Let's talk dog nose a bit

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)








Let's talk dog nose a bit:


A dog's nose contains about 200 million olfactory cells. It is 10 times as many as we have.
This makes the dog's nose at least 40 times more effective than a human's nose. They have a larger olfactory cortex in the brain. The olfactory cortex processes the dog's nose data.

A dog's nose is the human eye. They construct their reality with the help of their nose. Dogs see with their nose so to say.

German Shepherds for example have an olfactory mucosa with an area of ​​200 square centimeters. Human olfactory mucous membranes are just 5 square centimeters in size.
The mucous membrane, with its moisturizing glands, wets the inside of a dog's nose. It's necessary so molecules from the air can be received by the olfactory cells in the nose. They send signals with the scents information to the dog's brain.

That is why dogs need to drink a lot. To maintain the moisture.

Dogs have a large olfactory brain. It makes up 10% of the dog's brain compared to ours with 1%.
The scents perceived by the olfactory cells in the nose are transmitted to the brain as electronic signals via the olfactory nerve. Processed it gives the dog the ability to "see by smelling".

They "see" you even when you are two blocks away.

A dog's nose is orientation and communication. They socialize through smelling, they talk pheromones. It is essential to them to be able to put their nose on the ground and even in other dogs butts.

YES!

Butt sniffing is our shake hands, high five, what's up. A social dog butt sniffs and should not be restricted by the owner. I know people think it's gross, but dogs perceive the world differently. It is us that need to understand that this is the best a dog can do. Aggression often results from hindering dogs to use their nose first.

So spoil your dog with letting him read the "WhatsApp chat" during a walk. Let your dogs sniff!

Special thanks to Juna for being such a great nose model!



For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

They have an amazing ability to remember smells. My neighbor's family and his dog, Beo, moved to the South to live. 12 years later I had the opportunity to visit their family again. The leopard carefully sniffed near my knees and then pounced on me excitedly. Me and my friend were also surprised that he still remembers me even though I have changed a lot since I was 9 years old.

They do remember. The informations are processed in parts in the amygdala, which just as in humans is connected to memories, feelings, fear and stuff. I always say dogs are the better humans and indeed, their physiology is not to much off from hours. Animals period. What dog was it? you said Leopard, a Catahoula?

It's just a local breed, not a dog imported from outside

I know the Louisiana Catahoula Leopard dog. Beautiful dogs. That's why I asked lol. Well, off to work...see you later 😄

And other little known facts.. Dogs are "macrosmatic", which basically means that they have greater separation of smells as well. For example, when we smell pizza, we smell pizza. A dog smells and can identify all the individual components, tomato, onion, garlic, cheese(s) dough, pepperoni, pot (sometimes) etc..

I used to train dogs many years ago to use their now for disaster recovery (people), tracking (criminals, lost kids), drugs, etc. Never did the bomb stuff, but that was just my own avoidance! No one in their right mind goes sniffing around for bombs, lol!

Truly amazing they are!

Exactly, their nose is something else lol. You just named it. Throughout domestication the nose developed even further. I hear you on the bomb stuff lol. Did you know that lately the worlds famous mine rat died? She got awarded with a tiny medal once, how cute is that please?

https://edition.cnn.com/2022/01/11/asia/magawa-landmine-rat-dies-intl-scli/index.html

I'm going to inspect a possible new dog later today. A Husky mix, could need you as a dog handler to evaluate him lol.

Cool on the Rat, never heard of that one.
Yes Husky's and Malamute's can be a bit stubborn sometimes. Old saying amongst trainers is you train them with a 12 gauge and 2 x 4 lol. Really they are great breeds too, in the proper context.

Exactly, proper context. The chick just cancelled but all good. She just owns him for 3 months. The dog is said to be 5, not fixed, lived on a husky farm before. Little dog aggressive, hunting but from what I heard, not in the right context right now.

I don't get why people get themselves dogs they can't handle. I would not give a dog like that to a dog walker after 3 month. She doesn't even know her dog by now.

Oh well, she canceled due to sudden illness ;).

The rat is cool right? I followed her since she became famous lol and I owned rats myself. Awesome animals!

Dog/animal aggression common for huskies if not trained away from it. Very territorial.
You can keep your rats. Too many nightmares from Willard and Ben books/movies in my younger days. I know they are smart, but not for me thanks.

Now i'm interested in how this compares to cats (which I have a few)

Well, I could see if I find something in comparison. I have a niece cat and a Bulldog-cat 😄 . How many do you have?

I was unaware my olfactory cells factory settings are 20 mil.

+/- but close enough. Refreshing my study stuff and why not share it with da Hive? I got a comment from you out of it so that was worth the share 😄

My comments are worth a share? Nice! You smell the best.

Well it sounds a bit awkward but you smell good too 😅...🤪

Hi.

Take your time. When you have a minute.

Hi again.

I'm trying to post to Liketu for the first time, am I supposed to wait for a creator approval? I clicked submit but it can't load images or text or anything. And what does monetize original content 0-100% mean?

Were you able to post on their front end right away or did you get confused like I am.

Thank you.

Lol, just a little confused but it was my bad because I forgot to click on the keychain symbol in the browser. @elmerlin is pretty helpful when it comes to issues.

0 - 100% is the rewards setting. 0 = decline, 50 = 50/50, 100 = 100% Power up, as from what I understand it.

I posted on their front end right away. They do need adjustments, but I'm sure they come with time and feedback. I'm gonna look out for you on Liketu lol :).

Thank you more than THIS. I just signed out and back in again over there, still can't upload images or type. So you're gonna have to keep an eye out for me anywhere else.

I'm probably doing something wrong or there's a delay from the time I applied for creator status. Whatever that means.

See if Elmerlin stops by.

💖