You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Raspberry Pi 400 reminds me of my early computing days

in Raspberry Pi3 years ago

Oh Boy.

Being a child of the 80s (first computer - Acorn Atom, forerunner to the Beeb), that just gets the juices flowing.

I need one. No idea what I'd use it for, but that's a secondary issue when GAS kicks in! (Though @darrenflinders recent post may be a clue...)

It is a lovely thing, indeed.

Sort:  

But did you build your own Atom from a kit or buy one ready-made? lol

Oh, well remembered!

Mine was prebuilt....

I never had an Atom, but the Beeb was a quality machine. This just looks so neat. I don't have a real need for it either, but why should that stop us?

!ENGAGE 20

Haha - indeed. We'll figure it out when we get it!

The Atom was really shonky - I have fond memories of swapping 2114 RAM chips depending on what I wanted to do - it had 6k text and 6k video RAM. I only had about 8k in total (I think), so if I wanted 'hi-res' graphice I'd pullsome chips and pop them in the video RAM. However, if I needed more space for code, I had to put it back in the text back.

Happy Days...

Still got it upstairs...

I bought the chips to upgrade my Beeb to the full 32k! Can't remember what that cost, but just had to put them in the sockets. I needed to be able to play games like Elite. I only ever used cassette with it as a floppy drive cost a lot. Happy days indeed.

I sold mine many years later when having a clear-out. I hate getting rid of stuff generally as there is often regret.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.