The Christmas Fair in Sibiu

The winter holidays are approaching and with them comes what is called "shopping fever"! December, the "month of gifts" is knocking at the door!

"Shopping fever" and the "month of gifts" are two clichés, two formulas that are used in all the TV news or in the press. Most people celebrating the winter holidays want to give presents.

Retailers are at the origin of these end-of-year shopping habits. Slowly, slowly, the need for gift-giving has been inoculated into the collective consciousness... and therefore to buy!

In order to buy, so that as many people as possible could buy at the same time, fairs were invented. In December, many cities organize fairs. An attraction for children and their parents, all eager to buy both gifts and entertainment...

Well, in order to make a bigger profit, these fairs opened this year in November! A trip to a city in Romania called Sibiu brought me close to such a fair, one of the most beautiful in the country and which attracts a lot of tourists from abroad.

To be exact, I saw the fair the day before it opened.

In my childhood there were no such fairs and, in this part of the world where I live, color photography wasn't widespread either. Everything was in black and white, from newspaper photos to movies and TV.

Our life was black and white with some shades of grey!

I took some photos near this Christmas fair in the Big Square in Sibiu. I thought it would be interesting to see how the pictures of this fair would have looked in the newspapers or on the TV news of my childhood, that's why I chose black and white...

This is my entry for the #monomad challenge.

The purpose of the trip to Sibiu was not the Christmas fair. It was a dance-theatre performance. The posters of this show filled the city center.

The fair was being set up, the official opening was the next day. My attention was drawn to a small train that was going to take visitors around.

Other than those inside the fair who had a lot of work to do to set up their little stalls where they display their products for sale, the little train was resting. Starting the next day, for almost two months it would be hard at work walking a lot of children and even their parents. Quite boring for the driver who is the conductor!

The Big Square in Sibiu is a place in a great hustle and bustle that is still unseen, waiting for the great joy of the winter holidays to begin.

I have to admit that going back in time, I mean the lack of color, stirred up some nostalgia in me. Lack of color may be an option when there is no alternative but, anything too much is damaging, just as life only in black and white with shades of grey brought down a dictatorship in my country thirty years ago.

Traveler to the country where I live is what I've been doing for many years, that is, I try to show what is more interesting, more important, and not necessarily what is more beautiful in the country where I live. I don't bypass the ugly places or the sometimes uncivilized behavior that I try to explain through the history of these places but I focus especially on what I think a visitor would like to see when he arrives for the first time in Romania. Romania, a member country of the EU, is located at the crossroads of Central, Eastern, and Southeast Europe. I'm going to use this tag #visitingmycountry and then put these places on the Pinmapple map for those who want to discover them more easily!

every_picture.jpg

Sort:  

Black and white. Imi place. Uitasem de genu asta, bine ca mi-ai amintit.

Ma bucur ca am fost de folos. Pentru mine este o rezerva pentru cand nu am timp sau inspiratie pentru ceva mai elaborat.

I've been to that square and I like a lot the way it is getting ready for the holidays :)
B&W really suits well your story today and the emotions too!

!PIZZA

Good Job!
Mega boost: !PGM !BEER !PIZZA !LOLZ !LUV

As I don't like winter, any holiday in winter is not so attractive as in summer for me. We already don't that long holiday in December, only the first day of January. However, if consider as a custom, it beautiful to see that people stil carry on, except commercial interests :)

Does black and white remind you of your childhood for the extra reason that it used to snow a lot more back then during Christmas? And everywhere would be covered with the white of snow and stuff?

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
lightcaptured tipped bluemoon (x1)
@heruvim1978(3/5) tipped @bluemoon (x1)

Send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @bluemoon.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Well done @bluemoon! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.