My Personal Bible Study Tools

in The Kingdom4 years ago

The Kingdom Fund.png

It's set!

We'll be meeting in the Discord room this Saturday evening at 9pm eastern (October 24th)!

We've been going over what to study, how to study and when...Which 1 out of 3 have been answered so far lol

The thought was leaning towards the book of Acts, but I'm up for any suggestions as well. I want everyone in The Kingdom community to get a ton of value from this study, so whatever you guys have questions about...Let @jangle or I know :)

Here's a few tools that I have used for Bible study over the years, I hope it can prep you for Saturday night:

A Bible

Ummm obviously!! Thanks Captain Obvious, but you'd be surprised how many Christians, don't even open this book. And while we all have preferences over which version to use, the important thing is (at least to me) actually USE and read the thing!

Like...Really use it!

IMG_2199.jpg

(That's my Mom's Bible...She's had it for decades, and her thumb has been on that thing so much as you can see on the right, it's wore down the front cover and a few pages inside it...THAT's how we should this 'Bible' thing ;)

Prayer

I think we sometimes over complicate this, but the best thing about a relationship with God is...He actually WANTS you to talk to Him.

It might seem foolish at first, like you are talking to yourself, but believe me...He's hearing you loud and clear. And when it comes to a good study of scripture, you MUST ask for the Holy Spirit to be with you.

Let God be your teacher, and help everyone in the study understand His promise and message!

A Concordance

There's app versions of the Strong's Exhaustive Concordance, but I like the 'Real McCoy' ;)

IMG_2257.jpg

It's so important to remember, that the Bible wasn't originally written in English...And sometimes we get stuck on a word that makes us scratch our heads....

Using a concordance will help us reveal and discover God's true meaning behind His message. This is a must have tool for in depth study...I love it!

Personal Study Guides

There is a time and place for personal study, and nothing has helped me more than study guides...

IMG_2259.jpg

These are step by step lessons into different topics in the Bible. What's so cool about them, is that they are done in question and answer format...So you have to dig into your Bible to find the answers.

IMG_2262.jpg

I LOVE these things, it's almost an obsession of mine to complete them. I've gone through so many but my personal favorites are here:

It Is Written Study Guides

The Blueprint - God's GPS

Truth Link

Amazing Facts Study Guides

Each one of these were awesome! It's pretty much my hobby these days, to complete these self-guided study guides...Look out, it's addicting :)

And above all else....

A Humble Spirit

Prayer is a must, but if you don't have the right mindset, I don't think you will ever 'get' what God is trying to show you...

Come to a bible study, open and ready to learn new things. It's remarkable what God can show us, when we open our heart and mind to Him!

I look forward to seeing you guys on Saturday!

Sort:  

This is a fantastic post! I never thought of a concordance. There is an app? I'll look that up for Saturday. Getting pretty excited for this :)

Yup, Strongs Concordance should come up on your phone's app store.

Congratulations @jonsjourney! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month