Randoms From The Road In B&W

inland seagull.jpg

It's 1:30 in the morning here and I've been sitting here listening to music and editing photos and trying to write a post but I haven't been making much progress on the writing front. A cat just crawled into my lap so I'm sure that will help things :D I've been working my way through the photos from my recent adventure but I'm listening to the Supersuckers and the music just don't fit writing about that.

I have a decent collection of photos that I've edited but haven't quite figured out how to work into a post so I rounded up some of my favorites and am going to ramble for a bit about them. The first photo is from several years ago in DC, I'm pretty sure that's a seagull but if so it had migrated just a bit (didn't see any coconuts though).

track marks.jpg

I call this second one Track Marks, it's some disused and seemingly abandoned train tracks in northeastern Kentucky. There's more and more of this in the state as the coal industry dies its long, drawn out death. I have an idea for a project that I'm trying to flesh out, but basically I want to go shoot the death throes of coal and capture all the destruction and detritus it leaves behind. Anybody else live somewhere where an industry that's long been important is in the process of dying out?

barge and bridge.jpg

Speaking of coal, this is a photo of a coal barge passing under an old railroad bridge over the Ohio River here in Louisville. I did a post on that a little while back but didn't edit this until later. On a totally unrelated note, here's some more Supersuckers for y'all.

Sounds like good music for a party, no? This next photo is Party Time from the second night of protests here in Louisville last year. That was my first night at the protests but the night before seven people had been shot and tear gas and pepper balls were used in abundance so everybody was prepped for things to get crazy again that night.

Party time 1 s.jpg

It's kinda wild how quickly things change sometimes. This was taken at the end of May and less than two months later the shields had largely disappeared and shotguns, AKs & ARs and pistols aplenty had taken their place. As one speaker told the out of town press "Welcome to Guntucky".

reflecting pool wading.jpg

And now for something completely different! This one is another from DC, the guy in the water is wading in the Lincoln Memorial Reflecting Pool. He was retrieving a frisbee that had went for a swim and his companion seemed to be enjoying the situation far more than he was (it was late March so that water was cold!).

shaker landscape 2.jpg

I thought I'd close with one from my recent adventure at Shaker Village. It was surrounded by rolling hills and farmland and was a rather lovely, peaceful place to relax and celebrate the end of 2020. That's enough out of me, it's getting a bit past my bed time, I'll catch y'all when the sun comes back around.