FiveW-Wednesday (Who & Why)- Photo Games, Season 3, Week 8

in PhotoGames3 years ago

FiveW-Wednesday (Who & Why)- Photo Games, Season 3, Week 8

Tell me WHO and WHY?

y.jpg

photo shot at Yellow Mountain, China



Many of us have been influenced by others on our photography journey, and for this FiveWs-Wednesday, I would like you to tell me WHO has inspired you and WHY? It can be an old master photographer, a contemporary filmmaker or artist, or simply a fellow enthusiast in your town... You only need to pick one of them and tell me why he/she has inspired your photography. Your own example photos is a bonus but not required.

Considering most users here are more familiar with Western photographers, I'm introducing to you a few Chinese photographers that have inspired me. All of them were born in East China (and me too, as well as my head photo here :)), and their works share a certain traditional painting style that I adore.

The most internationally known (if any) one is probably 何藩(HE Fan or Fan Ho), the master of lights and shadows;

Another forefather is 郎静山(LANG Jingshan), who was the first Chinese photographer to take artistic nude shots, and created the unique "composite photography" technique;

孙郡(SUN Jun) is a contemporary pioneer adopting an elaborate-style painting (another traditional school is free-sketch painting) in his photos.

linebreak.png

RULES & HOW TO PLAY

  1. Comment with your WHO and WHY.
  2. Submissions are due by: Saturday at 8pm Central European Time.

SCORING

I will be giving HIVE TIPS to winners which will translate to PhotoGames points on the Leaderboard

  • Game: "FiveW-Wednesday (Who & Why)"

5 HIVE to each of my favorite 3 comments

linebreak.png

PLAY MORE GAMES

Competitive or Not... You are welcome to play games at your leisure.
There are 4 more PhotoStars organizing games all week long
Visit "All active official PhotoGames Collection"


PHOTOGAMES LINKS

Other Important Posts

Beneficiary Reminder
All posts in C/Photogames are required to have a 40% beneficiary to @photogames.pool to increase the game rewards.

Sort:  

Those mountains in China inspire me fantasy. Thanks @itchyfeetdonica.

I'm not a profesional photographer and I've shooted till now, only with my not so good quality cellphone cameras. But this is the reason from which I was inspied by someone who said some words to me.

WHO?
My friend Carlitos, fellow traveler partner and life brother of so many adventures. He neither is a photographer, but I like his view of life and these are the words he said.

WHY?
"Doesn't matter if you have a super camera; what matters is the exact moment and perspective you are witnessing, the unique capture of a happening in space and time."

This made me conscious about my (our) power to capture images that deserve to be shared. So I can shoot with whatever camera I can, if the light is right and I find an intetesting story to tell.😃

I'll check the Chinese that inspired you right now!

Cheers!

FB_IMG_1507303315304.jpg

Shot with my Samsung pocket in some place between Jaipur and Jaosalmer, Rajasthan/India.

Your mobile phone shot is awesome, love it! Lots of us here are not professional photographers either, and your friend has said very wise words.

Your comment reminds me of this youtube channel: The Photographic Eye, its slogan is: Celebrating The Images, Not The Gear. Hope you will enjoy it like I do. :)

Haha, thks! I'll check it out!
See you around! 🙏

 3 years ago  

Hello @palimanali, welcome to the PhotoGames community!

Please subscribe and follow/read the community rules on PhotoGames Community home page

To learn more about PhotoGames and how to play please read PhotoGames History

Thks @photogames!
I'm honoured to be playing un this beautiful community!

Those are great words that your friend said and you took to heart. We can all share stories with each other!

I agree with @sjarvie5. Those are great words. And like @itchyfeetdonica, I love your photo. (I am an amateur, but I think you have an eye for photos.)
I have been shooting with my mobile for a while. And although sometimes I can't do what I could with a camera, there's much that still can be done.

Thks for your kind words!

From the old days when I tried to be serious about photography, I remember being dazzled by Ansel Adams’ breathtaking views and Henri Cartier-Bresson’s extraordinary timing and understanding of human nature. Back then, my thing was street photography, and Cartier-Bresson was my inspiration.

But I also liked nature photography. I still remember a time when, while leafing an American PHOTO issue, three pictures caught my attention. There was an article about a series by Jim Brandenburg. It had been published in a National Geographic Magazine issue that my parents had at home. When I could finally have it and appreciate it, I was enthralled. I just watched the photos again and again, as if trying to capture the light or something. I believe I have unknowingly been influenced by his photography since then, but I did not think of it until I read what @itchyfeetdonica asked. Most likely, every time I shoot one of the plants that grow in the garden, I try to capture the light the way Brandenburg does.

Nowadays, I find my inspiration in movies. That is something I had not realized until I started thinking my answer.
But all in all, I am also a bit of a stray dog, like @wnfdiary. I have been taking pictures of street scenes, daily life, plants, and tiny little things that not many people will notice. And I do not have a particular idea or photographer in mind. I just follow my eye. That is why I say what @sjarvie5 quoted: I see pictures everywhere. It is not that I am actively seeking, but that I see something and compose a picture in my mind. Then I say: “there is a picture there”; “this is a picture.”

Cartier-Bresson has influenced me too. I did more street photos before Covid and they took a large part in my posts here, especially when I just joined a few years ago. And Fan Ho is regarded by some as the Cartier-Bresson in China. :)
I just looked up Jim Brandenburg, stunning photos of nature and wildlife!
"I see pictures everywhere", this is so true, that's one of the reasons I always enjoy traveling alone (or with very patient families/friends), as no one will get frustrated when I have to stop everywhere to take photos. =)

Thanks for your answer. I went and looked up Jim Brandenburg. Beautiful. I think I was also influenced by the National Geographic magazines that were always in my home. Thanks for helping me remember that. There is so much inspiration all around us and it is fun to learn about other people's interests, like street photography, and want to see Henri Cartier-Bresson's photography.

I can say Cartier-Bresson is still my absolute favorite.
And what you say is true: inspiration is all around us.

Having National Geographic magazines at home has been wonderful. In the nineties, a friend gave me Odyssey: The Art of Photography at National Geographic as a present. Stunning photos in every page.

For me, it´s been the photography community of Hive (and Steem before) what has inspired, motivated and taught me the most :) So many great photographers here (including you Donica!) that it´s impossible to name them all :)

@tipu curate

Awww, that's so heartwarming! =) It's very true, I forgot to mention this important source. I also learnt a lot here. Thanks for reminding me!

Art Wolfe - Around 1996 or 1997 I had to do a report on a photographer for my 2nd black and white photography class. I chose Art Wolfe. I originally had no idea who he was but then I kept looking into him and his work and eventually became a fan and bought this book of his photos. It's packed with info and techniques on how he shot the images. It was incredibly informative and to be honest, I learned more from that book than the photography class... I still have the book, and I still follow and enjoy Art's work on social medias.
20210707_124027.jpg

 3 years ago  

Now I want that book too! :)

I forgot to mention. It's from the 35mm days. But a lot of the info about shooting is still the same.

 3 years ago  

no worries... I just ordered the book :D

Oh nice!!! I hope you got a good deal, it's been around a while.

The good old charm. Thanks for sharing! Great to have experienced photographers like you in this community. We can learn a lot from you! And you just got a buyer for his book here, good job! =)

And @scottshots, I just saw this photo on his website via your link, it's the same mountains as in my photo here, haha:

ymt.jpg
source: https://artwolfe.com/showcase/huangshan-china/

That is super cool!

Yep, and I discovered that the mountains in his photo are perfect to show how the Chinese pictograph character "山"(Shan, meaning "mountain") is formed (I used to teach Chinese to non-natives😄):

Shan.jpg

Ha! Glad another of Art's books was sold. I hope it's as informative as I remember... Very cool about the mountain character. Learned something new today, thank you. I tend to learn a lot of new things on hive:)

As a landscape photographer I have been influenced by Ansel Adams. He photographed a lot of America West. He talked about visualizing the image or "seeing it in the minds eye". I was really struck by @eolinde's description of herself on her Hive profile when she stated, "I see pictures everywhere." I do too. Sometimes I set up and visualize the scene for myself and sometimes I have a camera with me and I get to record it and share that with others. That is were the "Share our World" series was born.

When I was in the Tetons a few years ago I channeled my inner Ansel Adams to make the pictures on the left. I appreciate how he had a very realistic approach. The great artists of the Hudson River School who painted the America West in the late 1800's influenced both Ansel and myself.


Sara Jarvie
Oxbow Bend, Teton National Park, Wyoming, 2014


Super cool game @itchyfeetdonica

Thanks Sara! And yes Ansel Adams, one of the first American photographers I knew. Glad to learn about his "seeing it in the minds eye", before I only had impressions of his "slow photography" process, zone system and his concern about environment. Here's a page about him from a photography book I have... is that you posted a photo of that Glacier National Park in one photogame?

20210708_.jpg

And I missed your art talk posts when I was absent from here. Very interesting to get to know other Hudson River School painters now, since I only remember Thomas Cole. It's funny that in this art history book, it shows his Oxbow work too, but I think it's another river?

20210708.jpg

Wow that is fun that the picture of Adam's is Glacier. Cole's is in Massachusetts. Beautiful too. Yes, 2020 was a fun year for Art Talk. This year, I am doing monthly posts on architecture.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Oh, good idea!!

I'll pick the Dutch photographer Sanne Sannes who lived a short life between 1937 and 1967. He only photographed about 8 years of his life. During his studies as (artistic) painter he switched to photography. What intrigues me about him, is that he used his painters-background in photography. Back then, everything was on film... and he manipulated the films to achieve the final image that he had in mind. That way, he is more of an image-creator than a photographer. And very modern for his time...without tools as photoshop to help you do it.

Almost all his work is in the category "Erotic", but always very tasteful. I won't post the work I created with this in the back of my head, since I don't want to put my models online. But his work taught me that less is more and closeups work especially well in erotic photography...and that photography is more than just using a camera. Creating an image is almost like painting. And it will be my goal to learn this more and more.

20210707_221139.jpg

Cool works! Those closeups are indeed very powerful. Do you know the Japanese photographer Nobuyoshi Araki? He also did lots of inspiring b&w erotic works.

 3 years ago  

Didn't know him. I love that he does stuff with bondage. I think I can safely share this photo from my erotics series :D

_DSC7466.jpg

Hmmm, lots of room for imagination... you can even do a Whichpartisit Wednesday next time. ;)

 3 years ago  

lol :D

I will be honest with you. I am like a stray dog, left on a street and then on his own. I don't know what is the deal with me, but I haven't idealized anyone since I was a child. Sure I know there are great names in every art direction but I simply don't have a need for accumulation that visuals.

A visit to the gallery is super nice, I love the works, think about them and there it stops. I don't check artists or try to find more works... Live in a moment and enjoy it. But what about photography? I maybe know 5 great names in photography and that is it. Or I will rephrase. I can recall a photo but can't connect it with the name. Why is that I don't know? Maybe I don't want others to influence me. For the same reason, I can't understand "influencers" on Instagram. Who are the people following and WHY?

Here is how I probably differ from many. No ideals, no influences just pure creativity. But somewhere it did start. I fell in love with the power of ART. With the idea of how someone can produce something that invokes feelings in another person. I like photo manipulation or extreme photoshop editing.
So maybe that is the reason I got into photography. That feeling of power I have. Pencils and brushes were not that exciting as a camera.
edit-my-raw.jpg
One of my works

What you said makes total sense. Everyone is different, and that's the beauty. Speaking of stray dogs, I'm an off-the-wall weirdo to most of my fellow countrymen, meanwhile I'm a crazy abnormal Asian to many Westerners, but who cares, I can claim I'm a global citizen... ;)

I don't have any idols either, but I believe many of us have been influenced to some point. Or "influence" might not be the proper word due to my language limit, I didn't mean those so-called influencers with a large following online, but it can be anyone including a fellow traveler or a Hiver, as said by some other comments here. Your photo manipulation artists are an excellent example too. The point of this game is to communicate our ideas and to inspire others.

I'm not idealizing you, but I still admire your Photoshop skills. Did you learn it all by yourself or you might be "influenced" by some tutorials made by someone? If that's the case, your recommendations will also be appreciated. :)

Influence is a good word here, and I do understand you. Probably some were influenced me without knowledge of being influenced at all. Maybe I have a fear of being influenced, with that I would lose my integrity my originality? Maybe, but yes as you said at some point I was influenced.

Ah yes, admiration is a great word. Somehow I work similarly in all aspects. I love movies, I like some actors but when someone asks me what movies should I watch? I just freeze. IDK, I don't have any recommendations, probably the ones you like :)lol OK EXCEPT AMERICAN DINNER (that's one of the best movies lately).

As you said, I learned it mostly by myself through videos and books. Sadly, I don't have any recommendations here either. It was always "I am feeling lucky search". But I am glad for this photogame, I will get some great recommendations and yes artworks from these guys are stunning. And after all, YOU guys here on Hive can be my inspiration - a lot of great works and dedication.

Is Dinner in America (2020) the movie you said? After I copied AMERICAN DINNER into search engine, the surrounding restaurants popped up. 😂

Sorry. Yes, this one, Dinner in America (2020). See I don't even know the titles :). Please watch it and let me know what do you think.

Love the beautiful color contrasts! May I ask whether the Huangshan photo was taken predawn or predusk? Just to clarify that I never intentionally aspire to be a photographer but I do admire the artworks of others and it is a great way to store memories.

WHO?
Ian TEH

WHY?
His photographic journeys inspire me to continue discovering the world at my own pace. Life despite its many flaws is still worthwhile living especially so when a seemingly crazy feat was attempted such as the desert reclamation project.

My Huangshan photo was taken just after sunrise. :)

Life despite its many flaws is still worthwhile living...

Nicely stated! Ian TEH's reportage is truly thought-provoking, and his photos for that project look very different from the showcased works on his website. I enjoy that variety of styles he presents. Thank you for sharing this!

Thank you for your kind reply.😊
Yes, they are both different projects. The greener one is located in the Kubuqi desert while the more recent sparser one is in Tibet. Desertification is affecting Tibet either due to climate change, overgrazing, or the lack of it. Some locals believe that young people left rural villages to work in the cities hence insufficient manpower for yak herding. Yak poop necessary for nourishing the land. Complicated matter! 😅

 3 years ago  

Hello @wittywheat, welcome to the PhotoGames community!

Please subscribe and follow/read the community rules on PhotoGames Community home page

To learn more about PhotoGames and how to play please read PhotoGames History

well i did seen some of 何藩(HE Fan or Fan Ho) work and there are some great photos.

I started photography in the late 90's as a kid who wanted to document things, no idea why and how. i was the guy who takes photos in my friend group :) the style was mostly "i take photos while you are not looking or you just stand there". Period in 90's in Serbia was a bit weird and i am now even surprised that i was able to develop films (i know that labs were giving free film after development and that was a savior). buying photo books i never even thought about.

after some time of no photography (film kinda died and digital was to expensive) i got into digital and i was mostly concentrated on technical stuff (learning the exposure triangle, learning flash, light fallout and all that stuff).

I do enjoy watching people talk about photography so in some of those videos i did pick up a lot of famous names but never did a specific analysis of any of those photographers. So i can say that i was influenced by creative live, b&h talks and random youtubers talking about the art of photography and i probably picked up something from everybody.

I do enjoy watching https://www.youtube.com/user/jamiewindsor

Oh wow!! Believe it or not, I planned to include Jamie Windsor's channel in my post, but because of the Asian focus this week, I didn't. I don't have time to watch much youtube, but he is definitely one of my favorites. I love his short but to-the-point productions oozing with creativity, and his video and audio are both high quality, very inspiring indeed!

It's amazing that you already developed films by yourself as a kid. I was only at the level that we took some photos on film when traveling with families, and then gave the rolls to studios to develop.:D I always admire your expertise with the technical stuff, and you will shine tomorrow at my Showoff Saturday! :)

oh no i did have an opportunity to see and try developing as my uncle did that but color film is not that easy to do and bw that they used was a rare thing in the 90's :D and labs were giving "free" film when you developed there so :D

if Showoff is connected with old photos i doubt i will shine :D most of those photos are well weird :D

🤣 Don't worry, I won't ask you to dig out your old weird films...

😂

I love the "i take photos while you are not looking or you just stand there" part.

What a theme it would be: "show me your weird old photos"

Actually it's an awesome idea that we might use next time!😉

Thank you everyone for joining this photogame! Honestly, I love every single comment, and the communications here are really inspiring to me. I had a very hard time deciding, but the winners could only be 3, they are:

@palimanali
@phortun (You probably didn't expect it at all, but see the reason I just stated above - it's about the community here. =))
@wittywheat

The tips have just been sent, congrats! :)

Congratulations to all participants! Thank you very much to @itchyfeetdonica!😊

Congratulations @wittywheat and @phortun. And myself! Cool @itchyfeetdonica thks!
Lots of info to be inspired on brought for me this game. Lets keep it up!

You are all most welcome!