MonoMad Photography Challenge - Fly on a flower

in Black And White3 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry into todays #monomad photography challenge.

2021-03-29-22.19.35 ZS retouched_1_1 1.jpg

Click on the image to view at higher resolution

This is a focus stacked image created from 75 separate shots at F8, 1/15sec, ISO200.

  • Images taken with the Olympus E-M1 III and 60mm macro lens + extension tubes and 2x converter
  • Stacked with Zerene Stacker
  • Edited with Capture One and Aurora hdr

Please may I share with you some more stacks that I shot last year which I thought might look good in black and white.

Below are some of the individual shots from the start, middle and end of the stack.

1O081286.jpg

1O081297.jpg

1O081326.jpg

Below is another stacked shot of the same fly.

2021-03-29-21.24.09 ZS retouched_1_1_1 1.jpg

With individual shots from the start, middle and end of the stack.

1O081600.jpg

1O081625.jpg

1O081647.jpg

If you would like to know more about how I create my macro images and would like to try focus stacking yourself then please take a look at my tutorial, see links below

Part 1 Introduction
Part 2 Preparing Insects
Part 3 Preparing Flowers
Part 4 Equipment
Part 5 Shooting the stack
Part 6 Processing the stack
Part 7 Editing the stack
Part 8 Final Summary

Thanks for taking a look at my photography
@brianhphotos

Sort:  

I'm a little familiar with focus stacking, but I've never tried it. Seamless and such beautiful shots. I love macro photography. I really appreciate that you've both done tutorials for focus stacking and included the links in this post. I will most definitely check them out.

Thank you. I hope you find my tutorials useful.

You're welcome and I'm sure that I will.

 3 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad first place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Also, and in case you didn't yet, feel free to join our Black And White Community.

Thank you. I'm really excited to have taken first place.

These are fantastic shots, I'm liking spring as more insects etc start to appear, although, it's been too windy to do much macro, I'm using a Sony A7iii with a Sigma 105mm Macro (Canon fit), but I also have a Raynox DCR-250 to pop on the macro lens, I'm itching to really try that out.

Thanks Darren, Focus stacking is out of the question outdoors unless it's dead still, so I generally bring my subjects indoors to shoot them.

I'm assuming the Raynox increases your magnification to 2.5:1 so with the Sony and Sigma you have a great macro setup.

I'm looking forward to seeing some of your new macro shots soon.