Mobile Photography in B & W

The overwhelming majority of what I post on here is photos taken with one of my DSLRs, either my old D5000 or the D610 I use now (Nikons). I'm something of a Neo-Luddite and refused to get a smartphone until a couple years ago, so my skills with a phone camera leave much to be desired. Every now and then I manage to hold my mouth just right and get a good one but it isn't a regular occurrence. These three were a few of my favorites from this summer.

mobile 2.jpg

This first one happened entirely by accident. This was from the first time a militia was supposed to show up in downtown Louisville this summer, police had brought in city dump trucks to block the streets near the site of the protests. I'd been trying to get a few shots of the trucks with my phone when this person rode between them. My phone is old and creaky and sometimes takes several seconds to shoot a photo after you hit the button so it's pure luck that it actually managed to capture this one.

mobile 1.jpg

For my birthday this summer my pandemic partner and I went to Jefferson Memorial Forest to hike and take photos. We'd just got there when we saw the butterfly flittering about and landing on flowers but it was raining a bit so I didn't want to get my 610 out so I just took photos of it with my phone.

mobile 3.jpg

This is my new favorite reflection selfie! The Speed Art Museum is located on the University of Louisville's campus and was doing an Andy Warhol exhibit this summer. Once the lockdown eased up enough that they'd let a few people in the door at a time we went and took a look at it. I hadn't realized until I saw the exhibit that he was a devout Catholic, these are some of the relics from when he got to meet the pope.

Anybody have particular occasions where you prefer to use a smartphone camera over a DSLR? I tend to underestimate phone cameras because I'm not very good with them, maybe one of these days I will get them figured out. What's your favorite thing to shoot with (aside from firearms)?

Sort:  

We've actually talked about this some. I use my 3300 Nikon when I am traveling or when I know I'm going to be at a photo op. I have a relatively new Apple SE phone that really takes surprisingly good photos. I use my phone often. When I see something out on the desert that I need to record and identify or even sometimes, good photography.

In flower season I'll take one walk with the Nikon. Otherwise its all phone. All my sidewinder pictures and video are from a phone...

I recall that. I have an old Samsung S5, my main issue is that I can't control it the way i can my nikons. Usually I end up using it when I can't use the nikon for one reason or another. It is good when the light is bad or I need to be a bit covert.

I have to take the photos and then edit. There's enough MP that I can stand a lot of crop (zoom). It's not the same by any means, but it's also easy carry all the time.

The Nikon takes better photos, no way around it. But the best camera is the one you have with you...

 3 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Also, and in case you didn't yet, feel free to join our Black And White Community.

Nice pix. Best one is last shot of Pope John Paul II, your reflection was perfect.

Excellent phone photos. I seldom use my phone camera. I have issues with my left hand and I tend to drop the phone when I attempt to hold it to take a picture and press the button. Occasionally I risk it because my Pixel phone does take nice images and my photo taking efforts with my cameras is not so great these days, either!
I love that shot with the dump trucks... Perfect timing!

Thanks! I decided to play around with instagram during the lockdown and that was largely what got me doing stuff with the phone. I am generally not impressed with my results but occasionally I manage to get something good.

Lol, it was pure luck that the phone actually took the photo while the guy was riding between them but I'll take it!