A Wild Weekend On The Homestead

in Liketu2 years ago



cl9cx3a5t02m40vkc75u2clue_homesteachickenattack.webp
cl9cx3cj302ql2ckc2nx52pb4_homesteadwoodpile.webp
cl9cx3ew302kh24kc0c003wt0_homestead1sortingwood.webp

This weekend has been a busy one on the homestead as the cooler weather sets in it's time to stock up on firewood and get everything ready for the coming winter. Winters here are long and often brutal with decent snowfall that remains on the ground for months.

This time last year is when I first moved into my homestead and it's pretty crazy to think its been a year already! Looking back I realize how far I've come and home the homestead has grown with my first garden harvest, chickens and moo having twin babies! That's a lot in just a year and it's always important to reflect back otherwise it all just seems like a busy blur lol

The wood pile is huge and I'll be spending many days splitting wood and building it up. Last year I burned through roughly 6-6 logs a day depending on the wood type and size. By the end of the winter I started just throwing in the logs full lol but this year I need to split them to get the firewood dried out and ready for the years to come. This reminds me of one of my first ever vlogs I did moving into the homestead How To Split Firewood / Heading My Homestead I recently got a maul which I'll most likely do a video on later.

As you can see in the other picture one of the chickens seem like they got attacked by something. I used to have the chickens fenced in and in a chicken run. However they kept escaping and getting out and I just gave up on it for the most part. Now they free range over the homestead and return to the coop at night. Of course that means they only have protection by the dogs which do an amazing job and the rooster whos still been nice to me lol All of the chickens are accounted for luckily so I have no idea what happened. For all I know two of the chickens went at each other who knows! I'm just happy they are all good and for the most part getting along now including Chrissy who was the new hun introduced last month.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I don't see the photo of the injured chicken, unless you mean the first photo where there are white feathers all over the ground?

Yep just the white feathers. All of the chickens seem fine. I might setup another camera or two if it happens more often to better figure out what might be after them and how to account for it.

Our livestock guardian dog recently pulled a lot of feathers out of one of our turkeys, the dog was trying to herd it into its coop but the door was shut. On the one hand I was happy that the dog didn't kill the turkey, it built a lot of trust that our dog doesn't have the 'kill instinct' as she could have easily killed the turkey.

Can you see where the missing feathers on the chicken are?

I haven't been able to tell but it could have been one of the dogs. They are well trained but they of course are a more primitive breed of dog and have that kill instinct.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @gubbahomestead.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

But it looks like you had a lot of fun

Congratulations @gubbahomestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 20 posts.
Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!