Shaker Symmetry In B&W

hallway shot 1.jpg

Aside from their religious views and practices, the Shakers were well known for their innovation, craftmanship and workmanship. My first exposure to Shakers and Shaker Village was when we stayed at Pleasant Hill while my father took a class in making Shaker boxes (color photo of which can be seen here).

Bedroom symmetry.jpg

I don't know if the mirror was deliberately placed where it was but the seeming symmetry of it just caught my eye and I had to get a shot. This is in one of the bedrooms (they lived communally so several women would be sharing this room).

basement symmetry.jpg

This was in the basement of one of the large 'Family' dwelling buildings (the families were not necessarily related but groups that lived together). I've never been anywhere that had two separate sets of basement steps that close together but it is a good illustration of some of the random bits of symmetry the Shakers seemed to enjoy.

building and fence symmetry.jpg

I've probably taken this symmetry thing about as far as is tolerable so I will wrap this up. I find it interesting that these people were the total opposite of the Amish in their approach and adoption of technology. I would love to see what they might have come up with if they'd survived and kept at it until modern times with that attitude.

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Happy Sunday @coloneljethro, got anything going on today?

Thanks for another one, you've yet to disappoint. I like that stairs one too. Good call with the cover image.

Happy Sunday @dandays! Not much going on in this neck of the woods, just working on finishing up my submission to Sony's photography competition. What about y'all?

Thanks for stopping by once again! I'm going to have to go back there with a lens that'll go to the lower f stops. If y'all ever find yourself near Lexington it's only a short drive away, I recommend checking it out.

 3 years ago  

Congratulations. Today's #monomad second place is yours. Thank You very much for participating.

Also, and in case you didn't yet, feel free to join our Black And White Community.

Thank y'all so much!

Nice pix.

Thanks! It's a lovely place to wander around and take photos :)