Axie Infinity - Happy to sell vs Have to sell

in Axie Buzz3 years ago (edited)

A random messaged me on discord this week to enquire about the availability of one of my Axies.

This Axie has one Japanese part (retired parts, therefore attracting collectors’ interest, especially as they are being priced out of more rare Axies like mystics) and is a zero-breed dusk. At the time when this person enquired the floor price for zero-breed Japanese ‘secret class’ (dusk, dawn, mech) Axies was 12.45 ETH. My first thought when asked at what price would I sell, was that I’m not selling. At this point I hadn’t really comprehended immediately what 12.45 ETH was ‘in real life’. I kept coming back to it, mulling it over - it was about 23,000 USD (cha-ching!). I like this Axie but do I like it more than 23,000 USD? Already I started thinking about how I would re-invest that amount! So I got back to the random discord user with the price of 12.45 ETH. Unsurprisingly, this was their reaction -

Well, you asked bud! I wonder if they were hoping I was a n00b and didn’t even realise that it’s a very rare Axie?!

It made me think about the price at which I would be ‘happy to sell’ a lot of my Axies. Some folks put their Axies up for crazy nose-bleed-high prices. In most cases, they don’t realistically expect them to sell for those prices but if things happened to get crazy fast and they did sell, it would be for a life-changing amount. It also made me think about the bigger question, 'What am I doing in crypto?'. A big part of it is to make life-changing amounts of money from small bets. Axie Infinity is one of those opportunities. As a result, I listed some of my Axies for ‘happy to sell’ prices. I don’t have to sell, I can bide my time and wait.

So, these were the Axies I listed for ‘happy to sell’ prices this week -

  • Both my secret class Japanese Axies - 12.4 ETH (one dusk, one dawn - I actually wrote a post a couple of months back with my thesis for buying this pair)
  • My recent Christmas-Japanese part crossover - 26.48 ETH (I absolutely love this Axie. I don’t understand why collectors aren’t going crazy for these crossovers!)
  • Daisy, another recent purchase, a low ID early Japanese part Axie - 3.949 ETH
  • My mystic Axie - 103.076 ETH (bahahaha!)

I’ve set a monthly recurring reminder to monitor these but I think I’ve got a pretty good buffer and I wouldn’t want to get too greedy!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mrhill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 28000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 29000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation