Cloudy Day Ramble

It's one of those dreary days, cloudy, cold, and wet, where you don't want to even set foot outside. Or just an average day in the Pacific Northwest. The sort of day where you try and set your mind to a task and it immediately wanders off.

Not that mine needs any encouragement. Winter ain't even officially begun and it has already snowed here. Some years we don't see snow til January or February but this ain't shaping up to be one of those years.

I hate cold weather, if I never saw winter again it'd still be too soon. When moon? I need hive to make me rich so I can shuttle between hemispheres and never see winter again.

Until that happens I'm going to need a plan b. We're fast approaching peak competitive consumption season, may have to resume my search for the American Dream. Normally I avoid shopping malls like the plague but the holiday season seems like a perfect time to plunge into the heart of darkness.

Pretty sure they'll be going the way of five and dime stores and FTX before too much longer. Speaking of FTX, the media coverage of that mushroom cloud has been entertaining. It's almost as if there's a sort of collective amnesia in regards to crypto. Oh no, something bad happened, better cue up the breathless 'Is this the end of crypto' drivel again.

One article I was reading was carrying on about 'contagion' and now I would really like to know how what happened at FTX is supposed to spread to a DEX?

These last couple photos I'm including color versions as well just for @daveks . Most of the time I prefer black and white shots but every once in a while I take a liking to the color.

With the exception of the third photo, these are all from Rocky Mountain National Park in Colorado. The third one is also in the Rockies in Colorado but it's the Flatirons outside Boulder.

Now who's got some bad ideas they'd like to share?

Sort:  

I prefer the black and white, but am grateful you aren't biased against colour photos, of which I like the second one and as this sentence runs on and on I'm also going to add no "period" since those are supposed to be aggressive these days and also add that I want the mountains that it's way too flat here for my liking but oh well and way to go with the relaxing intro that goes into some kind of delicious ranty thing, yeah, winter doesn't like you either and how the heck would you know what summer even is without winter to compare it to, how about those apple fapple fritters not critters and the absolute apple seed come hither at the end of....

Now who's got some bad ideas they'd like to share?

I'd love to, but, I have a rep for inciting reactive responses when I do so.

A good part of the reason I mostly do b&w is I have trouble getting the color balance right. I edit on a shitty laptop so the monitor is anything but calibrated. Lol, I was born and raised in the mountains, we have a few hills hear but its still too flat for me too. I wrote the first paragraph and then spent the next twelve hours trying to figure how to follow it up before giving up and just freewriting.

winter doesn't like you either

Good, maybe then it'll stay the hell away from me. Summer would just be 'weather' if it wasn't for winter, I'd be quite happy having never made its acquaintance and not knowing what summer is.

I'd love to, but, I have a rep for inciting reactive responses when I do so.

I am a bit familiar with that sort of thing, still if you're going to do the time you might as well do the crime.

That's a surprise, wouldn't have thought that would be your reason for not so much with colour photos. B&W is always a fav for me, since that was how I started with photography. I just don't tend to do it now and am also of the opinion I'd need to get back up to speed in that department.

Must be hard then to be out of the mountains then. I forgot to mention that one of your mountain photos looks like a line of pyramids from the angle you shot it, which is cool.

I wrote the first paragraph and then spent the next twelve hours trying to figure how to follow it up before giving up and just freewriting.

😂No wonder it was so delightful to read. At least you don't do what I do, delete and start again, but then I'm heavy handed with the delete button.

I like your take on winter that you've expanded on. LOL! Admittedly, I prefer heat, humid heat that is over cold. Putting a positive spin, since it's now colder, it's that much closer to summer than it was in the summer time.

if you're going to do the time you might as well do the crime.

Bad ideas.......hmmmm.....a DEW + me

I'd always shot color when I was shooting film growing up, when I started shooting with a DSLR I started editing my shots and always seemed to oversaturate everything, so b&w was an easy way to avoid that. Plus with black and white, even if you overdo it on the contrast it just artistic :) I'm of the opinion it's like riding a bike, it all comes back to you once you start doing it again.

I've been out of them for a while so it's not quite as bad as it used to be but it's still annoying. I'd have moved back a long time ago if it was for them being some of the most poverty stricken parts of the country. Those are the Flatirons, in Boulder, CO.

Lol, actually I do do what you do, I'd written several paragraphs yesterday and was about half through (I thought) and then decided I didn't like the tone/theme of them and got rid of all but the first. I do copy and paste the stuff I delete into notepad and save a copy so I can use it later if I change my mind.

Dry heat is just weird to me but I'll still take it over cold. It may be closer but I still don't feel any warmer...

DEW?

My assumptions about crypto trends: when the bears are loudest, we're probably at the bottom. When bulls bellow loudest, assume there's a peak soon. I'm hearing a lot of noisy bears with no fundamental objections, just noise. The recent price drop strikes me as a bad reaction from people who don't understand the real problem: Not your keys? Not your coins. The whole point is decentralization, and you jumped on a centralized hype train.

Yeah, sounds like we're on pretty much the same page. It seems to come down to a lack of understanding but after how many times we've been through all this already it's starting to get a little absurd. It's almost as if they have no clue why crypto exists in the first place. I'm not complaining, I'm glad for the opportunity to accumulate more :)

Very nice. As I’ve also mentioned to @daveks in the past I do love me some mountains 😄

Thanks! They are hard to beat! On an unrelated note, how's Jamaica treating y'all?

So far so good. Just relaxing this first week. Will be headed out and about in the coming weeks

Congratulations @coloneljethro! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 41000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 42000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - 50000 Ecency Points added to the prize pool!
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 4500 HIVE prize pool

Congratulations @coloneljethro! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with the following badge:

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - New Sponsor - 50000 Ecency Points added to the prize pool!
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 4500 HIVE prize pool

These pictures are great. I also open my eyes when I see color pictures after a few pictures to black and white

 last year  Reveal Comment

Thank you, they are some lovely mountains :)