First Birth On The Homestead What A Surprise!

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)



cl8utpzyt006g2ckcerr0c0ld_cow1.webp
cl8utq2ek00601gkcbgs5d1vy_cow2.webp
cl8utq6bc005o0vkccoso42bi_cow3.webp
cl8utq8nt005624kcea788r6s_cow4.webp

Moo my jersey dairy cow came to my homestead pregnant. I knew her due date was towards the end of September so I've been keeping an eye on her making sure she was doing good. Good health, shelter and had all the food, minerals and water she needed. One early morning my dogs were barking around the barn like crazy so I went out in my robe to see what was going on (You can catch that on my GubbaHomestead Instagram here . I went out to see what was going on and when I turned the corner to check on her I noticed not one but TWO calves. She had twins! I can't even begin to tell you how surprised I was with that lol.

My update on this to you all has been a little later then I hopes but you can imagine how much work it has been now that two babies are here. I've set up protection for them in the barn to keep them safe at night and also confined them to a smaller area as their mom was getting far away from them in the wide open pastures. That's normal, but I wanted them to stay closer being that they are so young and I often have to help the babies find their mom for food.

I don't think I mentioned yet but they are both girls! I knew I wanted two dairy cows on the homestead but three might be a little much. I feel like I have a company production going on here haha I'm still not sure if I will be keeping both and I'll keep you all updated on that through my vlogs. My neighbor has expressed interest as their mama cow recently passed away and they have a 4 month old loner calf so pairing it up with one of my babies might be a great option for them and me.

Both calves are healthy and strong. Often times with twins you can get one that is weak and often dies or the females are not fully developed. I'm blessed both are happy and healthy!

Any ideas for names?


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

Congrats that both of them are healthy. 😍

!LUV

!CTP

How about Candle and Mooon... Congratulations!

I like this!

How great, congratulations that your milk cow is pregnant, it's quite a plus that she is pregnant. As long as they are healthy and healthy is the best thing in the world.

Congratulations on the successful birth of your twin calves. It is certainly a happy occasion in the homestead.

Thank you 😍

Felicidades, se ven muy lindas esas vaquitas. Cuando estén grandes comerán mucho. Felicidades.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @gubbahomestead.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

What a beautiful calf and a proud cow mommy!
Thanks for sharing on listnerds!
!LUV

Oh, that's so cool! And that second picture is so adorable! I don't know how busy that can be on a farm so I can't help you there but it's great you have an interested neighbor! Enjoy the new life, it must be so cool to experience this :)

Loving every moment of it

Omg this is so cute!! =) !PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@ravenmus1c(4/20) tipped @gubbahomestead (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I've always been partial to the name "Spot". :)

Regardless, congratulations on the new additions to the family. You have your work cut out for you.

That is awesome, @gubbahomestead
It is great that they are both healthy.
Generally, twins result in a runt that does not survive.
You are blessed to have both survived.

Thanks for sharing.
!CTP

So blessed I can't believe it! So happy they are both doing great.

Congrats on the new additions to the family.Happy to read their both healthy and strong.My grandparents had cattle and the lead cow was called ( bossy) so if thats a name that one of the calves seem to be use it.Since the color is chocolate how about ( cocao) or( cally) the calf.Just a few names off the top of my head.

Congratulations @gubbahomestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 2000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator tibfox & you just received a little thank you upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations which is aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive.

Make sure to always post / cross-post your creations within the DIYHub community on HIVE so we never miss your content. We also have a discord server where you can connect with us and other DIYers. If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/gardening/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Jerseys are so pretty; and the calves are quite photogenic! !BBH and congratulations.

@gubbahomestead! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

Oh how cute! Thanks for sharing the baby pics. Glad they're both healthy.
!ALIVE
!CTP

@gubbahomestead! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @lisamgentile1961. (3/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Good Morning and Thank you, @youarealive! Enjoy your day.😀

Congratulations, twins are unusual aren't they?

About a 2% chance and often one will be too weak to make it. Both are healthy and doing great.