The Goose Is Loose!

Goose 2 s.jpg

It's Christmas Eve hereabouts but aside from the temperature it sure don't feel like it. There's not to be much in the way of traveling and visiting tomorrow due to covid, just a drive by visit to my mom's place. My youngest brother lives with her but since he just got put on a 14 day quarantine he's confined to the basement, so we will all be celebrating separately.

It's not the right season to be taking photos of geese around here so I thought it fitting for this unChristmas-y Christmas. The one in the photo above did not deign me worthy of his attention but the one below is a different story. That one got its photo taken because it wouldn't stop trying to bite me. I was grilling out beside a lake in Jefferson Memorial Forest and spent much of it trying to keep that S.O.B. from biting my legs. Between that and the strange bumps on its beak (is that normal for geese?) I figured it was at least worthy of a mugshot.

goose 2.jpg

The reduced schedule of festivities should make Christmas a lot more relaxed, I'm kinda looking forward to it. I'm curious, are your Christmas plans significantly altered this year? Are you saying to hell with it and sticking to tradition? Do you celebrate Christmas at all? Is competitive consumerism as much a feature of it where you are as it is here?

Merry Christmas you miscreants!

And for those that don't observe it

Happy Holidays dammit!

Y'all have a good one!

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!