Pictures from the distance, my entry to today's Monomad Challenge.

Today's photographs are not pretty, I know that and I must accept it, but in my self-learning in photography I have tried different styles to improve in each one of them, and one that catches my attention is documentary photography, although in theory we could say that all photography is documentary since we capture a moment in time that will not be repeated, that is why I want to tell you about these photographs.

documental-2.jpg

Every year the coast of Nayarit is full of people who come down from the high sierra to work in the crops, and we can see families working all day, they bring children, babies, pregnant women and even two or three wives because in the sierra it is still traditional for men to have more than one wife, that is their culture, they can be very closed to modernity, they like their lifestyle and it is difficult to approach for example to take pictures of them, that is why I took the pictures from a distance.

documental.jpg

Coming down from the mountains seasonally, it is easier for them to take refuge under a tree and improvise a shelter from the sun during the day, although as we can see they also put some cloth as a roof for the night, they cook with firewood they collect in the field and eat food that they hunt themselves, their idea is to make money, not spend money, so they take advantage of what they have available in their own way.

documental-3.jpg

For us who have another type of more liberal and modern culture, it is difficult to understand why women decide to embrace their culture and support their husband having more than one wife, and it is even difficult to find information about it as if someone wanted to hide this truth, although for the people of Nayarit this is a subject that everyone knows about.

documental-4.jpg

Maybe on my next visit I can get some pictures, I started talking to them, but it is a slow process that will take me a few weeks to get to take the pictures I have in mind, for now I can only settle with these pictures from the distance.