Monomad Challenge || Near Completion..

in Black And White2 years ago

IMG_20220925_142236.jpg

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge.

I took some small vacations from my work to recharge my batteries. Now, I'm back in this community to shore the progress of this instrument that's ready for a marathon of sanding. That's my first concerty-type Venezuelan Cuatro. Here you have some photos of the work done on it.

IMG_20220925_142045.jpg

IMG_20220925_142109.jpg

IMG_20220925_142140.jpg

First, it was time to make a dry fit of the tubing machines and get the holes for them in place. The only problem here is that I won't be able to use the washer to cover the holes on the inside of the head stock. That's because the wall is too thin. I could modify the tuning machines, but since I don't have a steady work bench, I'll pass on this idea. It will look great regardless. The design has a lot of potential for future projects.

IMG_20220925_142012.jpg

IMG_20220925_141945.jpg

I made a video of the process of fretting and making the position markers. However, I couldn't miss the chance to take a photo of each thing after they were done. It was a tough day. We had more than half of it with no electricity or water. The former came back; we hope for the latter for tomorrow.

This instrument is getting ready for its finish stage. That's when I have to sand the hell out of it to make its surface even and smooth. It isn't my favorite part, but it only means completion is nearby.

Each time I make one of this post, I feel the bliss of the texture highlighted by the filters. The colours of wood are beautiful; its texture divine. Black and white is such a beautiful part of photography.

All photos shown here are my own, taken with my Redmi note 8 smartphone.

Logo grabado en madera.jpg

Follow me on Instagram for enquires and commission.

If you'd like to help the workshop grow, you can make a donation here.

You can find me at discord as bertrayo#1763

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I find that black and white photography brings out everything in an image (the good and the bad).
And in your photos, what I like the most is that you highlight the details, those same details that make every instrument you make, a unique piece!

Well, it's a highlight on anything. It's like when you apply varnish to a piece of wood. You are going to show a lot of the surface. If it's poorly worked, all the imperfections will show off tenfold. It is a double-edged sword, but offers a ton of upsides of used correctly.

Thanks for your insight.

When I see the black and white photographs, it's like being transported back in time, I remember those times when I used to watch black and white television on a small red TV set at home.

It's true what you say about the details, they are much more noticeable, it's good that you are already finishing, even if it comes one of the parts you like the least.

What is it? Sand it or get it finished.

Greetings and blessings my friend @bertrayo.

I have seen a lot of black and white movies and I love that kind of effect. Details and everything is perfect on that kind of filter.

I need to sand it to make the finish of the instrument. It's a long process. But I'll enjoy every bit of it.

Thanks for coming by, @leidimarc

Congratulations @bertrayo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results

Dear @bertrayo,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!

All done with votes ✅👍🏻

Thank you for your support @bertrayo, really appreciate it! 👍

Black and white in itself is magical and brings much more magic to your work.
The attention to detail in every thing you do is reflected in your photographs.
Beautiful photos and even more beautiful work.
Greetings Andresito

Black and white are words for magic.

Thanks for stopping by, Rosita. Hugs and chocolate for you.

That's a cool looking guitar. I've just found you via your comment on @meno's post. I just play guitars and have never made one.

Hey, I see. Well, if you ever want to feel what's like to have a deeper connection with your instrument, you should try making one of your own. It is an interesting experience and experiment.