Important Homestead Skill To Have

in Liketu2 years ago (edited)



cl7eyu899016h14m733xk1631_homestead_cooking.webp
cl7eyua41017i0vm75uv00hp2_pickeled_eggs.webp
cl7eyuch3015w0om72fpudhow_freezer.webp
cl7eyuf0y017b1wm72ea407hw_breakfast.webp
cl7eyuh45016d24m72sdodk5d_crockpot.webp
cl7eyujm101732nm7hh3ybyex_farm_fresh_eggs.webp
cl7eyum49015y0om7fonv6po9_mason_jars_and_moutains.webp

One of the most important skills when having a homestead is being able to create your own meals. Cooking, baking and grinding down raw crops to make something truly enjoyable. I love cooking! If you didn't know I also LOVE food! Any time I travel or visit somewhere I always remember the food first lol

While growing and producing foods on the homestead is important it's just as important to learn how to create meals from the harvests. These homestead / homemade dishes are packed with flavor and fresh produce. From raw cows milk I create homemade butter and cheeses. Fresh breakfast from eggs the chickens laid in the morning along with frozen bacon from a local farmer have become a staple of my breakfast. It's just so good! Fresh foods like this that haven't been processed and delivered to a grocery store pack so much more flavor.

For all the extra food produced on the homestead I've come up with ways to use them or make them last longer. Through freeze drying, canning, pickling and simply feeding them to my dogs and chickens the homestead has come a long way in under a year.

Eggs are preserved through pickling, one of my all time favorite recipes is my Kansas style Pickled eggs but I've also tried a few new recipes that create a tangy flavor to change things up a bit. You can get these recipes and more at my website here Homestead Recipes

Crockpot or slow cookers is another favorite of mine. I can quickly take scraps and left overs freezing them for later. When I'm in the mood for a hearty meal I simply take it out of the freezer add it to the crockpot and cook it up for a quick easy meal. Meal prepping like this is what makes life here on the homestead much easier. It's a big time saver and I know I have food for months ready to go at any time.
Do you meal prep yourself?


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Came her from threads.

I do know how to cook and I enjoy it too. My urban garden gives me only a few ingredients but I use them well and as much as possible.

Thanks for sharing your great pictures.

Keep up the amazing job on your urban garden, that's so cool!

Thank you!

I get a salsa
You get a salsa
Everybody gets a salsa

!LUV
!LOLZ

What do you call an elepant who is the head of an Italian gang?
A masta-Don.

Credit: deanlogic
@gubbahomestead, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @metzli

Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ
(1/4)

I've been living as a bachelor for 5 years now. And I must agree that these are necessary skills

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @gubbahomestead.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @gubbahomestead! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Simply incredible 😁😉

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!