few pieces XD

I get too busy building to snap photos.

I get that. It's why my "progress shots" for drawing is just turning layers off ^_^;

Everyone asks, "When Lambo?"

Well, now we know.

Someone had to take the plunge.