Where is it Wednesday??? - Photo Games, Season 3, Week 1

in PhotoGames3 years ago (edited)

Where is it?

where is it wednesday-week 1.jpg

About the photo

Taken outside. The sky looked like it had no chance of a great sunset but then BOOM, color! I had to pull over to get some shots while my family sat in the car, slightly less intrigued by the colorful sky.
This was taken in 2020 with a Sony A6400.

linebreak.png

RULES & HOW TO PLAY

  1. For this FiveWs-Wednesday I would like you to guess Where is it?
  2. Only one guess per person, per post.
  3. No editing your guess - you have to commit!
  4. For this game you have until Friday 10 PM MST
  5. Scoring: Is done using Hive Tips on your responses.
    My scoring will be:
    15 HIVE for the person who gets the closest location, the more precise the better. I'll use 7 HIVE to divvy up to any supporters of a location or a second place location.

linebreak.png

THIS WEEKS GAMES

To see this week's photo stars and their games go to All active official photogames

The more games you play the more opportunity to move up the leaderboard.
Not competitive? You are welcome to play games at your leisure.


NEW TO THE PHOTOGAMES?

Other Important Posts
History and the reboot of PhotoGames
Season 3 announcement
Scoring, winning and detailed FAQ
PeakD financial sponsorship and upgrades to C/PhotoGames

Beneficiary
Reminder all posts in C/Photogames are required to have a 10% beneficiary to @photogames.pool to increase the game rewards.

Sort:  

I'll Guess Colorado....

Because of the Color?

Get it Color-ado? 🙃
Man, you keep setting these up for me, haha

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

It is a highway in western California.

Thanks for the contest, it really is very difficult. @caseygrimley

 3 years ago  

Hello @soyunasantacruz, welcome to the PhotoGames community!

Please subscribe and follow/read the community rules on PhotoGames Community home page

To learn more about PhotoGames and how to play please read PhotoGames History and info about Season 3 which runs from May 17- July 12, 2021.

Enjoy the games!

Thank you very much, I will read the rules.

 3 years ago  

right about here

Screenshot 2021-05-20 at 20.32.58.png

That was some very decent zoom you used ;)

untitled.gif

 3 years ago  

@katimar it is incredible how @r00sj3 can pinpoint the exact location of anywhere in the world!

@r00sj3 you got it. How though? I assume my reply to @sjarvie5 about being in Yellowstone helped?

 3 years ago  

yes, that did help. Plus @jarvie comment about it having a national park feel with the pull offs :) But I was already searching around the states surrounding Utah that you seem to have visited a few times anyway...

@caseygrimley she's amazing. I bet you didn't even know that specifically where you were when you pulled off!

 3 years ago  

very sweet, but you're giving me way too much credit ;) It took me hours to find the location and was only lucky enough to click on the right road at some point.

@r00sj3 I'm glad to hear it took so long, haha. Next week I'll stump you for sure. 😁
@sjarvie5 I knew exactly where I was when I took the photo, I was with my whole family in several cars and we were in the lead but got cut off from the rest of the cars die to see bison crossing so I was out taking photos and video for a good while.

skynet strikes again :D

Yellowstone, Wyoming

Oh good guess, I did do that trip to Yellowstone with @jarvie in 2020, I wonder if he remembers this sunset. 🤔

Dang I needed a trip with the family not @jarvie!

i would go with Utah :D

if i has to go specific, for no apparent reason as i know 0 about Utah :) somewhere on the road to Mirror Lake

That's a solid guess since I live in Utah, and I did take a trip on the Mirror Lake highway last summer....you stalking me bro?

they changed stalking to following so it sounds less creepy :D

i first thought about that road trip video but the scenery looks nothing like in the photo. so i went to search for something in utah that looks at least similar :D

 3 years ago  

This seems tricky. No idea so I'm just going to say 'somewhere in North Dakota' 🤞

Does seem a bit like what North Dakota might look like, maybe...

flat ground with hills that have pines meaning it's likely high planes and yet very COUNTRY... hmmm maybe a bit of big sky so that would lead me to Montana. BUT... we have a very typical National Park pull off... but it's a small pull off meaning it's either a small pull off or part of the park that doesn't get a lot of traffic. And the road does say it's not a popular park so maybe it's not a national park but a state park.
BUT... maybe that's throwing me off. So i'm gonna go with a safe bet and say Tetons and believe that you're throwing us off because it's not the big mountains but either north or east facing away from the mountains. Also my other guess was yellowstone but @sjarvie5 already said it.

It is on the other side of the world from my home and that's as close as I can get :)
Beautiful shot though!