I'm Talking About Freedom

in The Kingdom3 years ago

In my anguish I cried to the Lord and He answered by setting me free. - Psalm 118:5

Many people are selective on which parts of themselves they bring to God in prayer. Some hesitate to approach God about traits they consider shameful. Others are used to living with these painful feelings - loneliness, fear, guilt, shame - that it never occurs to them to ask for help in dealing with those things. Still, others get so preoccupied with their struggles that they forget to pray at all.

That is not what God intended for us. We're not meant to suffer alone, without His love. All the hurting parts of us, He wants to heal. Even the ones that have been with us so long, they feel like they are physically part of us. We carry them wherever we go, unaware of how much they impact us. We really should be carrying God's love with us instead.

God wants to help us walk in freedom.

ocean2203720_640.jpg

These painful patterns we've created are what we need to break. The next time you are about to walk in your shame or whatever negative feeling you are having, try repeating these words;

Lord, I surrender all to You.
Wash me with your cleansing Love and help me to know in my heart that I am truly healed in You.

Then you have to do the hard part...repeat it again, in faith and actually DO IT.

Trust me, He's got you.

Repeat the words everyday and you'll start to experience healing in your spirit as you grow free. Once you start to experience God's love, you start to feel comfort in the fact that no matter what, He loves you and you are indeed enough in His eyes.

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. - Romans 8:1

Sort:  

Feeling like I am not enough is still a struggle for me because for too many years I listened to the wrong people in my life. It takes a long time to erase those feelings. Sometimes they just don't go away. I like that prayer. Thank you!

I feel that too way too. I have been through a long journey with my mental health and have found my niche in Peer Support. All the troubles I had, became strengths as I can relate to people who I help in the Psychiatric Hospital. Now I'm kind of at a point where I don't feel inferior or superior. I have special gifts God has given me, and others have theirs and we all work together. I agree too with @jangle as we don't need to feel shame if we have accepted God's forgiving grace.

That's a wonderful way to look at it, @johnandgrace. Learning to accept ourselves and recognize that we have something unique to offer the world is huge. So happy to hear that you have found your niche. Enjoy your day! 😀



Made in Canva

@lisamgentile1961
___

Very well said. It sounds like you have found peace of mind and that's awesome! ❤️

I struggle with it constantly. I mean no disrespect and the following statement is based on my own experience but a lot of that for me is because I was raised catholic. It really leads us down a path of shame sometimes when we are constantly living in a state of penance instead of living in God's grace and mercy. I am happy the prayer helped you. It's not easy, I don't pretend it is. Some days are easier than others! Appreciate your comment, Lisa :)

No disrespect taken, Janelle. I totally get it. When I was getting ready to make my First Communion (won't even say how long ago that was, LOL), we had to first have our First Confession. That was a bit of a terrifying experience. We had to say the Act of Contrition and even though my parents practiced it with me when I got into the confessional I froze and couldn't utter a word of it. The priest who was in there to listen to our confessions was very old school. I had to stay in there for quite sometime until I was able to recite it. And seriously, I was six years old. I am sure my confession was pretty boring. They have renamed/rebranded that Sacrament and call it the Sacrament of Reconciliation now. They are trying though. 😀



Made in Canva

@lisamgentile1961
___

Ugh. That's awful. I also had to do the same thing (remember and recite the act of contrition.... "O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended Thee, and I detest all my sins because of thy just punishments, but most of all because they offend Thee, my God..." etc etc LOL)

The priest wasn't terrifying at all, but the situation was! I don't think most Catholics are bad I just think the church itself is a little....misguided as far as scripture goes.

I really try not to judge. It's a personal walk with God and we all have our misguided moments, I'm sure!

Right, @jangle! I have some issues with the Church but there are still things I feel connected to around it. I am pretty sure I will never completely abandon my faith even though it has lapsed a bit. But yes, we are all on our own journey with God. Have a great week! 😀



Made in Canva

@lisamgentile1961
___

You too! :D

Hey, @jangle! Hope your week was great and your weekend is even better! Happy Saturday!😀



Made in Canva

@lisamgentile1961
___

Congratulations @jangle! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project